R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-14-2005, 08:41 PM   #9721
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 82
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by yellow15
Hi all, i'm a new Pro4 owner (for about 1 month) and still setting up the car. This is my first "high end" RC and i'm really impressed by the quality of the car. I'm reading this thread from page 1 but after a 2 weeks reading i'm only up to page 230 so i'm still trying to catch up Apart from radio interference, i have the same rear diff keep lossening problem like many of you but anyway, i've just put in a new rear ball diff yesterday (the old one got some problems) and after 5 mins or so, the car stopped running and this is what i found:






seems like i didn't apply enough grease and melt the plastic bit?

oh well lesson learnt and maybe i can just glue everything together and use it as a front spool ??? is front spool easier to control than the one way?

Thanks
I have no experience with what u have even I am also running novak ss5800. I do not apply any grease at all and for running brushless, I recommend u tighten your diff more.
ah_liang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2005, 10:46 PM   #9722
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: scottsdale az
Posts: 282
Default

The diff was to loose and it melted the plastic do not ever let your diff slip!!!!!
no1uno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2005, 11:42 PM   #9723
Tech Regular
 
adamkerrnz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 268
Default WAHOO

Im soon to aquire a Pro 4. i will be running it in Mod class with a corally 12x2 pro hand wound motor and an LRP comp 2 ESC. this is guna be the best car i have ever owned
adamkerrnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 10:06 AM   #9724
Tech Adept
 
Trinity2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 148
Post

Once a upon time when i made that rear diff modification (AE parts inside) there`s no any problem at all.

Now a days i forgot to chec the diff, because it`s work as it should be
Trinity2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 02:36 PM   #9725
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,462
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

interesting from the Team Orion coverage of the DHI Cup...

Quote:
Also looking different is the carbon chassis used by Atsushi Hara on his HPI Pro4. The chassis is the same type he used at the Japanese Nationals in November last year. The chassis is a 2 mm type, does not have the distinctive woven graphite characteristics and is when compared to the 2 mm HPI production chassis a little bit stiffer.
__________________
{{ SPEED PASSION USA }}

<<-- WWW.SPEEDPOWERRC.COM ->>
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 12:30 AM   #9726
Tech Regular
 
wolfracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Parkdale, Melbourne, Aust
Posts: 307
Default torque steer

Been having major torque steer, but only since i put rubbers on, to 27, and 22's.
Running a 8x1 vr motor, and some times a ss 5800. Never had it with foams but now on acceleration off to the left it goes, makes it really hard to drive.
Just wanting to know how to overcome this problem.
Thanks
Matt
wolfracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 02:08 AM   #9727
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

Not sure if this works, but I have been told to eliminate torque steer you want the left rear wheel to have 1mm more droop than the right wheel, (by more droop I mean greater travel of the suspension.
Skill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 03:02 AM   #9728
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 328
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trinity2
Once a upon time when i made that rear diff modification (AE parts inside) there`s no any problem at all.

Now a days i forgot to chec the diff, because it`s work as it should be

Where can i order those AE nuts and screws? My local hobby shop doesn't have it in stock (and will take forever if i ask them to order them for me) so i need to order from internet who will ship internationally.

THanks
yellow15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 06:22 AM   #9729
Tech Master
 
murfy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,045
Trader Rating: 9 (92%+)
Default Re: torque steer

Quote:
Originally posted by wolfracing
Been having major torque steer, but only since i put rubbers on, to 27, and 22's.
Running a 8x1 vr motor, and some times a ss 5800. Never had it with foams but now on acceleration off to the left it goes, makes it really hard to drive.
Just wanting to know how to overcome this problem.
Thanks
Matt
it is most likly eighter one of your diffs or the servo. first try to re-center your servo. if thats not it check your diffs. if this isn't the case choose another motor with less torque.
__________________
Justin Murphy
Team Xray | Hudy | Hobbywing | Sanwa
murfy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 07:16 AM   #9730
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 444
Default

diff slip before you go buy parts just compress the sping 3 or 4 times thats what I do for every car I've ever built never have had problems and I run dual ball diff.'s.
sportracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 08:47 AM   #9731
Tech Adept
 
Trinity2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 148
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by yellow15
Where can i order those AE nuts and screws? My local hobby shop doesn't have it in stock (and will take forever if i ask them to order them for me) so i need to order from internet who will ship internationally.

THanks
I still have my old FTTC3 where i took parts, if necessary think like that.

AE parts.... It depense where you live Is Speedtech place to...?

I also order my parts from HK.
Trinity2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 02:09 PM   #9732
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 328
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trinity2
I still have my old FTTC3 where i took parts, if necessary think like that.

AE parts.... It depense where you live Is Speedtech place to...?

I also order my parts from HK.
I'm from middle earth. i mean New Zealand... i've checked TowerHobbies and RainbowTen but they don't have the AE parts we needed.

I don't mind order parts from HK as well (i'm orginally from HK) just need to find a website/place that i can order that doesn't charge stupid price for shipping.

Thanks
yellow15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 02:11 PM   #9733
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 328
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sportracer
diff slip before you go buy parts just compress the sping 3 or 4 times thats what I do for every car I've ever built never have had problems and I run dual ball diff.'s.
Thanks for your suggestion. But i have done that already.. but maybe i'll try to do that again when i take the diff apart next time (which will be very soon i'm sure)

cheers
yellow15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 04:36 PM   #9734
Tech Addict
 
JohnB's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oregon City, Or
Posts: 674
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I think these are the diff parts your looking for.

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXUR23&P=7
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LX2869&P=7

take care
john
JohnB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 04:56 PM   #9735
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 328
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JohnB
I think these are the diff parts your looking for.

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXUR23&P=7
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LX2869&P=7

take care
john
thanks.
do i need the first one? (the diff rebuild kit) i heard most people only mention the T-nut and bolt?
and it seems towerhobbies don't have stock until next month.. where else can i order it?

Last edited by yellow15; 01-16-2005 at 08:42 PM.
yellow15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:19 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0