R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-23-2004, 09:26 PM   #8866
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 121
Default

What's the benefit in using the spool if compare with front one way
G2B Anthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2004, 10:35 PM   #8867
Tech Regular
 
Aurra Sing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA, USA
Posts: 462
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Pro4
the complete spring set is available.
Not sure about the aluminum spool, but speedtech rc have titanium spools with delrin outdrives for the Pro4
I heard people at the worlds switched from the titanium to the speedtech steel spool version because the titanium was too light. Putting the heavier one gave it more corner speed. I dont know the technical explanation but its something to think about..
Aurra Sing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2004, 03:02 AM   #8868
Tech Regular
 
wolfracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Parkdale, Melbourne, Aust
Posts: 307
Default

I just ripped about 6 or 7 teeth off the front one way gears, and dont really know why. car was built properly, and the gears mesh properly, no binding or slop, so i dunno. I changed from a ss 5800 brushless to a v2 8x1, thats all i can think of, more powerful motor.

Any answers why and suggestions on a fix to the problem will be well appreciated.

Btw I'm in Australia and it's real hard to get parts for it here, i usually order from tower.

Matt
wolfracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2004, 04:55 AM   #8869
Tech Elite
 
Nipple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kallang Airport
Posts: 2,030
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Pro4
the complete spring set is available.
Not sure about the aluminum spool, but speedtech rc have titanium spools with delrin outdrives for the Pro4
I believe the speedtechrc's TIR Spools for Pro4 is made of aluminum with delrin outdrive.
Well even the manufacturer recommend it for stock class only.
Nipple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2004, 03:15 PM   #8870
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wolfracing
I just ripped about 6 or 7 teeth off the front one way gears, and dont really know why. car was built properly, and the gears mesh properly, no binding or slop, so i dunno. I changed from a ss 5800 brushless to a v2 8x1, thats all i can think of, more powerful motor.

Any answers why and suggestions on a fix to the problem will be well appreciated.

Btw I'm in Australia and it's real hard to get parts for it here, i usually order from tower.

Matt
You have to make sure that you put enough shims so that the front one way gear fits tight against the pinion, basically you want no play at all in it. HPI have also released an upgrade where they give a little aluminum ring that you fit between the gear and the one way body, this prevents a lot of breakage.
R1RCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2004, 03:57 PM   #8871
Tech Addict
 
Pro4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 524
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rc-zombies
I hear the delrin outdrives are breaking after a couple of runs.
yeh. there more fragile than the one-way gears.
If you have a half-hard knock than they just snap. I've broken two already.

If you do get one, definately but spare outdrives
Pro4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2004, 10:20 PM   #8872
Tech Elite
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,270
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Well I'm thinking of getting rid of the

TC4. I'm just not happy with the kit quality and the suspension is too sloppy for me. It shouldn't be a big deal but it just bothers me. The car just seems lazy even with a swaybar and I wonder if that is the reason.

I picked a guys Pro 4 at the track and it did not have any slop at all. The chassis didn't flex as I thought it would and it was a sharp looking ride. It's a looker! Seemed to have the quality I'm looking for in a tc. Much better than the Pro 3 I once had.

I still have a few questions. Does HPI make a lightened outdrive like AE or do the stock ones hold up for a long time in mod racing? Can you use the MIP shiny TC3 cvds and the composit TC3 cvds on the Pro 4? Not having the option to move the batteries forward or back, is it suited for one type of track than another? How is it on tight carpet tracks. Can anyone help me?
RCknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2004, 10:27 PM   #8873
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 431
Default Re: Well I'm thinking of getting rid of the

Quote:
Originally posted by RCknight
Can anyone help me?
No but medication can.... Just kidding, as was just being discussed HPI makes delrin outdrive, but there are issues of strength

I have heard previously not sure whether it was here or not that the tc3 cvds fit the pro4.

Cheers,

Mossie
Mossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2004, 10:32 PM   #8874
Tech Elite
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,270
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Do your 28mm foams rub on everthing....

like my TC4?

Last edited by RCknight; 11-25-2004 at 06:37 PM.
RCknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2004, 10:44 PM   #8875
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 322
Send a message via ICQ to tc3Guru Send a message via AIM to tc3Guru
Default

RCknight i'm right there w/ you. I got so much flex in the front of the car. the castor blocks flex back and the cvds come out kind of and chew the plastic outdrives up. I"m not happy w/ it. on the flipside bmi is suposed to realease the kit before christmas. so I guess imma run this point series w/ it. and if htat doesn't work i'm either going to xray or pro4. hell maybe back to yok if it wasn't for parts. i need like 2 rollers for parts haha.
tc3Guru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2004, 10:56 PM   #8876
Tech Fanatic
 
Entropy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 965
Default Re: Re: Well I'm thinking of getting rid of the

Quote:
Originally posted by Mossie
No but medication can.... Just kidding, as was just being discussed HPI makes delrin outdrive, but there are issues of strength

I have heard previously not sure whether it was here or not that the tc3 cvds fit the pro4.

Cheers,

Mossie
TC3 CVDs are identical. I've personally placed them side by side.

So we pro4 ppl have a few options

Pro4 CVDs
TC3 Stock CVDs
TC3 HD CVDs
TC3 Composite CVDs (dirt cheap and possibly good for stock) edit: if they are longer, someone will have to try them out.
anymore TC3 CVD types??

Last edited by Entropy; 11-24-2004 at 11:20 PM.
Entropy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2004, 11:03 PM   #8877
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3stocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: TN, America
Posts: 869
Send a message via AIM to tc3stocker Send a message via Yahoo to tc3stocker
Default

TITANIUM and the new CVD's for the TC4 they are thicker and they also are more durable
tc3stocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2004, 11:07 PM   #8878
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via Yahoo to Doug Gaut
Default

RCknight, I have over 7 months of racing on my car and all the parts are still nice and tight. The stock composite diff outdrives show very little wear and that is with mod outdoors on asphalt, indoors on concrete and on carpet. The shiny cvds from the TC3 will work but I am not sure on the composite ones as they are longer and may hit the diff nut. I dont think there is really anything wrong with the stock bones. I bent one many months ago but it has held up great. As far as moving the batteries, that is one of the benefits of the car. The batteries are moved as far in as possible to keep the main weight down the centerline of the car. It is very important to balance the car out left to right though as it is very noticable if you have not done this with the car turing great one way and not so well the other way. It is a very adjustable car and small changes make huge differences on track. I have ran the delrin outdrives with 9 turn motors with no problems. For carpet I changed the chassis out for a SWEET PRP chassis kit that has a 3mm upper and lower deck as well as an adjustable rear wheelbase to allow for high bite carpet tracks so you can move the rear arms back to add more steering. Nice tuning tool.
Doug Gaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2004, 11:07 PM   #8879
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via Yahoo to Doug Gaut
Default

Thanks Entropy, I was not sure.
Doug Gaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2004, 11:19 PM   #8880
Tech Fanatic
 
Entropy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 965
Default

Are the TC3 composite CVDs longer?? I didn't know that, in that case I cannot confirm if they will fit.
Entropy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:38 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0