R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-19-2004, 04:11 PM   #8761
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,465
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default Re: Seems like guys are breaking stuff on the Pro 4.

Quote:
Originally posted by RCknight
Before I get one, is there a company that makes a bumper that protects the whole front of the car? I had to be very careful with the TC4 until I got the NTC3 bumper. If I can't find something that will protect the front end I'll pass on it.

With the wider BRP front bumper you really shouldn't be breaking much. Most of the guys running the Pro4 in this area have added the wider bumpers and don't break much at all.
__________________
{{ SPEED PASSION USA }}

<<-- WWW.SPEEDPOWERRC.COM ->>
Nexus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2004, 04:16 PM   #8762
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

instead of the wider TC3 bumper I installed a more firmer thicker, wider foam bumper since day 1 of getting the car... I haven't broken any suspension parts yet. Only thing I've manage to bend are the screws on the Toe-in blocks.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2004, 04:36 PM   #8763
Tech Champion
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,402
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Indoor carpet racing or tracks using 2x4 barriers-- get a bud's (BRP) bumper

Otherwise the foam will prolly suffice
__________________
A mutually re-enforcing cascade of failure

"Failior [sic] crowns enterprise." Robert Goddard

I-Lap Scoring Systems http://www.rclapcounter.com/
robk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2004, 05:24 PM   #8764
Tech Addict
 
JohnB's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oregon City, Or
Posts: 674
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I just use a TC3 foam bumper with another 1/2" or so added and mold it to fit the curve of the body.

I'm not sure how you can bend a dogbone unless something else breaks in a wreck. In the 5-6 months I've been running my Pro4, the whole time with 9-10 turn motors, I've haven't broken or bent anything. My son running 19 turn or stock had the ball stud pull out of one rear hub carrier. Wait we broke a steering spindle also a long time ago I think, maybe a caster block, something in the front anyway.

I know this car is more durable than anything else at our track (110'x36') indoor carpet. The only car I've seen close in durability at our track is the Xray.

take care
john
JohnB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2004, 07:15 PM   #8765
Tech Elite
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,315
Default

I've bent three dog bones. I was running Mod and 19turn, with a homeade spool. Just clipping the board on the back straight did it.

I replaced them with MIP shiny TC3 cvds. That did the trick, and I would recommend it to anybody running a front spool or oneway.
ChadCapece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2004, 07:55 PM   #8766
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 894
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I just got an Pro4 today and was looking at setups and I am having a hard time reading these setup sheets. The question I have is there a toe/sweep hinge pin block made for the front/rear because all I got with the kit was a 2.0, 2.5 and a 3.0 block? 2nd question: is the front blocks the same as the rear blocks? Thanks guys, I don't mean to sound dumb but these setups are different than whaty I am used to.
429racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2004, 08:08 PM   #8767
Tech Regular
 
Thad Garner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Trabuco Canyon
Posts: 304
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 429racer
I just got an Pro4 today and was looking at setups and I am having a hard time reading these setup sheets. The question I have is there a toe/sweep hinge pin block made for the front/rear because all I got with the kit was a 2.0, 2.5 and a 3.0 block? 2nd question: is the front blocks the same as the rear blocks? Thanks guys, I don't mean to sound dumb but these setups are different than whaty I am used to.
Yes, the blocks are the same. I think that answers both questions?

The kit setting is 2.5 front and 3.0 rear. This is the best setting for most asphalt tracks if using rubber tires.
__________________
HPI Racing - HB - R1Wurks - LRP
Thad Garner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2004, 08:49 PM   #8768
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 894
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

On the setup sheets next to the pivot block they have markings of 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5 and three. I see for the front block the 0 is circled and for the rear block the 2 is circled, am I supposed to have a 0 degree toe-in block in the front and a 2 degree toe in in the back? I guess the first question I did't state very well was does HPI make a 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5 and 3 toe in blocks? If so then I must be missing the 1 and 1.5 toe-in blocks. I mainly race on carpet.
429racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2004, 09:24 PM   #8769
Tech Regular
 
Thad Garner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Trabuco Canyon
Posts: 304
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 429racer
On the setup sheets next to the pivot block they have markings of 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5 and three. I see for the front block the 0 is circled and for the rear block the 2 is circled, am I supposed to have a 0 degree toe-in block in the front and a 2 degree toe in in the back? I guess the first question I did't state very well was does HPI make a 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5 and 3 toe in blocks? If so then I must be missing the 1 and 1.5 toe-in blocks. I mainly race on carpet.
The kit should have only come with a 3 and 2.5 block. You are not missing anything.

http://www.hpiracing.com/graphics/in.../Pro4_pg34.jpg
__________________
HPI Racing - HB - R1Wurks - LRP

Last edited by Thad Garner; 11-19-2004 at 09:45 PM.
Thad Garner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2004, 06:07 AM   #8770
Tech Apprentice
 
pro4racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: bromley uk
Posts: 85
Default

hi

just wondering these new suspension arms the ones that are more forgiving in low grip tracks do we get these as a free suplement like the updated gears or do we have to buy them if so how much will they cost
pro4racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2004, 06:08 AM   #8771
Tech Apprentice
 
pro4racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: bromley uk
Posts: 85
Default

sorry another thing is wots the biggest spur gear in 64 pitch u can fit on the pro4 without modding the chassis in anyway.

would a bigger spure give u more speed

thanks
pro4racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2004, 06:16 AM   #8772
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England (UK)
Posts: 440
Default

I don't have a pro 4 but i know that a bigger spur would give you more accelaration out of corners than a smaller spur

Chazz
Chazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2004, 06:19 AM   #8773
Tech Apprentice
 
pro4racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: bromley uk
Posts: 85
Default

k thanks for that i will get a larger spur then
pro4racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2004, 06:21 AM   #8774
Tech Fanatic
 
Entropy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 965
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pro4racer
sorry another thing is wots the biggest spur gear in 64 pitch u can fit on the pro4 without modding the chassis in anyway.

would a bigger spure give u more speed

thanks
100 spur, someone mentioned.
Entropy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2004, 06:25 AM   #8775
Tech Fanatic
 
Entropy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 965
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pro4racer
hi

just wondering these new suspension arms the ones that are more forgiving in low grip tracks do we get these as a free suplement like the updated gears or do we have to buy them if so how much will they cost
I believe they are an option part, they are cheaper than the stock graphite arms, but come in packs of 4 (full set of arms).

They should be more forgiving on impact too, being less brittle at the graphite ones.
Entropy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:02 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0