R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-11-2005, 10:33 PM   #9646
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 756
Send a message via AIM to Proteus
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ghoppa
be honest.....
C'mon. How are you gonna ask that question. We're all gonna tell you to dump the AE car and get the Pro4.

Actually I would rather there be less people running the Pro4 (especially outdoors). That way I'll have less competition. In all seriousness....out the box the car is great. The only thing you really need is different springs/shock oil to tune to your likes. Also, the upperdeck mod for running outdoors. Some do well with the stock chassis however you might want to try the 2mm chassis. And lastly you might want to try a spool over the one way. But try it box stock and see how you do first. You won't be disappointed.
Proteus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 10:40 PM   #9647
Tech Master
 
ghoppa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sin City - Las Vegas
Posts: 1,666
Trader Rating: 48 (98%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Proteus
C'mon. How are you gonna ask that question. We're all gonna tell you to dump the AE car and get the Pro4.

Actually I would rather there be less people running the Pro4 (especially outdoors). That way I'll have less competition. In all seriousness....out the box the car is great. The only thing you really need is different springs/shock oil to tune to your likes. Also, the upperdeck mod for running outdoors. Some do well with the stock chassis however you might want to try the 2mm chassis. And lastly you might want to try a spool over the one way. But try it box stock and see how you do first. You won't be disappointed.
I went bact 30+ pages on this thread, to understand the upper deck mod (but no luck)....

Can you explain the modification, and why is this being done???

is the 2mm chassis "softer"???? than the stock one???
ghoppa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 10:41 PM   #9648
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 756
Send a message via AIM to Proteus
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by robk
Eli from Cleveland
Thanks Rob. I'm kinda curious is how Eli was able to run that much ride height with the 2mm shims under the blocks. Didn't he have traction rolling problems? I know when I ran 1.5 mm spacers with a 4.5mm ride height my car would just about 2 wheel around the corner.
Proteus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 10:46 PM   #9649
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 756
Send a message via AIM to Proteus
Default

I haven't done much experimenting with ackerman except going from 1 to 2 and vice versa. But what about when you flip the plate. I feel the difference between 1 and 2. But what's the difference between using 1 or 3 and 2 or 4?
Proteus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 10:52 PM   #9650
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 756
Send a message via AIM to Proteus
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ghoppa
I went bact 30+ pages on this thread, to understand the upper deck mod (but no luck)....

Can you explain the modification, and why is this being done???

is the 2mm chassis "softer"???? than the stock one???
The modification is done so that when you tap a board or car or a marshall, the car does not stay "tweaked". Basically you enlarge 4 holes on the upperdeck. Replace those four screws with button head type screws. That way you only have 4 screws holding the top deck to both gear boxes, 2 for the steering posts and 2 for the motor mount.

Upperdeck mod
Proteus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 11:59 PM   #9651
Tech Addict
 
Pro4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 524
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ghoppa
is the 2mm chassis "softer"???? than the stock one???
The 2mm chassis is thinner, therefore making it more flexible.
Pro4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 01:13 AM   #9652
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 756
Send a message via AIM to Proteus
Default Professionally built????

Because I was bored at 3am....I came across a someone selling a Pro4 on ebay. According to the seller the car was "professionally built". With that in mind take a look at the picture and tell me if I'm just seeing things.

Ebay Pro4

Gosh...some people.
Proteus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 01:20 AM   #9653
Tech Elite
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,270
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Questions...

Can you remove the motor quickly from the rear by using a long hex driver and without disassembling anything?

I read on the HPI site that the Pro 4 steering rack has 6 bearings. Are there two in the CF steering plate? Is there much slop in the steering rack?
RCknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 04:03 AM   #9654
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default Re: Professionally built????

Quote:
Originally posted by Proteus
Because I was bored at 3am....I came across a someone selling a Pro4 on ebay. According to the seller the car was "professionally built". With that in mind take a look at the picture and tell me if I'm just seeing things.

Ebay Pro4

Gosh...some people.
Now that is whack. I would love to see him professionally build a gascar.
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 04:12 AM   #9655
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Proteus
The modification is done so that when you tap a board or car or a marshall, the car does not stay "tweaked". Basically you enlarge 4 holes on the upperdeck. Replace those four screws with button head type screws. That way you only have 4 screws holding the top deck to both gear boxes, 2 for the steering posts and 2 for the motor mount.

Upperdeck mod
Interesting. I played with my car tonight and I can say as NOT a newbie or somebody with any investment with HPI products:

There IS a chassis twisting issue with the car. I can build and setup a car very well and I have pretty good driving ability. This thing can be twisted in standard form very easily. If you dont sit the car flat with no wheels while doing the top deck up it will be twisted. If you hit it hard while driving it may twist. If you grab it and twist it, it can remain twisted. I heard Eriks comments, but you can twist the chassis out of true and have it remain there.

HOWEVER if you do what Hara has done to his car it removes around 90% of the twisting problem so you can see why he does it. It definately works and the remaining twist should not be noticable on the track.

Erik: I would consider the top deck mod as a running change to the Pro 4.
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 04:14 AM   #9656
Tech Fanatic
 
SchuMi2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 951
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

He has built it for 4 cell TC gotta love the steering too
SchuMi2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 04:17 AM   #9657
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default Re: Questions...

Quote:
Originally posted by RCknight
Can you remove the motor quickly from the rear by using a long hex driver and without disassembling anything?

I read on the HPI site that the Pro 4 steering rack has 6 bearings. Are there two in the CF steering plate? Is there much slop in the steering rack?
Yes motor removal is a breeze with a ball head 2.5mm wrench.

Yes to the steering rack, no to the slop.
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 08:13 AM   #9658
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

Lol, you've gotta love the way he's put the motor mount the wrong way round!!
Skill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 08:30 AM   #9659
Tech Fanatic
 
Entropy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 965
Default

I wonder if he's put the diffs in the wrong way too.. the car would only go backwards then...
Entropy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 08:51 AM   #9660
Tech Fanatic
 
pucho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Central, FL
Posts: 804
Send a message via AIM to pucho
Default

That must be the prototype rysing rate magnetic steering rack with the 16.2:1 ratio
pucho is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:02 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0