R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-20-2005, 02:07 PM   #9781
Tech Adept
 
Trinity2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 148
Post

Looking for Andy, he is fast too... Hara and Moore = Shumi and Barricello
Trinity2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2005, 02:29 PM   #9782
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 289
Default

Alright! I finally am posting on this PRO4 forum. I have had nothing but problems trying to setup this car! I am going to the largest race in Canada this upcoming weekend www.magmarc.ca and running open mod with foam tires.

I have taken my car complete apart checked everything with complete satisfaction. My question is for a good starting point with open mod 7x1-8x2 motors, what should I change from Eli's setup? Or is there a setup on the net that would be a good starting point?

I have owned this car since March of last year and since day one I have not had any luck getting a setup. Even at Cleveland this year I placed 32nd in Stock when in previous years I have done a lot better with "slower" cars...

Thanks for your suggestion. At this point I will be trying Eli's setup and hopefully the car is at least stable enough to work it in for the faster motor.
__________________
Michael Zufelt

It's not how you stand next to your car, it's how you race your car.

http://www.dynamichobbies.com
TheZoof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2005, 02:45 PM   #9783
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 289
Default

I've also downloaded Andy Moore's cleveland setup to try. However I think Eli's car setup will be easier for me to get because I have Losi springs and I am using the same shock oil that he has.

So I should reword my question, what would be the things you suggest to change running faster motor with Eli's setup or has anyone taken eli's setup and race open mod...

Thanks.
__________________
Michael Zufelt

It's not how you stand next to your car, it's how you race your car.

http://www.dynamichobbies.com
TheZoof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2005, 07:18 AM   #9784
Tech Addict
 
StewartFan20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Grrrrr!!!!
Posts: 692
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I need to ask a silly newbie quesion.....

What does the following do and where do the washer go? On the shock shaft at the bottom on the shock body?

3 teflon washers
1.5 alu washer
1 o-ring
__________________
Devil Dog Racing | HobbyTown USA (Kansas City,North) | Fastlane Raceway | Matrix Tires

Someday, I hope to be the man my dog thinks I am.
StewartFan20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2005, 07:26 AM   #9785
Company Representative
 
Tres's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

http://www.hpiracing.com/graphics/in.../Pro4_pg22.jpg
__________________
Tre's
TnT-Fx Custom Graphics
www.tnt-fx.com
Tres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2005, 01:11 PM   #9786
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,474
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone bought and tested the HPI Graphite Camber Plate....part #73085

Just wondering what people liked better...the hpi graphite peice or the Jet Racing aluminum peice.

Other then precisionrc...does anyone know who stocks the Jet Racing peices here in the U.S?
__________________
Speed Passion * Fantom Racing * Windy City Raceway
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2005, 01:15 PM   #9787
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nexus
Has anyone bought and tested the HPI Graphite Camber Plate....part #73085

Just wondering what people liked better...the hpi graphite peice or the Jet Racing aluminum peice.

Other then precisionrc...does anyone know who stocks the Jet Racing peices here in the U.S?
the Graphite brace is not in the US yet... still waiting for them to arrive..

the Jet plate is easier to work with... you don't have to mess around with the tiny nut to hold the camber balls in place.

and I don't think anyone in the US stocks them. I got mine from RcModel in HK.

now i'm using the Excel CF camber plate that sits on the stock plate. Hara originaly used them on his cars...
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2005, 01:29 PM   #9788
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Behind the screen
Posts: 226
Default Before Buying PRO4...

Hi,
I'm new to this forum I'd like to know if The pro4 has any STRIPPING problem since it's a shaft drive car

I have a EVO3 Surikarn an this was a BIG problem with the car so I don't want to go thru all the shimming again

Does the pro4 needs any shimming?

Thanks for answering!!!
Tbevofreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2005, 01:36 PM   #9789
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: thomasville,nc
Posts: 518
Send a message via Yahoo to nomaak
Default

just use stock shimming and you should be ok....you can get away with removing one or two in stock racing.
nomaak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2005, 01:36 PM   #9790
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,474
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Building the car from stock you shouldn't have any problems with stripping the gears...

I've never had that problem nor have I seen anyone running one locally experience this.

Most kits will come with the updated ver1.1 gears....if not contact HPI and they will probably send them to you. If not the near v1.1 gears are cheap.

------------------------------

Eric S. - HPI - or anyone :P

Do you if you use the new HPI Graphite Camber plate or the HPI Aluminum Graphite plates......does it give you the exact same height as the stock peice? Just wondering for camber link height adjustments.
__________________
Speed Passion * Fantom Racing * Windy City Raceway

Last edited by Nexus; 01-21-2005 at 02:14 PM.
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2005, 11:49 PM   #9791
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: thomasville,nc
Posts: 518
Send a message via Yahoo to nomaak
Default

oooopa!!!
nomaak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2005, 08:12 AM   #9792
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Behind the screen
Posts: 226
Default PRO4 QUIET???

HI guys!!

I'd like to know if the pro4 is very quiet or not, as it's a shaft driven car I want to know if it's more louder than a belt car

It's really important to me, an electric car must as quiet as a dead fly!

How long do you guys manage to spin the whole drivetrain using stock bearings/parts?

Thanks for the help!!!!
Tbevofreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2005, 08:14 AM   #9793
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,474
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

belt cars will always be more quiet then shaft drive cars...

that being said....IMO the Pro4 is a lot more quiet then my TC3 ever was.

out of the box the pro4 drivetrain is one of the most free spinning.

----------------------------------------------------
__________________
Speed Passion * Fantom Racing * Windy City Raceway

Last edited by Nexus; 01-22-2005 at 10:28 AM.
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2005, 08:41 AM   #9794
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

If I get the gear mesh just right (spur and pinion) then I can hardly hear the car at all! IMO it seems to be quieter than some belt driven cars. One meeting my dad was marshalling my race and he thought mine was the quietest car out of them all...
Skill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2005, 12:12 PM   #9795
Tech Elite
 
RCFREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: MEMBER OF THE "MWC" Mimi Wong Clan
Posts: 2,402
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

this is a very quiet car.... for it being a shaft driven.

dont worry too much about the drivetrain... as long as it spins freely for a period of time.. i dont think it will effect.. how the car runs since it is very efficient already..

JUST WHEEL THE MOFO!!!
RCFREAK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:11 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0