R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-31-2005, 07:45 AM   #9901
Company Representative
 
Tres's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

I had my first breakahge on my car this weekend....

Front c-hub

It should have broke WAY before that, but is a tank!

That is one of the great things about the car.

Less breakage = more finishes and you have to finish to win!!
__________________
Tre's
TnT-Fx Custom Graphics
www.tnt-fx.com
Tres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 08:17 AM   #9902
Exe
Tech Regular
 
Exe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lithuania, Europe
Posts: 277
Send a message via ICQ to Exe Send a message via Yahoo to Exe
Default

this is too difficult

just buy this nut with bolt and replace the hpi one.. works perfect, no cutting, nothing.http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...p?&I=LX2869&P=
Exe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 08:21 AM   #9903
Company Representative
 
Tres's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

doesn't the "T" on the T-nut bottom out?

That is the reason for cutting the slots in the diff housing.
__________________
Tre's
TnT-Fx Custom Graphics
www.tnt-fx.com
Tres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 08:25 AM   #9904
Tech Elite
 
Nipple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kallang Airport
Posts: 2,030
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tres
doesn't the "T" on the T-nut bottom out?

That is the reason for cutting the slots in the diff housing.
Can I fit the AE nut into the original HPI T housing?
Nipple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 08:28 AM   #9905
Exe
Tech Regular
 
Exe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lithuania, Europe
Posts: 277
Send a message via ICQ to Exe Send a message via Yahoo to Exe
Default

you don't have to cut anything, you buy this team associated bolt with nut for 1.9$ and directly change it. This white nut is better, because it has more plastic and hold better, so it will not loosen when you driving.
Exe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 08:31 AM   #9906
Tech Elite
 
Nipple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kallang Airport
Posts: 2,030
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

OK.

Thanz a lot.
Nipple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 08:32 AM   #9907
Tech Elite
 
Nipple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kallang Airport
Posts: 2,030
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tres
doesn't the "T" on the T-nut bottom out?

That is the reason for cutting the slots in the diff housing.
BTW Tres, can you guys do face plate for the new APS Dyno-charge.....
Nipple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 08:37 AM   #9908
Tech Regular
 
floodo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 452
Send a message via ICQ to floodo1 Send a message via AIM to floodo1 Send a message via Yahoo to floodo1
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Merciless
Humm, i got to have a quick spin friday night with mine.

Followed the Andy moore set-up baring the pistons which i used hpi No.4 at the front and No.2 on the rear with 60wt ass. oil fr and 50wt rear.

The car ran very flat through the corners but pushed terribly and i had to ease off through the sweeper and also to get through a number of the corners i can normally take flat out.

Sticking with the Hpi pistons i think i'll have to at least go down 10wt front and rear and also reduce the spring rates to say 25lb front and 20/22 on the rear.

I don't know if you guys have any better ideas but the car just suffered with a lack of turn in and also wouldn't hold a line through the corners either washing out each time. It was balanced though just didn't steer well enough on our track.
thats called pushing dude
floodo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 08:43 AM   #9909
Company Representative
 
Tres's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Nipple: they are on the way...
drop me an email, I don't want to hijack the Pro thread...

tres@tresleoanrd.com
__________________
Tre's
TnT-Fx Custom Graphics
www.tnt-fx.com
Tres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 08:53 AM   #9910
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,474
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
just buy this nut with bolt and replace the hpi one.. works perfect, no cutting, nothing.http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bi...I=LX2869&P=
this method works really well. i have my diffs built up this way and have never had any of them go bad. several of the people in the area running pro4s built their diffs this way also with zero problems.

like the post stated...just replace the HPI bolt, nut, and spring with the AE parts.

Quote:
What hop-ups would you guys (and girls) recomend getting...I know that skill is better than any hop-up...but I still want my car to look cool
jhigga15

these are things i would recommend getting....they will help you tune the car better...

Pivot Block Spacer #75144
Spring Set #75175
Pivot Blocks - get some of the ones that didn't come in the kit.
Aluminum Washer 3x6x .75 or 2.0 or 3.0
Ball Diff #75141
C- Hubs - get optional ones that didn't come with kit

these pieces should help you test different setups or copy setups posted on the web.
-----------------------------------------

if you're looking for purple aluminum pieces i would buy the camber link pieces and maybe the aluminum heatsink/motor mount.


__________________
Speed Passion * Fantom Racing * Windy City Raceway
Nexus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 09:20 AM   #9911
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 756
Send a message via AIM to Proteus
Default RACE REPORT

Just wanted to let all you Pro4 drivers know:

This past weekend we had our annual Mid Atlantic Carpet Clash at www.rctrack.com. Competition was pretty tough. We had close to 60 drivers. Top 5 or 6 were all seperated by about 4 sec or so. I had trouble during the first two qualifers. I was having some serious glitching problems. First qual....I only did 3 laps and pulled it. 2nd qual, I kept getting glitches but only at the far ends of the track and occasionally in the infield. Now the pressure was on for the 3rd qual. You talk about being nervous!!!! I managed to put it deep into the A at the 3rd position. I had the run of my life. The A main was filled with many sponsored people. I think there were only 3 or so people not sponsored.

Thanks to Fukuyama and EAMotorsports for the power. I needed all that I could get as many of the people in the show were all running Express motors....very fast. I finally got my car to where I wanted it. This setup should be very close to Snowbirds setup....hopefully.

Jeff B
Proteus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 09:51 AM   #9912
Tech Elite
 
Jeff Werner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 2,188
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Jeff Werner
Default

Well I too ran what I thought was the Moore carpet setup...I noticed later that I did not have the correct or equvilant pistons. I was running #3 in the rear...someone told me to run #1 instead. What characteristic will I get going from #3 to #1 on carpet?

Thanks for any input.

Jeff
Jeff Werner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 10:09 AM   #9913
Tech Regular
 
purplepro3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Northern VA USA
Posts: 320
Default Box/Kit setting

Can anyone tell me what to expect with the stock kit setting for the pro4. I had mine built 6 months ago but never had time to run it. Thanks.
purplepro3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 10:12 AM   #9914
Company Representative
 
Tres's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

box stock is not bad at all...
very easy to drive.....

However, I did pick up and .5 sec per lap with some Eli help..


__________________
Tre's
TnT-Fx Custom Graphics
www.tnt-fx.com
Tres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 10:28 AM   #9915
Tech Master
 
NVisible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,188
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

i see a lot of pro4s with a good deal of the shaft drive worn away, from what i believe is part of the steering. Is this unavoidable or something a little tweaking or proper setup can avoid?
NVisible is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:22 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0