R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-27-2004, 01:53 AM   #8296
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

hpipro321,

If you are talking about the plastic spacers which go underneath the battery bar then many people recommend not using them anyway as it keeps the batteries in better without them.
Skill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 01:55 AM   #8297
Tech Elite
 
VenomWorldOrder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: www.RCunderground.net
Posts: 4,063
Default PRO 4 ROLLOUT CALCULATOR FOR FOAMS!

check out the pro4 rollout calculator on my site. provided by a fellow pro4 racer/tc3 racer

www.rcunderground.net

follow the obvious link on the front page
VenomWorldOrder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 08:27 AM   #8298
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,462
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default Re: Question for Nexus on setup

Quote:
Originally posted by Sluggo
Hey Nexus.....that setup you gave me was there any end measurment on the front and rear swaybars??? Also what spacers are you running behind the rims?? I couldn't get any HPI springs and the Losi springs are a bigger diam. So I found some Associated TC3 with the same rate that fit, they gonna be ok?

sluggo...

i double checked my car setup from the main when it ran best...

the front swaybar is black - 2mm showing on tips
no rear sway bar

i used both the thick and thin spacers provided in the kit behind the wheels.

rear spring - losi purple 20lbs
after running the car i probably would keep the losi black 25lb spring...but both worked fine.




__________________
{{ SPEED PASSION USA }}

<<-- WWW.SPEEDPOWERRC.COM ->>

Last edited by Nexus; 10-27-2004 at 08:55 AM.
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 08:56 AM   #8299
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,462
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

sluggo...maybe this will be easier to see.


i will try and convert Kevin K's 2 original setups as well....
Attached Images
File Type: jpg med_medhigh_traction.jpg (116.7 KB, 245 views)
__________________
{{ SPEED PASSION USA }}

<<-- WWW.SPEEDPOWERRC.COM ->>
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 05:34 PM   #8300
Tech Fanatic
 
Sluggo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 750
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Sluggo Send a message via MSN to Sluggo Send a message via Yahoo to Sluggo
Thumbs up

thanks Nexus yes I can see it mint......... gonna try to run friday night I'll let ya know how it works out
Sluggo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2004, 07:44 AM   #8301
Tech Elite
 
KINGZJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: South Milwaukee,WISCONSIN
Posts: 2,068
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to KINGZJ
Default

I have a bent front cvd bone. Is their a mip shiny one that will fit in the front?
KINGZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2004, 07:44 AM   #8302
Tech Apprentice
 
pro4racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: bromley uk
Posts: 85
Default

hi guys

is there any cahnce some one could help me.

i race on a wooden floor in the uk on fridays and need help setting up my pro4 its got grip on the from maybe to much but the back slides out like a drifting car.

some one else at my club has a pro4 hes helped me a bit but not as much as i would have liked but then he cant go giving hes complete setup out now can he.

i use shumacjer minipins yellow and blue compound race in stock if that helps

thnaks in advance
pro4racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2004, 07:48 AM   #8303
Tech Elite
 
Brian McGreevy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,065
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Brian McGreevy Send a message via Yahoo to Brian McGreevy
Default

Jesse, MIP shiny's for the TC3 are a direct fit. I have them on the front of my car
__________________
USVTA Member #211

Support Formula SAE - get kids into engineering!
http://motorsports.illinois.edu/
Brian McGreevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2004, 03:27 PM   #8304
Tech Champion
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,400
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Pro4racer
There's a couple things to try:
Longest camber links possible- it will keep the tires upright, and won't suddenly break traction.

shorten the wheelbase-will add rear traction

Try moving the lower shock positions in one hole- that will soften the suspension overall.

Run o-rings under the upper chassis plate screws-should help add more flex and grip to the car

One thing to think about is the hinge pin mount heights (roll center) on your car. Raising the roll center should allow you to run super soft springs and get some mechanical traction. Of course, i haven;'t raced on a wood floor, so i could be completely out of line
__________________
A mutually re-enforcing cascade of failure

"Failior [sic] crowns enterprise." Robert Goddard

I-Lap Scoring Systems http://www.rclapcounter.com/
robk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2004, 03:47 PM   #8305
Tech Apprentice
 
pro4racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: bromley uk
Posts: 85
Default

thanks robk for the advice on that i will try it this friday and let u know how well i get on.

on another note i just saw that theres a new version of a yoke sd out and it has machined gear boxes do u ever think hpi will bring these out for the pro4

thkns
pro4racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2004, 03:48 PM   #8306
Tech Elite
 
Brian McGreevy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,065
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Brian McGreevy Send a message via Yahoo to Brian McGreevy
Default

Raaaaab,

you got PM
__________________
USVTA Member #211

Support Formula SAE - get kids into engineering!
http://motorsports.illinois.edu/
Brian McGreevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2004, 03:56 PM   #8307
Tech Apprentice
 
pro4racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: bromley uk
Posts: 85
Default

hi just see this pic on the hpi usa web site and on the camber link mount (inner) there seems to be carbon fibre plates added wots this for and wot differance does it make.
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg dsc00572k.jpeg (103.0 KB, 191 views)
pro4racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2004, 04:00 PM   #8308
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pro4racer
hi just see this pic on the hpi usa web site and on the camber link mount (inner) there seems to be carbon fibre plates added wots this for and wot differance does it make.
they are made by Excel.. cost about $20.00 for 4pieces and 2mm thick.
it add strength to the camber mounts.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2004, 04:07 PM   #8309
Tech Apprentice
 
pro4racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: bromley uk
Posts: 85
Default

ok thanks

so does every1 know if hpi will bring out machined gear boxes for the pro4 as i think they should doesent make a differance apart from easier maintence.

wot do u think
pro4racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2004, 04:10 PM   #8310
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I'm hoping too that HPI comes out machined bulkheads... similar to the new Yok SD world's Edition.

I don't think it will be easier maintenance... you'll have to take the one or the entire bulkhead out to access the diffs. But it will sure look with Purple aluminum bulkheads.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:36 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0