R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-02-2005, 09:05 PM   #9961
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 328
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by scoobydo
I just don't see how they would have that much play in them? Unless you got a bad batch of bulkheads? Was the play the same with the last set you said you damaged?
I looked at the book. You should have the three small shims (Z852) and then three larger ones (Z877). The larger ones are the ones that need to be on the spur side of the carrier when installed.
I can't think of anything else? I'll take a look at my car tonight and see if I notice anyhting else.
As far as getting the e-clip out, you have to dismantle the input shaft. Which sucks because getting that last hinge pin in SUCKS!!!
You have to jackhammer the thing in!!!
Anyhow, Looking at the picture I can't see what else your missing to have that much play??
hm.. that's why really puzzle me as well. I'm sure i got the three large shims at the right place and i "think" i got the three small ones as well but i can't double check this unless i remove that large e-clip out.

i'll try to take some pic of my input shaft tonight and maybe you can help me solve my puzzle?

Thanks a lot!
yellow15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 09:15 PM   #9962
Tech Master
 
scoobydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bay Area San Jose
Posts: 1,501
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by yellow15
hm.. that's why really puzzle me as well. I'm sure i got the three large shims at the right place and i "think" i got the three small ones as well but i can't double check this unless i remove that large e-clip out.

i'll try to take some pic of my input shaft tonight and maybe you can help me solve my puzzle?

Thanks a lot!
Yeah, sounds good. The clip is easy to get out, just use a pair of pliers and carefully place one end on the shaft and the other on the open ends of the e clips. (You have to hold the pliers at an angle)
Apply light pressure and the clip should pop off. Be careful not to scratch the shaft.
Anyways get some pics up and I will also check my car tonight.
scoobydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 03:52 AM   #9963
Tech Apprentice
 
chr15tophe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 75
Default Hara's bodyshells

Hiya was just wondering if anybody knew what bodyshell hara runs, i know hes sponsored by hotbodies but cant see that type of shell he uses on there site, its a honda accord isnt it ?? where can i get one do you think ??
chr15tophe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 04:06 AM   #9964
Tech Master
 
tony2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 1,500
Default

mate the photos ive seen hara uses a mazda 6, maybe protoform, cause hpi doesnt do a mazda 6 yet......
tony2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 04:13 AM   #9965
Tech Master
 
tony2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 1,500
Default

how many times have you broken the bevel gears in your pro4s??? i have stripped about 6 sets two fronts and 4 rears, the shims where as the book but then i shimmed them a little tighter, i havent broken any rears since but one front......
how bout you
tony2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 05:21 AM   #9966
Tech Master
 
Coxy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,729
Default Re: Hara's bodyshells

Quote:
Originally posted by chr15tophe
Hiya was just wondering if anybody knew what bodyshell hara runs, i know hes sponsored by hotbodies but cant see that type of shell he uses on there site, its a honda accord isnt it ?? where can i get one do you think ??
It's a Ride Accord. Get them from Rainbow 10. I used one on the weekend and it's pretty hot.

Coxy.
Coxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 05:25 AM   #9967
Tech Master
 
Coxy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Downforce
E-

What's the difference between the two diff lubes that come with the Pro4?
Black one for the thrust bearing in the diff and the clear one for the balls on the ring gear in the diff.

Coxy.
Coxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 06:23 AM   #9968
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 139
Default

The stock shimming isn't good at all, you need to shim it correctly
yourself. Better too tight than too loose. They'll break in after a while.
I've stripped two sets since last march, not bad at all, considering our track layout........
The driveshaft cups seem to be a bigger problem for me, as i have broken five of theese the last two months. Aluminium ones are on their way.
Erlend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 06:41 AM   #9969
Tech Addict
 
dizzy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 612
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

If you do the correct shimming, and not by the book, your drivetrain will be free and you should almost never strip the gears. I have yet to strip a gear and all I run is mod with 9-10 turns. Even tried a spool but still never stripped anything.
__________________
All about that Hot Pockets again! Woot Woot! Tried the Russian rocket but tired of the 'part of the week'. All gold everything '15 only made a weekend, such a numb and overpriced car!
Team Hot Bodies- Hobbywing- Schuurspeed
dizzy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 09:39 AM   #9970
Tech Master
 
alana07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: There
Posts: 1,814
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to alana07
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dizzy1
If you do the correct shimming, and not by the book, your drivetrain will be free and you should almost never strip the gears. I have yet to strip a gear and all I run is mod with 9-10 turns. Even tried a spool but still never stripped anything.
agreed
manual's only for a guide...
__________________
没有最好,只有更好!!!
alana07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 10:22 AM   #9971
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 248
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Coxy
Black one for the thrust bearing in the diff and the clear one for the balls on the ring gear in the diff.

Coxy.
I know. I just wanted to know why 2 different and the make up of the 2?
Downforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 10:28 AM   #9972
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Downforce
I know. I just wanted to know why 2 different and the make up of the 2?
the clear is the traditional silicone type grease. the grey is of graphite type for high speed applications.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 04:02 PM   #9973
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 328
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by scoobydo
Yeah, sounds good. The clip is easy to get out, just use a pair of pliers and carefully place one end on the shaft and the other on the open ends of the e clips. (You have to hold the pliers at an angle)
Apply light pressure and the clip should pop off. Be careful not to scratch the shaft.
Anyways get some pics up and I will also check my car tonight.

okie completely dismantle the rear input shaft and noticed that i forgot to put the 3 small shims
so give everything a good clean and put it back together and now the play is much better now... i can probably still put 1 shim if i want but it will then be too tight so i'll stay with the suggested 3 (large) shim setting.

btw, my pinion gear isn't touching the whole spur gear.. i just can't put the spur gear close enough to the front and approx 1/5 of the spur gear/pinion gear wasn't overlapping
anyone got the same problem? i didnt' have this problem when i was using my novak brushless but now i 'm running a monster stock and got this problem.
i'm thinking of putting a washer between the motor and the motor mount and not sure if it's a good idea.
yellow15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 04:10 PM   #9974
Tech Master
 
Merciless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via ICQ to Merciless
Default

I have to install my pinions on reversed when using stock motors. I.e with the grub screw towards the rear of the car.By doing this i can can a full face to face mesh ........hope this helps

Glad you found the problem with the gearbox
Merciless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 04:18 PM   #9975
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 328
Default

oh that's a good idea! how come i didn't think of that before?
yellow15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:49 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0