R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-17-2004, 05:11 PM   #8716
Tech Champion
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,406
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

"It takes a completely new setup when you go from stock to 19 turn. And that's about the difference between hara's equipment and the average joe's modified equipment."

Faster motors and batteries make your car handle different?? Almost every guy whose car is awesome in modified will be awesome in stock too. Maybe not vice versa though.....

Sure Hara's setup from the nats isn't going to work real well at SoCal, but let me explain something. If you look at trends in how guys are setting up their cars, that can be helpful. If they always seem to run 4* caster, or are always between 2-3mm of shim under the front camber link, maybe that's a clue. Maybe the dude is on CS27 tires like whoever had to run at the race. Maybe he races foam and has no help in his area (!) Whatever.

Until you develop a complete handle on your car setup, you need a crutch. Last time I looked, the cars only get faster and more involved on setup as time goes by. Everybody gets lost, everybody needs a helping hand. If we share information, we ALL go faster. You can find new ideas that send you in a direction you may not have found on your own.
__________________
A mutually re-enforcing cascade of failure

"Failior [sic] crowns enterprise." Robert Goddard

I-Lap Scoring Systems http://www.rclapcounter.com/
robk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2004, 07:19 PM   #8717
Tech Regular
 
floodo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 452
Send a message via ICQ to floodo1 Send a message via AIM to floodo1 Send a message via Yahoo to floodo1
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by robk
"It takes a completely new setup when you go from stock to 19 turn. And that's about the difference between hara's equipment and the average joe's modified equipment."

Faster motors and batteries make your car handle different?? Almost every guy whose car is awesome in modified will be awesome in stock too. Maybe not vice versa though.....

Sure Hara's setup from the nats isn't going to work real well at SoCal, but let me explain something. If you look at trends in how guys are setting up their cars, that can be helpful. If they always seem to run 4* caster, or are always between 2-3mm of shim under the front camber link, maybe that's a clue. Maybe the dude is on CS27 tires like whoever had to run at the race. Maybe he races foam and has no help in his area (!) Whatever.

Until you develop a complete handle on your car setup, you need a crutch. Last time I looked, the cars only get faster and more involved on setup as time goes by. Everybody gets lost, everybody needs a helping hand. If we share information, we ALL go faster. You can find new ideas that send you in a direction you may not have found on your own.
werd
floodo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2004, 07:21 PM   #8718
Tech Elite
 
coastaltony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 2,585
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

WEIRD?
__________________
Meucci pool cue collector
coastaltony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2004, 07:24 PM   #8719
Tech Elite
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,315
Default

That was a well though out post. And I applaud your reasoning.
ChadCapece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2004, 07:34 PM   #8720
Tech Elite
 
coastaltony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 2,585
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

My son pointed it out, sorry if I un-settled anyone. How about Carolina?
__________________
Meucci pool cue collector
coastaltony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2004, 10:14 PM   #8721
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3 racer sc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: lancaster sc near charlotte nc
Posts: 921
Default Re: Indoor Champs

Quote:
Originally posted by Downforce
So who's making the journey?
hi i wll be at the indoor champs also i remeber a few guy last yr had the pro 4 as well hara did too
tc3 racer sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2004, 10:38 PM   #8722
Tech Apprentice
 
jayrodracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: The Greatest Mack Of All
Posts: 61
Default

robk excellent post, i just got the car, was running xray fk, i just wanted to get some kind of baseline, im running on cs27's im sure my roll center i.e. shims under the arms or under the inner camber link are going to change as well as shock positions oils and springs but i want to see what they were running, also it looks like the 2mm chasis is popular on asphalt because it will give you more overall grip so im gonna try that....I think the car is awesome, very simple desing with the perfect amount of adjustments, just had to work aliitle with the front castor blocks to get free steering movement.
jayrodracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2004, 10:39 PM   #8723
Tech Apprentice
 
jayrodracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: The Greatest Mack Of All
Posts: 61
Default hpi spring rating

also does anyone know the pro 4 spring ratings so that i can run other brand springs because i cant get a hold of the new ones for the pro 4 for this weekend.....mostly the white and pinks if anyone knows?
jayrodracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2004, 10:42 PM   #8724
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default

I built my Pro 4 as per the box instructions and I noticed that the lower shock mounting system does not seem very sturdy. The plastic sleeves move a little on the mounting screws and the lower shock mount moves a little laterally on the plastic sleeve it rides on. Did I screw this up or is this how it is?
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2004, 10:45 PM   #8725
Tech Fanatic
 
Entropy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 965
Default Re: hpi spring rating

Quote:
Originally posted by jayrodracer
also does anyone know the pro 4 spring ratings so that i can run other brand springs because i cant get a hold of the new ones for the pro 4 for this weekend.....mostly the white and pinks if anyone knows?
Here
http://www.hpiracing.com/graphics/in...r_Outlined.jpg

In imperial and metric.

p.s. Pinks are between silver and gold.
Entropy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2004, 10:53 PM   #8726
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Silvers are like 16.90lb springs, golds are 19.00lb springs
__________________
Site Content Specialist- Surface
HorizonHobby.Com

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
http://www.youtube.com/HorizonRCdotCom
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2004, 11:10 PM   #8727
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 248
Default Re: Re: Indoor Champs

Quote:
Originally posted by tc3 racer sc
hi i wll be at the indoor champs also i remeber a few guy last yr had the pro 4 as well hara did too
That whould have been Thad from HPI.
Downforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2004, 11:44 PM   #8728
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 756
Send a message via AIM to Proteus
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AMGRacer
I built my Pro 4 as per the box instructions and I noticed that the lower shock mounting system does not seem very sturdy. The plastic sleeves move a little on the mounting screws and the lower shock mount moves a little laterally on the plastic sleeve it rides on. Did I screw this up or is this how it is?
The sleeves should not move. Just screw down on the screw a bit more until it is snug. Not too tight or you will deform the plastic bushing. THe shocks do however move back and forth on the bushing. That is not a problem however as once a load is placed on the it, it shouldn't move. I've never had a problem but I understand your concerns as I thought the same thing too. On one of my Pro4's, I replaced the bushings with the aluminum ones.
Proteus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 12:44 AM   #8729
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 43
Default

I am trying really hard to get my sway bar to work consistently,
does someone had an idea on how to install the sway bar properly.

when you squeeze one side of the A arm, the other side should go up with it right?

thanks
yeuc001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 12:52 AM   #8730
Tech Master
 
Kenneth Tan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,123
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

For more consistent roll bar action, the collar in the attached picture might help. You might have to ream out the hole of the collar slightly to go thru the bends on the roll bar.
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg dscn6484am.jpeg (42.5 KB, 173 views)
Kenneth Tan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:08 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0