R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-31-2005, 12:58 PM   #9916
Tech Adept
 
Trinity2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 148
Post Re: Box/Kit setting

Quote:
Originally posted by purplepro3
Can anyone tell me what to expect with the stock kit setting for the pro4. I had mine built 6 months ago but never had time to run it. Thanks.
My opinion is at that stock kit setting is like a for stock racing, not modified, because itīs too soft especially when byte is hard.
Trinity2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 02:02 PM   #9917
Company Representative
 
Tres's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

the issue with the shaft is to much steering throw....

I did that on my first test run setting the EPA's...

Now, I have a slightly lighter drive shaft...
__________________
Tre's
TnT-Fx Custom Graphics
www.tnt-fx.com
Tres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 05:54 PM   #9918
Tech Elite
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 4,915
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

i was looking at getting another electric tc, the pro 4 just recently popped into my mind. i pretty much know all of you will recommend the pro 4, but how would you compare it to a TC4 or an XXX-S G+?

thanks
__________________
RC10B4.2
macnkitty2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 07:03 PM   #9919
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3 racer sc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: lancaster sc near charlotte nc
Posts: 921
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tres
I had my first breakahge on my car this weekend....

Front c-hub

It should have broke WAY before that, but is a tank!

That is one of the great things about the car.

Less breakage = more finishes and you have to finish to win!!
i went months without breaking too all the banging stuff i done over the summer mths get on carpet and break a c-hub also i notice my camber link around the bulk head getting loose had to replace them too
tc3 racer sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 09:45 AM   #9920
Tech Addict
 
StewartFan20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Grrrrr!!!!
Posts: 692
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Shock Rebuilding

I am rebuilding my shocks. I noticed the foam in between the bladder and the cap is squished and stays that way. What does this piece do? Should I replace it? Or, take it out?

Also, does anyone have any tips on how to get all the shocks with the same weight oil to rebound the same?

Thanks
__________________
Devil Dog Racing | HobbyTown USA (Kansas City,North) | Fastlane Raceway | Matrix Tires

Someday, I hope to be the man my dog thinks I am.
StewartFan20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 09:49 AM   #9921
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Re: Shock Rebuilding

Quote:
Originally posted by StewartFan20
I am rebuilding my shocks. I noticed the foam in between the bladder and the cap is squished and stays that way. What does this piece do? Should I replace it? Or, take it out?

Also, does anyone have any tips on how to get all the shocks with the same weight oil to rebound the same?

Thanks
I used the foam from the Yok SD... slighly bigger than HPI's and have no problem with the bladder not rebounding.

the HPI shocks are one of the best is getting all the shocks to rebound the same. with it's self bleeding all should rebound relatively the same.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 10:10 AM   #9922
Tech Addict
 
StewartFan20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Grrrrr!!!!
Posts: 692
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I just seem to be having difficulty getting the front shocks getting to rebound the same. The rear shock rebuild went great, no issues. I just can't seem to get the front ones to rebound the same. I am using the same wt oil on all four shocks.

I was just curious if the squished foam was affecting the rebound.

Would taking the foam out increase the rebound?
__________________
Devil Dog Racing | HobbyTown USA (Kansas City,North) | Fastlane Raceway | Matrix Tires

Someday, I hope to be the man my dog thinks I am.
StewartFan20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 10:30 AM   #9923
Tech Apprentice
 
Twin 1 Kevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Belle River Canada
Posts: 86
Default shochs

Check you shock caps! Make sure they screw all the way down! When I got my kit 3 out of the 4 caps were not tapped far enough. What I found was that when you put them on, they would not screw into the shock body far enough to seal the shock. On these 3, the shock rebound was little or non existant. Replaced the caps with fully tapped ones and everything is Ok. You must really watch because the good caps you will feel the cap seal into the bladder where as the bad caps will bottom out before they hit the bladder seal. I called HPI on this and they sent me new caps ASAP From what I understand they know about the problem!!!
Twin 1 Kevin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 10:34 AM   #9924
Tech Addict
 
JohnB's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oregon City, Or
Posts: 674
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

macnkitty2002 - I did a lot of research before I bought a Pro 4. Not just factory guys, but what the masses say. Reading through the forums and reading what problems people have. It was clear there are fewer problems with the Pro 4 and people seem more pleased and can always get parts. Xray was high on my list also, but parts seem to be a problem.
From what I've seen at my local track, the Pro 4 is better. They are definetly more durable. Easy to work on and setup. The price is good also. If you buy a TC4, it's all plastic and steel. then you have to buy a graphite kit and Ti turnbuckles, etc. I haven't added it up, but it probably comes to more than a Pro 4 kit. I run a stock Pro 4 with a front diff (for carpet), Associated Diff screw and different toe-in blocks in mod. I see no need to buy anything else. A lot of guys are going to a thicker chassis for carpet. I haven't tried it and probably won't unless I was going to compete in Nationals or something.


StewartFan20 - check back a few pages. Someone was just talking about the foam in the bladder. Seems like the recommended using a o-ring, but I don't remember.

take care
john
JohnB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 10:56 AM   #9925
Tech Regular
 
purplepro3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Northern VA USA
Posts: 320
Default Re: Re: Box/Kit setting

Quote:
Originally posted by Trinity2
My opinion is at that stock kit setting is like a for stock racing, not modified, because itīs too soft especially when byte is hard.
Well, I am going to start with stock so that is good.
purplepro3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 11:07 AM   #9926
J-P
Tech Regular
 
J-P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: London U.K.
Posts: 291
Default

stewertfan20,

me and my mates have put an O-RING in the top instead of foam, seems to work well, HPI do these O rings as do MIP,

hope this helps ya

J-P
J-P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 12:05 PM   #9927
Tech Addict
 
StewartFan20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Grrrrr!!!!
Posts: 692
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by J-P
stewertfan20,

me and my mates have put an O-RING in the top instead of foam, seems to work well, HPI do these O rings as do MIP,

hope this helps ya

J-P
Is this the same o-ring used in the bottom of the shock body?
__________________
Devil Dog Racing | HobbyTown USA (Kansas City,North) | Fastlane Raceway | Matrix Tires

Someday, I hope to be the man my dog thinks I am.
StewartFan20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 12:40 PM   #9928
Tech Adept
 
Trinity2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 148
Post Re: Shock Rebuilding

Quote:
Originally posted by StewartFan20
I am rebuilding my shocks. I noticed the foam in between the bladder and the cap is squished and stays that way. What does this piece do? Should I replace it? Or, take it out?

Also, does anyone have any tips on how to get all the shocks with the same weight oil to rebound the same?

Thanks
When i desided to try that A. MOORE`s carpet world set up, i took them off.
Trinity2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 01:24 PM   #9929
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 139
Default

Last Tuesday i put the Andrew Moore Carpet-WC setup on my Pro4. Not completely, as i didn't have all the parts, but it was super dialed. Soo easy to drive, a totally different car......
Different ackerman, oil and pistons and rear swaybar.
I must say, Andy Moore really knows how to get this car flying!
I also got two awesome Orion Revolution Element 19T motors, easiest spec-power out there.
Erlend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 01:28 PM   #9930
Tech Elite
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 4,915
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

JohnB-thanks for the help, i thought that nobody had noticed me. i would be running my Pro 4 on a parking lot, asphalt. occasionally carpet, but mostly outside. it the stock set-up pretty good for that surface? any key hop-ups to get?
thanks
__________________
RC10B4.2
macnkitty2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:56 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0