R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-26-2004, 10:36 AM   #7621
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 992
Default

Quote:

I`m a little worried about with my Pro4.

I had training session last night with newest 1.1 gear set up front and after 3th run there was that same sound when i drove earlier those old gears.

So, after that thing i opened front and chech what made that sound.

Guess what, there was a terrible mess of gears.

Any suggestion??

Thanks

For me, I never have problem with gears, even the old ones. They all perfectly no wears at all.
Aku-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2004, 10:38 AM   #7622
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 992
Default

Quote:
all you need to do is compress the spring a couple of times with pliers ,you won't have a problem .
I've done that. Maybe I didn't compress enough.
Aku-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2004, 10:44 AM   #7623
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 251
Default Re Re gears mess

Hi,

Quote:
For me, I never have problem with gears, even the old ones. They all perfectly no wears at all.
Ey that's a very usefull answer

To prevent those gears from wearing you should make sure they are perfectly clean.
Then make sure they are put in the right way, so the gears fit perfectly.
After that you can oil them.

Let the car run on a bench, so the wheels do not contact the floor.
After a few packs open up the gearbox, and re-oil the gears.

Then run the car like you do normally.
This should do the trick.

Thomas
840918001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2004, 10:53 AM   #7624
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 992
Default

Quote:
Ey that's a very usefull answer
I couldn't answer that question because I just follow the instruction shim the gears. Notthing special.
Aku-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2004, 10:55 AM   #7625
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,320
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

You have to hit something pretty good to break em.But did you boil water an then put the gears in the hot water?(it seems to help)I have not had a problem with the ver1 gears..yet
__________________
I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was blaming you.
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2004, 11:11 AM   #7626
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Crown Point, IN
Posts: 109
Default

I have had a problem with the front shock leaking on my pro 4. It seems the top cap won't screw on all the way. Any ideas?
jnims29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2004, 11:40 AM   #7627
Tech Master
 
Speed Demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ROCK GARDEN
Posts: 1,053
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jnims29
I have had a problem with the front shock leaking on my pro 4. It seems the top cap won't screw on all the way. Any ideas?
Are refering to the small self tapped screw on the side ofthe shock cap?? Is the oil leak from thare?? If yes, that screw should screw all the way in to prevent leak... it is used to bleed the shock when you build them.. check the instruction again...

hope this helps...
__________________
CUSTOM CRAWLER & ROCK STACKER
Speed Demon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2004, 01:50 PM   #7628
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Crown Point, IN
Posts: 109
Default

That was it, i fixed the problem.Thanks
jnims29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2004, 02:40 PM   #7629
Tech Regular
 
Lost Aggresiva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Caledonia, MI
Posts: 255
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Sorry if this has come up before, but does anyone know what Associated springs are the equivalent to the stock springs that come with the Pro4?

I greatly appreciate any info you can pass along.
Lost Aggresiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2004, 04:27 PM   #7630
Tech Master
 
lazyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Franklin,WI
Posts: 1,536
Send a message via AIM to lazyboy
Default

hey guys,

its been a while since ive been in here, but i need some help. I've finally decided to scrwe rubber tire for now and do some foam on my pro4, first things first a foam car isnt a foam car with a great setup. heres a list of stuff i need some feed back on from you master pro4 guys

#1:foam setup(if you are useing a aftermarket chassis let me know)
#2:are the derlin out drives any good, if so should i get a set for front and back?
#3: what is the part number for the AE diff hardware set
#4: a list-o parts and opion parts that are need to run foam
#5: and anything you guys can think of that i have missed..

thanks guys for the future help


lazyboy

oh ya #6:what aftermarket chassis is better PRP or BMI for the PRO4
__________________
Random Guy
FT B4
Sponsored by Axiom Motors
Trackside hobbies
lazyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2004, 05:07 PM   #7631
Tech Master
 
scoobydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bay Area San Jose
Posts: 1,501
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I heard a lot of people very happy with the PRP chassis and a carpet setup.
Mostly they like the side braces that the BMI does not have.
I really don't know what side braces would do or benefit, but they seem to be happy.
I myself just run the stock versions.

Last edited by scoobydo; 09-26-2004 at 05:14 PM.
scoobydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2004, 06:05 PM   #7632
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,320
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

I have the BMI 3mm chassis and top deck,Very stiff,I guess it would really good for the rug.Plus BMI chassis's are very well made,and I'm sure that the PRP is well made as well.
__________________
I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was blaming you.
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2004, 07:18 PM   #7633
Tech Regular
 
Aurra Sing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA, USA
Posts: 462
Default

I am just wondering while building this Pro4 why are people wanting to upgrade their Pro4 chassis' to stiffer ones? the stock ones feel extremely stiff already...
Aurra Sing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2004, 07:20 PM   #7634
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Aurra Sing
I am just wondering while building this Pro4 why are people wanting to upgrade their Pro4 chassis' to stiffer ones? the stock ones feel extremely stiff already...
The stock chassis and top deck are thinner therefore there's more flex than the BMI or PRP chassis kits.
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2004, 08:45 PM   #7635
Tech Master
 
clinttredway's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,291
Trader Rating: 3 (80%+)
Send a message via MSN to clinttredway
Default

Looks like I will be getting a Pro 4 soon.. do I really need a stiffer chassis to run on carpet or is the stock chassis just fine?

I will be running stock only...
clinttredway is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:18 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0