R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-17-2004, 01:21 AM   #8086
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Thumbs up

Thanks SteveB that was exactly what I was looking for!
Skill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2004, 06:36 AM   #8087
Tech Master
 
Essnowyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Somewhere Strange Wisconsin!
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via AIM to Essnowyt
Default

On the subject of Ackerman:

If you look at a recent HPI setup sheet there is a spot to place spacers in between the Ackerman and the steering mechanism. My question to the community, what type change would this have? Has anyone tried it? Attached is the portion of the set up sheet with the location. The sheet number is SU-185-2 Thanks for the info guys.
Snowy.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ackerman spacing.jpg (25.8 KB, 154 views)
__________________
Team XRay, RCAmerica, Motiv, Gravity RC, Schacht Design Works.

Drive it, Dont slide it!

Last edited by Essnowyt; 10-17-2004 at 06:46 AM.
Essnowyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2004, 06:56 AM   #8088
Tech Regular
 
Carbon_Fibre3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: sydneysider stuck in melbourne
Posts: 406
Default

maybe bump steer??
just a guess so dont hold me to that
Carbon_Fibre3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2004, 07:11 AM   #8089
Tech Apprentice
 
pro4racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: bromley uk
Posts: 85
Default

hi every1 i just thought id rearrange my electrics in my pro4 and put it oall on the bottom chassis all squeezed 2gether and wanted to know is it ok like this.

or will this cause problems see pic below
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dscf0179.jpg (73.7 KB, 177 views)
pro4racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2004, 07:32 AM   #8090
Tech Master
 
Super Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,177
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Super Steve
Default

I would put the ESC closest to the motor and receiver away from the motor.
(so you should probably swap the ESC and receiver positions)
Super Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2004, 07:50 AM   #8091
Tech Apprentice
 
pro4racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: bromley uk
Posts: 85
Default

ok mate will do that.

is this becoz it might cause glitching and interfeirance

thanks
pro4racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2004, 09:28 AM   #8092
Tech Elite
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,315
Default

I've had best results mounting the reciever on the upper deck right above the servo linkage. The placing the antenna on the deck as well. It gives plenty room for the esc and reduces the chance of cracking the reciever case on a side impact.
ChadCapece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2004, 09:59 AM   #8093
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

I put my receiver on top of my servo and use the stock antenna mount position, I haven't had any problems with interference and everythings not squeezed in.
Skill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2004, 11:44 AM   #8094
Tech Adept
 
Erik Shauver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Go Nicky!
Posts: 197
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Essnowyt
On the subject of Ackerman:

If you look at a recent HPI setup sheet there is a spot to place spacers in between the Ackerman and the steering mechanism. My question to the community, what type change would this have? Has anyone tried it? Attached is the portion of the set up sheet with the location. The sheet number is SU-185-2 Thanks for the info guys.
Snowy.
This is to adjust bump steer. You can either add spacers here, or out at the ball under the steering block (end of the steering rods). In stock trim, there is a slight bump "out."
Erik Shauver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2004, 11:56 AM   #8095
X2
Tech Regular
 
X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England
Posts: 340
Default Bump steer...

Could somebody please explain what the affects of it are?
Thanks!
X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2004, 02:08 PM   #8096
Tech Addict
 
Eirik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 626
Default

Hello X2,

I have not tried Bump inn, but I feel that bump out gives a more agressive steering response!!

I have found that adding a 2.0mm washer under the ballstud out by the hub (No Bump Out/Inn) makes the car more stable and forgiving to drive!!

Eirik
Eirik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2004, 02:31 PM   #8097
Tech Fanatic
 
pucho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Central, FL
Posts: 804
Send a message via AIM to pucho
Default Update on the TiR spool !

Great idea but the consept was executed quite poorly. I have broken two of the outdives in less than 10 packs. one was a side inpact in the main at the start when we where fightinh for position. The other was in practice I rubbed the pipe coming into the straingt. If I would offer the cups in aluminum or springs steel that would rock.
pucho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2004, 03:15 PM   #8098
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3 racer sc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: lancaster sc near charlotte nc
Posts: 921
Default Re: Update on the TiR spool !

Quote:
Originally posted by pucho
Great idea but the consept was executed quite poorly. I have broken two of the outdives in less than 10 packs. one was a side inpact in the main at the start when we where fightinh for position. The other was in practice I rubbed the pipe coming into the straingt. If I would offer the cups in aluminum or springs steel that would rock.
what up pucho it ur boy reggie do superior has the spool and i see speedtech has it too also i ran the car really good in our shoot out race the car handle lot beeter wth out the sway bars i did the andy moore set up wth gold springs/ pink hpi springs in bck the car was dial and after about 25 runs and alot of banging i finally broke a c/hub ru going to clevland let me know ok cya
tc3 racer sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2004, 05:09 PM   #8099
Tech Elite
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,315
Default

Sup Reggie. Now you can come back to Carolinarc b/c we are now running 19turn. If you see Brandon, tell him to come and race again, if he want's a challenge.
ChadCapece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2004, 07:41 PM   #8100
Tech Regular
 
rcdougie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Stuart, FL
Posts: 483
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Do TC3 steel cvd bones fit on the pro4? Im running a spool and the aluminum ones dont seem to hold up well and im looking for something a little beefier.
rcdougie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:08 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0