R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-02-2004, 11:38 AM   #8386
Tech Regular
 
BerNardLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: JB
Posts: 447
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Front Bevel Gear

Quote:
Originally posted by rc-zombies
the PRP backing plate is actually bigger than the HPI version.
it covers the entire back of the diff gear.

for pics check out the PRP website.


Thanks Zombies, I will try to order from the website.

BerNardLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 01:48 PM   #8387
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 139
Default

And it does not work with the revised gears............
Erlend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 02:37 PM   #8388
Tech Regular
 
TeamPRP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 406
Default

That is correct. The brace only works with the original gears!!!

http://www.teamprpracing.com/pro4.html
TeamPRP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 04:18 PM   #8389
Tech Addict
 
tunerjetta29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fontana,CA
Posts: 682
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Post

I must have screwed something up. I have tried 3 different pinions now and none will line up with the spur. all the pinions seem to be too long to and tick out past the spur. Does the Pro 4 require a special HPI pinion that is shorter?? I have tried a HPI pinionwhich was way to long , a RR pinion which is very short and neither have worked? Anyone have any suggestions
tunerjetta29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 04:19 PM   #8390
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 444
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

Just finished building my pro4 kit, it went together quite smoothly, and the fit of the parts was pretty good...

one thing i noticed was that there is some binding in the front left 4deg c-hub, removing/flipping the bottom spacer between the hub and the steering block seems to free it up, is this a common problem?

also, the kit contents on the hpi website states it comes with all 3 swaybar sizes, however my kit only came with the black. should the extra sway bars have been in the kit or is this an error on the website?

http://www.hpiracing.com/coolstuff/pro4kitpts.htm
domo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 04:34 PM   #8391
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,939
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tunerjetta29
I must have screwed something up. I have tried 3 different pinions now and none will line up with the spur. all the pinions seem to be too long to and tick out past the spur. Does the Pro 4 require a special HPI pinion that is shorter?? I have tried a HPI pinionwhich was way to long , a RR pinion which is very short and neither have worked? Anyone have any suggestions
Just as long as it's not a long shank pinion, you should be fine.

I use Robinson Racing pinions without a problem, but you do have to put the pinion as far back on the armature shaft as possible. Usually I only have about ~1mm between the pinion at the motor can.

Quote:
Originally posted by domo


also, the kit contents on the hpi website states it comes with all 3 swaybar sizes, however my kit only came with the black. should the extra sway bars have been in the kit or is this an error on the website?

http://www.hpiracing.com/coolstuff/pro4kitpts.htm
It only comes with the black swaybars.
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 04:42 PM   #8392
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I use the RR pinions as well...and also use a SpeedMind motor heatsink Plate. move the motor forward about 2-3mm.
On my car... moving the pinion as close to motor as possible..still not a perfect gear alignment.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 04:47 PM   #8393
Tech Master
 
azenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 1,478
Default

I use the RR purple pinions (27 and 8t) for stock and jut got some schumacher titanium pinions (19 and 20t) for mod (48 pitch) they fit ok but not really 100% lined up, with the pinion real close to the motor can. never had any troubles though with them.
__________________
Nige
===========================================================
X-Ray T4 '14 | 3Racing Sakura D3 CS | Durango DEX410v4 | HPI Blitz | Tamiya WR-02 VW Bus
azenis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 05:30 PM   #8394
Tech Addict
 
tunerjetta29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fontana,CA
Posts: 682
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Well i shimmed the motor toward the fron of the car about 3mm and its works fine with the RR pinion. Thanks for the help
tunerjetta29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 11:31 PM   #8395
Tech Regular
 
BerNardLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: JB
Posts: 447
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TeamPRP
That is correct. The brace only works with the original gears!!!

http://www.teamprpracing.com/pro4.html
So can I say that I just buy an old bevel gear and this backing plate.

From the PRP website, it mentioned with the hardware is $21.99.
What is the "hardware"?

Is this "hardware" is a must to buy?

BerNardLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 12:28 AM   #8396
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: malaysia
Posts: 8
Default carbon graphite shaft

Erik

Can i know that the carbon grapite shaft that manufacture by HPI can be use on modified motor, cause people at my area say the shaft only can be use for stock 23t motor, the shaft itself cannot stand the torque and rpm output power by modified motor, but i saw from some picture there is a driver using it during the ISTC IFMAR race.

thank you
Newbies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 12:37 AM   #8397
Tech Regular
 
TeamPRP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 406
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BerNardLee
So can I say that I just buy an old bevel gear and this backing plate.

From the PRP website, it mentioned with the hardware is $21.99.
What is the "hardware"?

Is this "hardware" is a must to buy?

The aluminum brace comes with the screws needed to attach it to the one way gear. That is all you will need to attach it to the oneway. Please email me directly if you have any questions

Thank you!
Ben
TeamPRP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 02:57 AM   #8398
Tech Adept
 
octavio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 97
Default

Hi, all !
New on this thread, as I just ordered myself 2 x HPI Pro4, one for me, and one for my son . we race together
Having raced past season with Corally Assassin, and being not really satisfied with that car, I wanted to change for next season thinking about X-Ray, Mi2, TC4 and finally decide to change for the Pro4.
hopefully she won't let me down
I'm considering to make my Pro4 really special, so maybe I can beat my son, who almost always is just ahead of me
So tell me,
would the team PRP HTS racing chassis kit be an improvement on the car, or does it just "look nice" ?
We always race stock 19T, on asphalt circuits, mainly quite large ones.
info about any hop-ups which really would make a difference will be appreciated.
octavio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 03:54 AM   #8399
Tech Elite
 
VenomWorldOrder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: www.RCunderground.net
Posts: 4,063
Default Re: carbon graphite shaft

Quote:
Originally posted by Newbies
Erik

Can i know that the carbon grapite shaft that manufacture by HPI can be use on modified motor, cause people at my area say the shaft only can be use for stock 23t motor, the shaft itself cannot stand the torque and rpm output power by modified motor, but i saw from some picture there is a driver using it during the ISTC IFMAR race.

thank you
yes i've been using a carbon HPI shaft in my pro4 with a 6T hacker brushless motor for 6 months with no hassles. it has not twisted 1 mm since installation. the 6T is equivalent to a 7T brushed motor!
VenomWorldOrder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 03:56 AM   #8400
Tech Elite
 
VenomWorldOrder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: www.RCunderground.net
Posts: 4,063
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by octavio

would the team PRP HTS racing chassis kit be an improvement on the car, or does it just "look nice" ?
We always race stock 19T, on asphalt circuits, mainly quite large ones.
i found that the PRP chassis like any thicker, more ridgid chassis helps the car with initial response stearing when turning into a corner. also it is quicker to shift weight as there is no flexing. the only issue is that due to the stiffnes the front setup has to be altered slightly. i found on exit the car understeered slightly... maybe this was my setup/track though. on a quick sweeping track the chassis will help alot.
VenomWorldOrder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:48 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0