R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-17-2004, 08:18 PM   #8101
Tech Master
 
lazyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Franklin,WI
Posts: 1,536
Send a message via AIM to lazyboy
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rcdougie
Do TC3 steel cvd bones fit on the pro4? Im running a spool and the aluminum ones dont seem to hold up well and im looking for something a little beefier.

yes they do, my friend put some on his car today. went on with no binding or problems at all

lazy
__________________
Random Guy
FT B4
Sponsored by Axiom Motors
Trackside hobbies
lazyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2004, 09:08 PM   #8102
Tech Fanatic
 
pucho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Central, FL
Posts: 804
Send a message via AIM to pucho
Default Re: Re: Update on the TiR spool !

Quote:
Originally posted by tc3 racer sc
what up pucho it ur boy reggie do superior has the spool and i see speedtech has it too also i ran the car really good in our shoot out race the car handle lot beeter wth out the sway bars i did the andy moore set up wth gold springs/ pink hpi springs in bck the car was dial and after about 25 runs and alot of banging i finally broke a c/hub ru going to clevland let me know ok cya
Reggie! Hey I'm not sure TQ ordered mine. If i had to guess I say they don't but they can get it for you. I'm glad the car is working out for you. I'm having some relibility issues but I'm not giving up just yet. Cleveland is a big maybe. I'm starting a new job in a couple of weeks and I doubt that they are going to give me the time off. Hope you can make it down soon. Ill be turning wrenches for A-Lo at the Worlds so if you make it down look me up. We are also having our regional race at Superior that would be a good race to make down to. Take care.
pucho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2004, 09:12 PM   #8103
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Erik Shauver
This is to adjust bump steer. You can either add spacers here, or out at the ball under the steering block (end of the steering rods). In stock trim, there is a slight bump "out."
Hey Erik, missed you in Chicago. You you going to be in the office tomorrow? I need to ask you some questions, is one time better than another to call?
__________________
Site Content Specialist- Surface
HorizonHobby.Com

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
http://www.youtube.com/HorizonRCdotCom
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2004, 05:02 AM   #8104
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 248
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rcdougie
Do TC3 steel cvd bones fit on the pro4? Im running a spool and the aluminum ones dont seem to hold up well and im looking for something a little beefier.
Yes they do.
Downforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2004, 08:18 AM   #8105
Tech Master
 
clinttredway's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,291
Trader Rating: 3 (80%+)
Send a message via MSN to clinttredway
Default Need some help

I am about ready to throw this car in the trash...

For the life of me, I cannot keep a battery in the car...

The slots are filed, the cells have shrink wrap on them, I even put dbl sided tape on the underside of the strap...

just venting.. I really don't want to tape in the cells.. but if thats what it takes...
__________________
Do or Do Not, There Is No Try
clinttredway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2004, 08:29 AM   #8106
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 248
Default Re: Need some help

Quote:
Originally posted by clinttredway
I am about ready to throw this car in the trash...

For the life of me, I cannot keep a battery in the car...

The slots are filed, the cells have shrink wrap on them, I even put dbl sided tape on the underside of the strap...

just venting.. I really don't want to tape in the cells.. but if thats what it takes...
Throw the factory battery strap/bar away. Tape them in w/ strapping tape.
Downforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2004, 08:31 AM   #8107
Tech Elite
 
artwork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Thornton, CO
Posts: 3,027
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default Re: Need some help

Quote:
Originally posted by clinttredway
I am about ready to throw this car in the trash...

For the life of me, I cannot keep a battery in the car...

The slots are filed, the cells have shrink wrap on them, I even put dbl sided tape on the underside of the strap...

just venting.. I really don't want to tape in the cells.. but if thats what it takes...
Man I hear ya...I felt the same way yestarday at the track. So what I tried to fix the issue is really very simple. I asked this question a while back and someone posted a great solution.

Here is the solution:
get a body post and mount it (on it's side) to the chassis on the outside of the battery slots. If you look at your chassis you will notice that there are two countersink holes. Simply use a rear body post or other plastic material and screw it to the chassis. Becareful not tweak the chassis with those two screws, and do not use any metal or graphite material as those tend to conduct electicity.

Seemed to work very well...

Look back in the thread you will find the solution in here.

Hope this helps,
Art
__________________
Xray | Hudy | Sanwa | R1 Wurks | Avid | Protoform | Proline | 2mm Designs
artwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2004, 08:31 AM   #8108
Tech Master
 
myclod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Glen Burnie, MD
Posts: 1,064
Send a message via AIM to myclod Send a message via Yahoo to myclod
Default

yeah i strap mine in using tape like pan car guys use...i left in the battery holddown posts just as a precaution to prevent shifting, never had a problem
myclod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2004, 08:39 AM   #8109
Tech Fanatic
 
cartmen34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by myclod
yeah i strap mine in using tape like pan car guys use...i left in the battery holddown posts just as a precaution to prevent shifting, never had a problem
clinttredway,
I've been using tape, and this past weekend tried the strap. I had the same trouble as you. Even using screws and washers to screw down the strap didn't solve the problem.

Even though artwork's solution sounds like a winner, I'm not sure I want to add any more weight to that side of the chassis, even if it is just a few screws and some plastic bits.

I'll be going back to the tape method.
cartmen34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2004, 08:41 AM   #8110
Tech Master
 
clinttredway's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,291
Trader Rating: 3 (80%+)
Send a message via MSN to clinttredway
Default

I got so frustrated that I didn't finish my day..

thanks for the info guys..
__________________
Do or Do Not, There Is No Try
clinttredway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2004, 08:44 AM   #8111
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 147
Default

clinttredway:

Buy the strapping tape from here: http://www.team1rc.com

It's under miscellaneous. I reuse the same piece all day..... No problems. It saves weight. It's very easy. I really don't understand why people think taping in cells is a pain. Taping in cells would be a hell of a lot easier than what you are going through. It is the perfect solution.
Bodido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2004, 08:46 AM   #8112
Tech Elite
 
Turbonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Turbonium
Default

i have a small piece of tube screwed to mine.... ill try to post a pic later.

what i used to use on another car was to use 2 screws and some of those plastic Associated shock nuts. they stick up tall enuff to keep them in, but they are plastic, so as not to short on the batt bars.

im not real fond of the tape, as on my R3 the cells dont fit real well, and they still shift around if i catch a board....
__________________
Wes

Team Novak
Turbonium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2004, 08:47 AM   #8113
Tech Master
 
myclod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Glen Burnie, MD
Posts: 1,064
Send a message via AIM to myclod Send a message via Yahoo to myclod
Default

you can also save yourself a few bucks...i get mine from walmart for like 1.99 a roll, just make sure you use the stuff that has fiberglass reinforcement
myclod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2004, 08:50 AM   #8114
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via Yahoo to Doug Gaut
Default

Clint, taping is the way to go. Speedtech and KT Hobbies both have tape as well. I believe the tape that KT sells is the Team1rc stuff. Its much easier to get the car balanced right to left without the battery strap and related parts. Make sure you take a small file and round the edges off REAL good on both sides of the chassis where the tape goes though. I use the KT Hobbies tape and it works great. I too use the same piece all day. I just fold both ends over just a little to have something to grab hold off to remove it.
Doug Gaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2004, 08:53 AM   #8115
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via Yahoo to Doug Gaut
Default

Tamiyadriver, your Pro4 looked real good in the main Sat night! You guys had a great race going till you caught that board trying to avoid running over the leader. Hope you guys come back soon.
Doug Gaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:02 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0