R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-02-2004, 07:31 PM   #7336
Tech Master
 
azenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 1,478
Default stupid question about tweak

Hi guys
Just rebuilt my car and shocks, and got it finished last night and put it down to adjust ride height.
Motor and battery pack in the car, I got the front shocks ok but to get it so the front tyres lift off the ground at the same time, i have to have a LOT more preload on the back left shock. If they are close to the same amount of preload, the front right wheel lifts off the table a LOT earlier

The chassis is flat, droop, shock lenght etc are all ok. Is this because of the weight on the right side of the car is less than the left cos the batts are so much heavier? In this case, is it ok to have so much more preload on the back left spring? Or have I done something wrong?
__________________
Nige
===========================================================
X-Ray T4 '14 | 3Racing Sakura D3 CS | Durango DEX410v4 | HPI Blitz | Tamiya WR-02 VW Bus
azenis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2004, 07:54 PM   #7337
Tech Champion
 
Kevin K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a land of mini-mighty mental giants
Posts: 8,754
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Kevin K Send a message via Yahoo to Kevin K
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pucho
Kevin thanks for the suggestion, I have most of the parts available. Question is what kind of effect did it have on your handling? Steering?
It changes the ackerman....I havent used this with rubber tires but with Foam tires I like the way it works. It also will alow you to go to full steering lock with out a 28mm rim hitting the shock. Its something to try out and see how you like it. But the mod is very easy to do.
__________________
2013 USVTA World Champion of the World
MOTIV RC presents the Midwest All-Star Carpet Series....14th year running 2016/17!!!
USVTA National Championship....check it out!!!
Im only responsible for what I say NOT what you understand.
Kevin K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2004, 08:01 PM   #7338
Tech Master
 
rod_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Covina CA
Posts: 1,033
Send a message via AIM to rod_b
Default Re: rubber tire questions

Quote:
Originally posted by senna555
Ok all you west coast rubber tire guys help me out with this.

With track temps around 100-125 what tire/insert combo would you start with. The track is med/high bite treated with sugar water.

I normally run on carpet with foams and rubber tire are still kinda of a mystery.

In Connecticut we dont get the super high track temps.

I have tried 32r and 36r with hpi blue med/hard insert and car seems to push badly.

I tried 28r with hpi blues and tires seem to overheat and wear quickly but car has improved steering.

Can I get more steering by running a softer insert med or med soft in 32 and 36r's.

Thanks for the info

Jamie
I run premounted TakeOff 27s and if it's too hot for them switch to Sorex 36R with either HPI red or green inserts. I don't know too many people who run the Take off 32s or the Sorex 32s. Most people go straight from TakeOff 27s to the Sorex 36s.
rod_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2004, 08:17 PM   #7339
Tech Fanatic
 
pucho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Central, FL
Posts: 804
Send a message via AIM to pucho
Default Re: rubber tire questions

Quote:
Originally posted by senna555
Ok all you west coast rubber tire guys help me out with this.

With track temps around 100-125 what tire/insert combo would you start with. The track is med/high bite treated with sugar water.

I normally run on carpet with foams and rubber tire are still kinda of a mystery.

In Connecticut we dont get the super high track temps.

I have tried 32r and 36r with hpi blue med/hard insert and car seems to push badly.

I tried 28r with hpi blues and tires seem to overheat and wear quickly but car has improved steering.

Can I get more steering by running a softer insert med or med soft in 32 and 36r's.

Thanks for the info

Jamie
Pretty much pre-mounted CS-27ís work well in that situation. If it gets too hot try 32ís

Kevin:

Again thank for the info Ill have to give it a shot.
pucho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 12:54 AM   #7340
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

A solution for the steering knuckles....buy some alloy ones
Skill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 12:57 AM   #7341
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Skill
A solution for the steering knuckles....buy some alloy ones
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 01:11 AM   #7342
Tech Master
 
azenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 1,478
Default Re: stupid question about tweak

can anyone help??
Quote:
Originally posted by azenis
Hi guys
Just rebuilt my car and shocks, and got it finished last night and put it down to adjust ride height.
Motor and battery pack in the car, I got the front shocks ok but to get it so the front tyres lift off the ground at the same time, i have to have a LOT more preload on the back left shock. If they are close to the same amount of preload, the front right wheel lifts off the table a LOT earlier

The chassis is flat, droop, shock lenght etc are all ok. Is this because of the weight on the right side of the car is less than the left cos the batts are so much heavier? In this case, is it ok to have so much more preload on the back left spring? Or have I done something wrong?
__________________
Nige
===========================================================
X-Ray T4 '14 | 3Racing Sakura D3 CS | Durango DEX410v4 | HPI Blitz | Tamiya WR-02 VW Bus
azenis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 01:25 AM   #7343
Tech Elite
 
VenomWorldOrder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: www.RCunderground.net
Posts: 4,063
Default Re: Re: stupid question about tweak

Quote:
Originally posted by azenis
can anyone help??
azenis. do the following;

-make sure your foams are the same size
-take top deck off, then tighten screws down again in X fashion
-if still not right take shocks of measure the length of the exposed shock shaft, they should be equal.

-still not correct? then with shocks of and swaybars off check droop again. noe place swaybar on and check droop. is the swaybar lifting a arm? if not place shocks on and check droop.

you might have alittle extra preload on one side but not heaps more.
VenomWorldOrder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 07:10 AM   #7344
Tech Master
 
azenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 1,478
Default

Thanks VWO
My JET upper link mounts arrived today so I will be taking the top deck off again, so will check it all again. Got some setup wheels to

Also I got some of the conical washers and put countersunk screws in them on the steering posts instead of the normal ones. will probably do that other mod drilling the holes out too. I will let you know how i go cheers
__________________
Nige
===========================================================
X-Ray T4 '14 | 3Racing Sakura D3 CS | Durango DEX410v4 | HPI Blitz | Tamiya WR-02 VW Bus
azenis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 08:46 AM   #7345
Tech Master
 
azenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 1,478
Default

Got it fixed now

Took shocks off and checked shaft length, all the same.

Adjusted the collars to the same length while i was at it.

Disconnected the sway bars.

Took off top deck and reattatched.

Same problem still there

Anyhow I loosened all the top deck screws, and then gave the chassis a little twist in the right direction, and tightned the ouside 4 screws and it was looking good so i tightned the rest and it is all good

Looks like the standard chassis is a LOT more prone to tweak than the BMI 3mm (I have Coxys old car)
__________________
Nige
===========================================================
X-Ray T4 '14 | 3Racing Sakura D3 CS | Durango DEX410v4 | HPI Blitz | Tamiya WR-02 VW Bus
azenis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 09:23 AM   #7346
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

Yea the 3mm top deck/chassis combo is a lot stiffer than the 2.5mm/2mm chassis/top deck. I haven't experienced any problems with tweak with the 3mm chassis yet.
Skill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 09:28 AM   #7347
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2
Default

hi

does anyone know where i can get square parts (mainly titanium input shafts) in the uk?

thanks
steven
steve252 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 09:34 AM   #7348
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by steve252
hi

does anyone know where i can get square parts (mainly titanium input shafts) in the uk?

thanks
steven
I highly recommend the 1 piece aluminum input shafts. the rear shaft combines the input and the spur gear mount into one solid piece.

best place to buy SQuare parts:

RcModel in HK.
Precision RC in HK
All Speed HObbies in US
RainBowTen in Japan.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 10:20 AM   #7349
Tech Adept
 
big_G's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NE England
Posts: 139
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by azenis
Got it fixed now

Took shocks off and checked shaft length, all the same.

Adjusted the collars to the same length while i was at it.

Disconnected the sway bars.

Took off top deck and reattatched.

Same problem still there

Anyhow I loosened all the top deck screws, and then gave the chassis a little twist in the right direction, and tightned the ouside 4 screws and it was looking good so i tightned the rest and it is all good

Looks like the standard chassis is a LOT more prone to tweak than the BMI 3mm (I have Coxys old car)
Have you tried drilling out the 4 holes in the top deck as described a few pages back?
big_G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 10:23 AM   #7350
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 992
Default

I don't have any tweak problem yet after doing upper deck mod.
Aku-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:12 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0