R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-10-2004, 03:14 PM   #8536
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pro4racer
how many degresees does the standard rear hubs have in toe?
Zero deg.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 03:16 PM   #8537
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,042
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rc-zombies
I thought it would make it only .0002 sec. slower...hmmm...might have to go back to tape...
You see, now you need to remove those clip stands and start using tape........make sure you weigh the tape as well....cannot be too much overlapping or too short....also check aerodyanmic of the tape....and add taflon for more wind flow...LOL
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 03:18 PM   #8538
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,042
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nexus
If you use the strapping tape sold by Kthobbies, Team1RC, or Speedtech RC....you should be able to use it a number of times.

I've gone as much as 2 race days using the same tape.

If you're really worried about it I would just run the same tape for practice and the qualifiers...then new for the main.

I am sure my 3M one does not last more then 1 try....may be I should get 1 of those black one from Kraig....at least, I saw all Team HNDS memeber are using it...I just hope it has purple color to match my bling bling purple Pro 4..........LOL
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 03:20 PM   #8539
Tech Elite
 
Brian McGreevy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,068
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Brian McGreevy Send a message via Yahoo to Brian McGreevy
Default

Too bad it's a bit more than 5 grams...

As far as tape, the Team 1 strapping tape is very good and I tend to use a piece for at least 2-3 packs before I replace. By then carpet fibers tend to get under the tape and make it less sticky.
__________________
USVTA Member #211

Support Formula SAE - get kids into engineering!
http://motorsports.illinois.edu/
Brian McGreevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 03:22 PM   #8540
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 238
Send a message via AIM to galway
Default

I use KTHobbies tape and a battery bar. With just the bar the batteries pop out on a hard hit. With just tape it can be tricky to get it tight enough and sometimes the tape gets cut or pulls free. With both it allows for some error in tape usage, but with all the benefits.
galway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 06:14 PM   #8541
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 29
Default

Hi, I'm looking at possibly buying a pro4. Can anyone tell me if a "normal" (standard) front diff is available for the car?

It comes out of the box with a oneway, but I want to run on carpet. I hate oneways on carpet.

thanks.
lush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 06:20 PM   #8542
Tech Elite
 
JDXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,802
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to JDXray
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lush
Hi, I'm looking at possibly buying a pro4. Can anyone tell me if a "normal" (standard) front diff is available for the car?

It comes out of the box with a oneway, but I want to run on carpet. I hate oneways on carpet.

thanks.
no, it comes with one-way. Well when i got the pro 4 it had a one-way.
JDXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 06:22 PM   #8543
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

It comes with the one-way, but you can just buy another rear diff and install it up front. That's what the foam guys do. Plus there's a spool coming from HPI soon too
__________________
Site Content Specialist- Surface
HorizonHobby.Com

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
http://www.youtube.com/HorizonRCdotCom
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 09:03 PM   #8544
Tech Regular
 
Jeel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 413
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

I am looking for insight on the Pro 4 and how it compares to the TC4. I currently run a XXX-S in the stock class at my (very competitive) indoor carpet track and I am looking at either of these cars as a immediate replacement. I have enjoyes running my XXX-S and I am run well with it, but I am looking for a more aggressive car.


Thanks and BTW I understand that this is probably not the best place for unbiased answers. BUT, I know that there are some serious racers out there who may offer some insight based on their experiences.
Jeel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 09:15 PM   #8545
Tech Elite
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,315
Default

IMO the Pro 4 is more aggressive, but more complex. The TC4 will be easier to tune, b/c there are less adjustments. If you are knowledgable about setting up your car, then go for the Pro 4. If not, or you arn't a very consistant driver, get the TC4.
ChadCapece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 09:21 PM   #8546
Tech Champion
 
Kevin K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a land of mini-mighty mental giants
Posts: 8,754
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Kevin K Send a message via Yahoo to Kevin K
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Pro4Capece
IMO the Pro 4 is more aggressive, but more complex. The TC4 will be easier to tune, b/c there are less adjustments. If you are knowledgable about setting up your car, then go for the Pro 4. If not, or you arn't a very consistant driver, get the TC4.
Have you seen a TC 4.....it is really close to what a Pro-4 is it might even have more adjustments then a Pro-4. The main thing is that the TC4 has a molded chassis and the Pro-4 has a plate chassis. Other then that the TC4 has more upper camber roll center locations and the lower roll centers are adjustable the same on both cars.

Both cars a good cars......right now if you buy a TC4 you need to spend some extra cash on getting it up to speed ie Graphite parts and Alum. Toe Blocks....all standard stuff on the Pro-4. Where as you can just buy a Pro-4 and race it right out of the box and do very well.
__________________
2013 USVTA World Champion of the World
MOTIV RC presents the Midwest All-Star Carpet Series....14th year running 2016/17!!!
USVTA National Championship....check it out!!!
Im only responsible for what I say NOT what you understand.
Kevin K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2004, 06:50 AM   #8547
Tech Addict
 
JohnB's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oregon City, Or
Posts: 674
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jeel
I am looking for insight on the Pro 4 and how it compares to the TC4. I currently run a XXX-S in the stock class at my (very competitive) indoor carpet track and I am looking at either of these cars as a immediate replacement. I have enjoyes running my XXX-S and I am run well with it, but I am looking for a more aggressive car.
Both a great cars, without a doubt. Having run the TC3 (yea I know the TC4 is different.......not!) and now the Pro4. Pro4 has a much more free drivetrain out of the box. It is easier to access gearboxes and diff's. You'll love the alum. suspension mounts and durability of the car in general. The only aftermarket item you will need for carpet is a front diff and use the Associate nut a screw in the diffs.

I've had mine for quit a few months now and have enough hours on the car it should have some parts starting to get sloppy, but so far I've only had to add a thin shim in one spot to tighten up wear.

My only complaint about the car in the steering is a little stiff. That is an easy fix though and HPI is suppose to be working on fixing the mold the caster blocks (that is why the steering is tight).
Oh yea, one more reason to go Pro4. Spend $200 for a car with plastic and steel or another $80 or 90 for real graphite, aluminum and Titanium?

Hope that helps
take care
john
JohnB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2004, 07:52 AM   #8548
Tech Elite
 
coastaltony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 2,585
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Any feedback on the Caddy CTS body on asphalt? Been running the Mazda 6 for a few months.
__________________
Meucci pool cue collector
coastaltony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2004, 09:18 AM   #8549
Tech Regular
 
Aurra Sing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA, USA
Posts: 462
Default

The CTS body is very twitchy and has a lot of turn-in, I didn't like it. I prefer the Stratus 2.0 because I like my car to have a slight push. But it's all about driver preferences. One guy at our track loves the CTS.
Aurra Sing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2004, 09:41 AM   #8550
Tech Fanatic
 
cartmen34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JohnB


My only complaint about the car in the steering is a little stiff. That is an easy fix though and HPI is suppose to be working on fixing the mold the caster blocks (that is why the steering is tight).
Yes. Please. somebody at HPI...please address this!!

The caster blocks are the only thing I REALLY don't like on my Pro 4. We should not have to grind, sand, dremel, or otherwise hand fit anything on a car of this caliber... or cost!
cartmen34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:12 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0