R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-30-2004, 12:04 PM   #7276
Tech Elite
 
kewdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sneederville, USA
Posts: 3,272
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lazyboy
edit: looks like ill be getting one of those
Me too! I'm in.
__________________
Quinn Moon

Trinity / Epic / Revtech / VBC Racing USA / Mugen Seiki / Hot Race Tyres / SkyRocket Racing / SUPAFAST RC
kewdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2004, 12:57 PM   #7277
Tech Addict
 
JohnB's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oregon City, Or
Posts: 674
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

First race with the Pro 4 went pretty good Sat. night. I've just been racing 12th scale all summer, so it's kinda like driving a bus. Took a few laps to get use to each heat. I was shocked that our lap times were right with the our 12th scale lap times, so I guess it wasn't as slow as it felt

The car was good, but a little loose off power. I made a couple small changes during the race, but didn't want to change to much for fear of really screwing it up. The car has tons of steering!!!
I like that, it's always easier to get rid of it then gain it.
I think I'll lighten up rear dampening for sure. #5 (3 hole) and 50wt. feels to stiff compared to the #3 and 60wt. in the front.

How are long are you guys going between diff rebuilds? Running a 10 turn on carpet. I think I ran 2 practice batteries and 4 in the race, so 6 runs and the rear diff was feeling pretty gritty.

Gearing has me a little baffled. I ranged from 98/25-27 and never got the motor to run below 155*. At a 25 pinion, it was definietly topping out way to soon on the straight. This is on a small track 100'x30'.

Cadillac body seems to work good, maybe some the reason it's a little loose in back? I have a Mazada 6 I need to paint and try, so I'll see if that's true. Has anyone else tried that body?

Thanks for any words of wisdom.

take care
john
JohnB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2004, 02:40 PM   #7278
Tech Adept
 
brushless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Alabaster, AL
Posts: 131
Default

.

Last edited by brushless; 08-30-2004 at 03:16 PM.
brushless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2004, 02:55 PM   #7279
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 3
Default Just got a Pro 4

Gentlemen,
I finally got me a Pro 4. Any building advice, or upgrades I should get ? Also anybody recommend a basic, starting set-up for asphalt/parking lot racing ? Thanks in advance. any help would be greatly appreciated.

Oh yeah, now all my racing buddies are saying I should have just got a TC3 or a Losi, what do you guys think ? I was gonna wait and see if a new TC4 was coming out, but since all I ever raced was RS4's, and AE would not confirm if they was indeed coming out with a new TC4, I decided to just get the Pro 4. I heard the Pro 4 was a new improved TC3 anyways......so what the hell.

Thanks again, Marcusg
marcusg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2004, 03:08 PM   #7280
Tech Master
 
Super Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,177
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Super Steve
Default

Hi,
Pro 4 is a very good choice, much better then xxx-s or tc3 out of the box.

There are both carpet and ashpault set ups in the back of the manual and they work really well.
Super Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2004, 03:34 PM   #7281
Tech Addict
 
StewartFan20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Grrrrr!!!!
Posts: 692
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Pro4 Shocks

How often do the shocks need to be rebuilt...if at all?
StewartFan20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2004, 03:49 PM   #7282
Tech Master
 
Super Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,177
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Super Steve
Default

It really depends how often you clean around the shaft/seal and how clean your track is.

but you should be fine by rebuilding shocks maybe once to twice a season
Super Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2004, 05:00 PM   #7283
Tech Addict
 
JohnB's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oregon City, Or
Posts: 674
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Super Steve
Hi,
Pro 4 is a very good choice, much better then xxx-s or tc3 out of the box.

There are both carpet and ashpault set ups in the back of the manual and they work really well.
After only running the car one race. I agree. The Pro 4 comes out of the box like all the hopped up, full of after market parts, TC3's you see on the track.

I just got done looking at the TC4 pictures. I don't see anything in them that makes me believe it be much different then what is already out there, for hop up's or mods . Most of the changes are things people are doing already.
I do know I never want another molded tube chassis again. I love REAL graphite!!!

Just my $.02.

take care
john
JohnB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2004, 06:50 AM   #7284
Tech Master
 
azenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 1,478
Default shock piston hole sizes

Hi all
Can anyone tell me the sizes of the holes on the different shock pistons?
__________________
Nige
===========================================================
X-Ray T4 '14 | 3Racing Sakura D3 CS | Durango DEX410v4 | HPI Blitz | Tamiya WR-02 VW Bus
azenis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2004, 08:44 AM   #7285
Tech Addict
 
JohnB's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oregon City, Or
Posts: 674
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Yes we talked about that a little while ago.

HPI pistons #1 =1.3mm holes, #2=1.2mm, #3=1.1mm, #4= 1.0mm, #5=0.8mm(3 holes)


take care
john
JohnB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2004, 08:56 AM   #7286
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,042
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default Re: Just got a Pro 4

Quote:
Originally posted by marcusg
Gentlemen,
I finally got me a Pro 4. Any building advice, or upgrades I should get ? Also anybody recommend a basic, starting set-up for asphalt/parking lot racing ? Thanks in advance. any help would be greatly appreciated.

Oh yeah, now all my racing buddies are saying I should have just got a TC3 or a Losi, what do you guys think ? I was gonna wait and see if a new TC4 was coming out, but since all I ever raced was RS4's, and AE would not confirm if they was indeed coming out with a new TC4, I decided to just get the Pro 4. I heard the Pro 4 was a new improved TC3 anyways......so what the hell.

Thanks again, Marcusg
Now...you can see the NEW TC4 looks like........and for me (and sevearl other friends of mine)..........
.............
.......
....
...
I am glad that I brought the PRO 4........still a better car then the new TC4.
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2004, 11:13 AM   #7287
Tech Elite
 
kewdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sneederville, USA
Posts: 3,272
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JohnB
After only running the car one race. I agree. The Pro 4 comes out of the box like all the hopped up, full of after market parts, TC3's you see on the track.

I just got done looking at the TC4 pictures. I don't see anything in them that makes me believe it be much different then what is already out there, for hop up's or mods . Most of the changes are things people are doing already.
I do know I never want another molded tube chassis again. I love REAL graphite!!!

Just my $.02.

take care
john
What TC4 pics??? Am I missing something??
__________________
Quinn Moon

Trinity / Epic / Revtech / VBC Racing USA / Mugen Seiki / Hot Race Tyres / SkyRocket Racing / SUPAFAST RC
kewdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2004, 11:17 AM   #7288
Tech Adept
 
big_G's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NE England
Posts: 139
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kewdawg
What TC4 pics??? Am I missing something??
check here
big_G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2004, 12:58 PM   #7289
Tech Elite
 
kewdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sneederville, USA
Posts: 3,272
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by big_G
check here
Yeah, I found the thread. Didn't see it when I logged on. Thanks anyway, Big G
__________________
Quinn Moon

Trinity / Epic / Revtech / VBC Racing USA / Mugen Seiki / Hot Race Tyres / SkyRocket Racing / SUPAFAST RC
kewdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2004, 01:12 PM   #7290
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Just got a Pro 4

Quote:
Originally posted by Rookie Solara
....still a better car then the new TC4.
Might have to wait to see it on the track to determine that for sure.

One thing is for sure though, all those years of TC3 owners saying "oh thats just a TC3 copy" are coming back to them! I've lost track of how many times (between this board and RCCA's board) that someone has said "oh, that just looks like a Yokomo CGM"!

Pay back is a biotch!!!

Now, even those people see that it aint that easy to make a shaft drive car....and make it different!
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:57 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0