R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-02-2005, 03:25 PM   #9946
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 248
Default

E-

What's the difference between the two diff lubes that come with the Pro4?
Downforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 03:32 PM   #9947
Tech Master
 
Merciless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via ICQ to Merciless
Default

The clear one is for the diffs and the black one is for everything else
Merciless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 03:32 PM   #9948
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 127
Default

Hi guys.
I am about to put together HPI Pro4.
I was thinking about getting a titanium screw kit from Speed Mind, sold on precicionrc.com.
Does anyone know the weight difference btween the original screws and Titanium screws ?
Are there any downsides to getting titanium screws ??

plz comment
Snikkari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 03:35 PM   #9949
Tech Master
 
Merciless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via ICQ to Merciless
Default

Originally posted by yellow15
the play on the rear input shaft is only less than 1mm.. and when i put the ball diff in, then there is actually no play at all.
so is it normal?

I'm not stripping mine down to see, but i don't think i got any play at all in std. form


the purple shims? that's the two about 3mm thick or so which a bearing is sitting in between right? or is that something else you are talking about?


Yes
Merciless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 03:48 PM   #9950
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 328
Default

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Merciless
[B]Originally posted by yellow15
the play on the rear input shaft is only less than 1mm.. and when i put the ball diff in, then there is actually no play at all.
so is it normal?

I'm not stripping mine down to see, but i don't think i got any play at all in std. form


ok, anyone else??? does your Pro4's rear input shaft got any play when it's sitting in the gearbox with the rear diff remvoed?
yellow15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 03:56 PM   #9951
Tech Master
 
scoobydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bay Area San Jose
Posts: 1,501
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE]Originally posted by yellow15
[B]
Quote:
Originally posted by Merciless
Originally posted by yellow15
the play on the rear input shaft is only less than 1mm.. and when i put the ball diff in, then there is actually no play at all.
so is it normal?

I'm not stripping mine down to see, but i don't think i got any play at all in std. form


ok, anyone else??? does your Pro4's rear input shaft got any play when it's sitting in the gearbox with the rear diff remvoed?
Mine has no play. If it does, it is so minimal that it is .05mm or less. It should be sitting nice and tight.
scoobydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 04:06 PM   #9952
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 328
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by scoobydo
Mine has no play. If it does, it is so minimal that it is .05mm or less. It should be sitting nice and tight.

that's with the rear diff removed right?

cause mine got no play when the rear diff is in as well.
yellow15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 04:11 PM   #9953
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Snikkari
Hi guys.
I am about to put together HPI Pro4.
I was thinking about getting a titanium screw kit from Speed Mind, sold on precicionrc.com.
Does anyone know the weight difference btween the original screws and Titanium screws ?
Are there any downsides to getting titanium screws ??

plz comment
TI is about half the weight...
don't just get any ti screws... make sure they are made of 64 grade ti. softer ti will break, bend, and strip. the 64 grade is very durable.
I highly recommend the Jwerks Ti screws available from Allspeed Hobbies
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 04:54 PM   #9954
Tech Master
 
scoobydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bay Area San Jose
Posts: 1,501
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by yellow15
that's with the rear diff removed right?

cause mine got no play when the rear diff is in as well.
Yeah, that with the diff removed.
I did a lot of testing with the drivetrain because I installed Aluminum Driveshafts and ceramic bearings. So I was very carefull about checking for play. I tested the drive train (both diffs, both inputshafts ) and checked for play on each seperatley.
What I found out was that if you are using the delrin outdrives, to make sure you use 1 copper and 1 silver shim. 2 silver shims made my diff not spin as free. The Rear input shaft needs to be as snug as possible, but as smooth as possible. I used the stock 3 shims. Also, make sure the shims are positioned on the side closest to the spur gear, otherwise you get play.
scoobydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 05:20 PM   #9955
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 328
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by scoobydo
Yeah, that with the diff removed.
I did a lot of testing with the drivetrain because I installed Aluminum Driveshafts and ceramic bearings. So I was very carefull about checking for play. I tested the drive train (both diffs, both inputshafts ) and checked for play on each seperatley.
What I found out was that if you are using the delrin outdrives, to make sure you use 1 copper and 1 silver shim. 2 silver shims made my diff not spin as free. The Rear input shaft needs to be as snug as possible, but as smooth as possible. I used the stock 3 shims. Also, make sure the shims are positioned on the side closest to the spur gear, otherwise you get play.
thanks
yeah i use 3 shims and they are on the spur gear side but i still qot quite a bit of play, i believe i can add at least 2-3 more shims?

and is it okie if i add 1-2 shims on the other side so i can move the spur gear a bit closer to the rear gearbox (so it match with my pinion gear more)
yellow15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 06:50 PM   #9956
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: thomasville,nc
Posts: 518
Send a message via Yahoo to nomaak
Default

2002...yes. i would love to. hopefully 1 or 2 races after season opener.
nomaak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 07:28 PM   #9957
Tech Master
 
scoobydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bay Area San Jose
Posts: 1,501
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by yellow15
thanks
yeah i use 3 shims and they are on the spur gear side but i still qot quite a bit of play, i believe i can add at least 2-3 more shims?

and is it okie if i add 1-2 shims on the other side so i can move the spur gear a bit closer to the rear gearbox (so it match with my pinion gear more)
2 or 3 more shims! Wow.
Not to doubt your abilities, but are you sure everything is built right?
I would try taking the rear shaft and placing it on the front to see if you get the same amount of play. It could be that the rear Carbon bulkhead is ruined where the bearings are housed and allowing for more play than normal??
scoobydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 07:28 PM   #9958
Tech Elite
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 4,915
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

nomakk-that would be great. hopefully by then i will have a pro 4.
__________________
RC10B4.2
macnkitty2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 08:22 PM   #9959
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 328
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by scoobydo
2 or 3 more shims! Wow.
Not to doubt your abilities, but are you sure everything is built right?
I would try taking the rear shaft and placing it on the front to see if you get the same amount of play. It could be that the rear Carbon bulkhead is ruined where the bearings are housed and allowing for more play than normal??

i'm startng to doubt if i did somethign wrong but i've checked the instruction like 10 times already and don't think i did something wrong or missed anything

i've recently put in a new rear gear box as the old one's swaybar mounting position got damaged from a crash.
another thing i notice is the front shaft has the similar amount of play as well.. and that is when i removed the center shaft... i think the play was minimal when i put the center shaft back in.


btw, how do you remove the big e-clip on the rear input shaft? the one that is touching the purple metal piece that holds the spur gear.
yellow15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 08:56 PM   #9960
Tech Master
 
scoobydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bay Area San Jose
Posts: 1,501
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by yellow15
i'm startng to doubt if i did somethign wrong but i've checked the instruction like 10 times already and don't think i did something wrong or missed anything

i've recently put in a new rear gear box as the old one's swaybar mounting position got damaged from a crash.
another thing i notice is the front shaft has the similar amount of play as well.. and that is when i removed the center shaft... i think the play was minimal when i put the center shaft back in.


btw, how do you remove the big e-clip on the rear input shaft? the one that is touching the purple metal piece that holds the spur gear.
I just don't see how they would have that much play in them? Unless you got a bad batch of bulkheads? Was the play the same with the last set you said you damaged?
I looked at the book. You should have the three small shims (Z852) and then three larger ones (Z877). The larger ones are the ones that need to be on the spur side of the carrier when installed.
I can't think of anything else? I'll take a look at my car tonight and see if I notice anyhting else.
As far as getting the e-clip out, you have to dismantle the input shaft. Which sucks because getting that last hinge pin in SUCKS!!!
You have to jackhammer the thing in!!!
Anyhow, Looking at the picture I can't see what else your missing to have that much play??
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pro4_pg15.jpg (25.1 KB, 152 views)
scoobydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:50 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0