R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-03-2004, 09:24 PM   #7801
Tech Master
 
azenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 1,478
Default need more GRIP

Having tried numerous setup sheets on my car and none of them work, I returned the car to one of the manual setups (there seem to be aabout 4 different versions of the manual with slight changes to the setup)
Car seemed to handle ok with plenty of turn, and it seemed reasonably neutral, not notably under or oversteering noticably, however it just seemed to not have any grip in the corners, 4 wheel drifting a bit more than I would have liked. At least it wasnt tank slapping like it has in the past and my friends was yesterday (with an ss5800) his car would come around the corner sideways and when throttle applied it would slap back and forth a bit)

I am running ellegi 40shore fronts (26mm) all round. We race on a asphalt school ground, and due to the crown on the surface for run-off of rain, most of the corners end out being a bit off camber. Other people are using 40shore tyres and seem to have success (with other chassis) so I am not 100% convinced that this is where I am losing traction (though one rear tyre was pretty tapered due to a previous bad wheel alignment with too much camber so maybe this is a contributing factor)

I have the standard black swaybars on at the moment, if I drop them down to the silver or copper ones or remove them all together, would this help me gain some traction? Any other suggestions?

I am finding it hard to pinpoint as the car doesnt seem to be losing traction on one particular end....
__________________
Nige
===========================================================
X-Ray T4 '14 | 3Racing Sakura D3 CS | Durango DEX410v4 | HPI Blitz | Tamiya WR-02 VW Bus
azenis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 09:29 PM   #7802
Tech Regular
 
Carbon_Fibre3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: sydneysider stuck in melbourne
Posts: 406
Default

try running 40F one front and 40 R on the back. i haev never tried th 40F all round, but have run 40R allround (on xray) makes the car super quick but unstable, so maybe the 40F would be doing the same thing.


try running 40F and 40R or even 37R on rear.


Rob
Carbon_Fibre3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 09:54 PM   #7803
Tech Master
 
azenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 1,478
Default

OK
I thought the only difference between the front and rear foams was the width with fronts 26mm and rear 30mm, is the compound actually different despite the shore ratings being the same??
__________________
Nige
===========================================================
X-Ray T4 '14 | 3Racing Sakura D3 CS | Durango DEX410v4 | HPI Blitz | Tamiya WR-02 VW Bus
azenis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 10:25 PM   #7804
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Any thoughts on Tamiya pistons in HPI shocks???

Also having a pain getting the sway bars to actuate the left and right hand side equially. Any suggestions?
__________________
Site Content Specialist- Surface
HorizonHobby.Com

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
http://www.youtube.com/HorizonRCdotCom
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004, 12:04 AM   #7805
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RC Driver Gary
....

Also having a pain getting the sway bars to actuate the left and right hand side equially. Any suggestions?
Use Dubro collars to keep the sway bars from moving left & right.
GS makes Purple collars
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004, 01:37 AM   #7806
DZ
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: CRAZY 88 - 002
Posts: 582
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by azenis
OK
I thought the only difference between the front and rear foams was the width with fronts 26mm and rear 30mm, is the compound actually different despite the shore ratings being the same??
front and rear compounds are different

Front compound generally have less side bite then rears, which answers the issue you have been having "drifiting", as carbon fibre said try 40F on the front and 40R on th rear.

You should be able to get both in 26mm & 30mm but stick to 26mm all round

Cheers
DZ
DZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004, 02:35 AM   #7807
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 69
Default

Quote:
I have the standard black swaybars on at the moment, if I drop them down to the silver or copper ones or remove them all together, would this help me gain some traction? Any other suggestions?
If you take both roll bars off this will give you more grip becasue of more chassis roll.
Also try replacing the oneway for a diff for an instant change in grip levels, it will make the car easier to drive, and not give so suddenly, however if you work on your set up a one-way will be faster.
You could try going to thinner shock oil (I am assuming you have kit 50) as this will produce more grip. And make sure your chassis is not grounding out becasue this will cause a lack of grip. Hope this helps. Jonathan
jonny69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004, 02:40 AM   #7808
Tech Regular
 
wolfracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Parkdale, Melbourne, Aust
Posts: 307
Default

Did you not all that Nige?

No sways
Thinner oil
Tyres

althiugh my tires are working now, 42's fron, 35's rear.

This car is still a handfull tho.
wolfracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004, 02:43 AM   #7809
Tech Regular
 
wolfracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Parkdale, Melbourne, Aust
Posts: 307
Default

The tyre explanation is nice advice thanks, it's noted
wolfracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004, 07:51 AM   #7810
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,473
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone have any pics or links to the Andy Moore UK race that just happened?

Who was it on this thread that was putting together a pro4 website...I had a question for you...please PM or AOL IM me at 'anthonyisla' Have some things for you.

not sure if this got lost in the shuffle earrlier.....


would anyone be interested in this shirt...i was having one made up for myself...but was thinking some other people might want one...



you can email if so that way i could get a rough estimate of how many i might make....anthony.isla@comcast.net

__________________
Speed Passion * Fantom Racing * Windy City Raceway

Last edited by Nexus; 10-04-2004 at 08:48 AM.
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004, 09:20 AM   #7811
Tech Adept
 
Erik Shauver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Go Nicky!
Posts: 197
Default

azenis: If you are running foams, we need to know the outer diameter of them. Also, I would start with robk's setup for foam tires. The car needs to be setup up differently for foams since the stock setting is aimed towards rubber tires. See the attachment for the last setup I have of his (or perhaps it is KevinK's?).

RC Driver Gary: As long as the pistons are 9.90mm OD (outer diameter), 2.0mm thick and have a 3mm inner diameter, they should fit just fine. I don't have any on hand, but I'm guessing they are very close. As for the sway bars, the extra collars help, but I never use them. I always set up the sway bars by tightening the set screws in very small increments. I always concentrate on the movement at the bend point on the bar. I keep tightening until then the bar no longer has up and down play when the suspension is articulated, but not so tight that bar doesn't rotate freely. After that, I adjust the link lengths until both sides produce an equal amount of lift for a given suspension arm movement. Also, I usually pinch the ball ends until everything is very loose (but with no slop). Last but not least, I'll slide the collars around to make sure the action from side to side is spot on (I usually check with a ride height and a droop gauge to raise the one side to a fixed amount and then measure the other side's height). Ask up if I'm not explaining it clearly (I'm still working on morning coffee ).

wolfracing: If you can be more specific, we'll be able to help you better. For instance if you describe it like "my car turns into the corner fine, but when I apply throttle coming out of the turn it spins out."

-E
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pro 4 setup - robk - 07212004.jpg (161.1 KB, 140 views)
Erik Shauver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004, 09:41 AM   #7812
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rc-zombies
Use Dubro collars to keep the sway bars from moving left & right.
GS makes Purple collars
Tried that, the collars tend to hit the sides of the gearcase and bind up. Erik, tried the way you reccomended last night, and when I push up on the right rear, the left comes up right sway. But when I push up on the left, I need about another 3mms of uptravel before it moves the right. The bar is centered left to right in the casing as well and the links coming up from the arms are measured to be the same length as well.
__________________
Site Content Specialist- Surface
HorizonHobby.Com

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
http://www.youtube.com/HorizonRCdotCom
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004, 10:26 AM   #7813
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,473
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

gary.

maybe make sure that the swaybar itself did not get bent out of whack...it may not be even all the way across.
__________________
Speed Passion * Fantom Racing * Windy City Raceway
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004, 10:32 AM   #7814
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

It doesn't matter if I use the kit one, or brandy new silver or copper ones I bought...It even has a new gear casing because 1 of the screw holes that holed the top deck on broke off.
__________________
Site Content Specialist- Surface
HorizonHobby.Com

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
http://www.youtube.com/HorizonRCdotCom
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004, 10:41 AM   #7815
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

are the screws on the sway bar balls all facing the same direction?
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:57 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0