R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-22-2004, 07:08 PM   #8836
Tech Regular
 
Thad Garner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Trabuco Canyon
Posts: 304
Default

Nope

__________________
HPI Racing - HB - R1Wurks - LRP
Thad Garner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2004, 07:09 PM   #8837
Tech Addict
 
Pro4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 524
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Re: Pro 4 question

Quote:
Originally posted by RCknight
Do you have to remove the top gear case to remove the swaybar?
no. there are two screws on the back of the gear case which you unscrew and the holder comes off.
Pro4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2004, 07:19 PM   #8838
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 774
Default

For a tight track I run no antisquat or anti dive. I just set the blocks right on the chasis or maybe raise the rollcenter a little with .5 spacers under all the blocks.
DJG24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2004, 07:27 PM   #8839
Tech Elite
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,270
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Thad G...

you got to get rid of that signature pic. I can't stand it!
RCknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2004, 07:31 PM   #8840
Tech Elite
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,270
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Sounds good on the swaybars...

I'm closer to getting one. Can anyone post some pics with the BMI chassis or any others. Show them off for me would ya!

Last edited by RCknight; 11-22-2004 at 10:17 PM.
RCknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2004, 07:32 PM   #8841
Tech Regular
 
floodo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 452
Send a message via ICQ to floodo1 Send a message via AIM to floodo1 Send a message via Yahoo to floodo1
Default Re: Thad G...

Quote:
Originally posted by RCknight
you got to get rid of that signature pic. I can't stand it!
thats an avatar, not sig

avatar is under your name on left
sig is under all your posts
floodo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2004, 09:22 PM   #8842
Tech Initiate
 
WesB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
http://www.hpiracing.co.jp/contents/kits/pro4/opt.html pics
is there an english version
WesB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2004, 10:03 PM   #8843
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by yeuc001
hey guys,

I am running a stock pro4 on a really tight carpet track, with lots of "u" truns. I try the offical hpi "Thad"'s setup and it is pretty good. however I want to accelerate sooner when I get out of those U turns.

right now, the car seems to settle for a bit before it will accelerate again.

I see that my fellow racers can somewhat "glide" thru the U turns with lots of speed. ( is there any secret to that?)
I can't really copy their setup because they are using xray ft and tc4

any suggestion on the setup?

thanks guys
I race in a stock class - monster stock - 64 pitch, 94t spur, 31t pinion.
and I use lrp 7.1 esc and futaba 3pk radio
tires trc - double purple at the front, purple at the rear -
and those tires haven't been true.

thank you guys for your response
yeuc001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2004, 10:07 PM   #8844
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 43
Default

sorry some corrections.

3 degree rear toe, 96t spur
yeuc001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2004, 10:08 PM   #8845
Tech Elite
 
Turbonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Turbonium
Default

www.altavista.com

they have a translator... always funny to try to read as the words dont swap perfectly.
__________________
Wes

Team Novak
Turbonium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2004, 12:38 AM   #8846
Tech Adept
 
Vegetto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Canberra
Posts: 156
Default Spring info needed.

Hey guys,

Can someone help with some information regarding these springs I need the lb on each of them.

HPI White 6545
HPI Pink 6548

Thanks guys
Vegetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2004, 12:48 AM   #8847
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: TEXAS. USA
Posts: 1,219
Trader Rating: 2 (75%+)
Default

http://www.hpiracing.com/graphics/in...r_Outlined.jpg
PUNISHER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2004, 12:54 AM   #8848
Tech Adept
 
Vegetto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Canberra
Posts: 156
Default

Thanks heaps mate!!
Vegetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2004, 01:36 AM   #8849
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 148
Default

thanks for the feedback on the diff adjustment and the faulty shock cups.

i finally adjusted the diff 2 turns before full lock. it works fine.

about the shock cups though... i live in greece, so if i ask hpi for replacements, i'll probably get them by the time the pro5 is launched! so, i came up with a simple solution. i had a few spare shims, the kind you put on the outdrives to adjust the play of the diff in the housing. i put a silver and a coper one between the bladder and the plastic ball cup in all four shocks. now i can tighten them until i lock the plastic ball cup, as the sims fill the gap that was left between the cup and the bladder. very simple and effective.

it really s*cks though, when you get a "top of the line" car with defective parts and you have to think of ways to correct the manufacturer's mistakes
billtc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2004, 04:47 AM   #8850
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Toronto ON. Canada
Posts: 114
Default Customer service

Quote:
Originally posted by Bodido
I had the same problem with the shock caps. I have one bad one. My boss/ LHS owner called HPI customer service and told them about it for me. They said they'd send one right out. After a few weeks I recieved nothing. So I just bought a gray one we had in stock so I could at least drive my new car. I then called customer service again. I told them my story, and also told them I had the version 1 gears. They were very apologetic and said they would send my shock cap and 1.1 gears right out. This was several months ago. STILL NOTHING. The car is excellent, really. The customer service is lame, however. Others have had good luck with HPI's customer service. But, I believe it was just that.... luck.

So currently I have a beautiful car with that one gray shock cap staring at me, and the old 1.0 gears. I'm running diffs since I'm inside on carpet for the winter, so I'm not too worried about the gears for now. When I get back to running a one-way or spool it may be an issue. It's just the principal of it all. I must admit that they were very courteous on the phone, but without results, coutesy only gets you so far.
This is the EXACT same problem I had with HPI. The third time I called I decided to get a bit irritated with them on the phone and it worked. I got the shock cap in about a week. I think the problem was that they didn't have any stock and they pulled one out of a kit. But it took almost three months before I got the part.
csilve is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:20 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0