R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-14-2004, 10:55 AM   #7486
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,042
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by brushless
I know it's a lot. It shouldn't be like that. I want to fix it but I don't know what else to check.
Check your servo setting...make sure your RIGHT TURN is set the same amount of turn % just like your left....
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2004, 10:56 AM   #7487
Tech Adept
 
brushless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Alabaster, AL
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rookie Solara
Check your servo setting...make sure your RIGHT TURN is set the same amount of turn % just like your left....
That's the other thing I checked too. I made the EPA for left and right steering exactly the same with no change.
brushless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2004, 12:37 PM   #7488
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

Make sure there is no binding anywhere in the steering and that if you are running sway bars that they are in the centre of the gearbox, I've heard that the slightest bit they are out can make the car handle unevenly. Also, try swapping your tyres round side to side...
Skill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2004, 01:15 PM   #7489
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,042
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by brushless
That's the other thing I checked too. I made the EPA for left and right steering exactly the same with no change.
Well, that is 1 thing, but I also use my eye to actually see it and make sure the servo does go all the way to left or right....most of the time, I take the 2nd methrod over the Radio % number...cause there are always something in between the servo, radio and the steering itself will make the differnet.
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2004, 01:32 PM   #7490
Tech Adept
 
brushless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Alabaster, AL
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rookie Solara
Well, that is 1 thing, but I also use my eye to actually see it and make sure the servo does go all the way to left or right....most of the time, I take the 2nd methrod over the Radio % number...cause there are always something in between the servo, radio and the steering itself will make the differnet.
I used the radio settings and eyed it too. I had to turn the left down to about 75% before it matched the right at 100%.
brushless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2004, 02:16 PM   #7491
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via Yahoo to Doug Gaut
Default

I would double check your swaybars as Skill says. They cannot have ANY play up and down in the groove. I had one side that the set screw caught the bar and one that didnt and had somewhat the same handling issue. I took the setscrews back out and installed them at an angle towards the gearbox more which then they tightened down on the bars correctly. You only want an extremely small amount of play so that the bars can move side to side but not up and down otherwise they will not work properly. I even added dubro stops on either side of the gearbox to stop any side to side play as well.
Doug Gaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2004, 02:23 PM   #7492
Tech Adept
 
brushless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Alabaster, AL
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Doug Gaut
I would double check your swaybars as Skill says. They cannot have ANY play up and down in the groove. I had one side that the set screw caught the bar and one that didnt and had somewhat the same handling issue. I took the setscrews back out and installed them at an angle towards the gearbox more which then they tightened down on the bars correctly. You only want an extremely small amount of play so that the bars can move side to side but not up and down otherwise they will not work properly. I even added dubro stops on either side of the gearbox to stop any side to side play as well.
I don't use sway bars.
brushless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2004, 04:31 PM   #7493
Tech Master
 
azenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 1,478
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by azenis
Well I built the diff last night, would really love some tips for running it in though...

thanks
Anyone??
__________________
Nige
===========================================================
X-Ray T4 '14 | 3Racing Sakura D3 CS | Durango DEX410v4 | HPI Blitz | Tamiya WR-02 VW Bus
azenis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2004, 04:38 PM   #7494
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
quote:
Originally posted by azenis
Well I built the diff last night, would really love some tips for running it in though...

thanks


Originally posted by azenis
Anyone??
As far as set-up... I use the same set-up if using a front one-way...
you'll have to slightly change your driving style. you won't be able to corner as fast..but will be able to break much later before the turn.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2004, 04:41 PM   #7495
Tech Master
 
azenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 1,478
Default

Ahh yes but isnt there a proceedure for breaking the diff in?
__________________
Nige
===========================================================
X-Ray T4 '14 | 3Racing Sakura D3 CS | Durango DEX410v4 | HPI Blitz | Tamiya WR-02 VW Bus
azenis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2004, 04:43 PM   #7496
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by azenis
Ahh yes but isnt there a proceedure for breaking the diff in?
I just run a couple of packs on the car and re-adjust the diff if needed.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2004, 04:43 PM   #7497
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by azenis
Ahh yes but isnt there a proceedure for breaking the diff in?
There is no real procedure. I usually just run the car up and down the street to "break it in". Then make adjustments afterwards.
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2004, 05:05 PM   #7498
Tech Master
 
azenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 1,478
Default

Thanks guys
One other thing, anyone with a GT7 in thier Pro4 can you send me a pic of your setup or let me know how you have mounted the Capactitor ? The wires it is on is too short and too long to put it anywhere useful, and the wired in shottky diode is as much a pain as it is a good thing! Just trying to tidy my install of it all while the car is pulled down.
__________________
Nige
===========================================================
X-Ray T4 '14 | 3Racing Sakura D3 CS | Durango DEX410v4 | HPI Blitz | Tamiya WR-02 VW Bus
azenis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2004, 05:24 PM   #7499
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Azenis, I will take a pic of my setup with the GT7 for you in an hour.
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2004, 05:26 PM   #7500
Tech Master
 
azenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 1,478
Default

Thanks DOMIisCOOL
I think I may need to shorten the motor wires somewhat too, its a bit of a mess
__________________
Nige
===========================================================
X-Ray T4 '14 | 3Racing Sakura D3 CS | Durango DEX410v4 | HPI Blitz | Tamiya WR-02 VW Bus
azenis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:25 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0