R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-18-2004, 10:47 AM   #6976
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Springs.

Quote:
Originally posted by brushless
Have you used the TC3 springs on your car or have you just heard that they will work?
I have all the Pro4 springs. I don't like to mix apples and oranges...
it's posted here many many many pages back about the TC3 springs.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2004, 10:56 AM   #6977
Tech Champion
 
Kevin K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a land of mini-mighty mental giants
Posts: 8,752
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Kevin K Send a message via Yahoo to Kevin K
Default Springs....

There are Springs from HPI that are not listed with the Pro-4 springs that are the same size....25mm long. These springs are stiffer then the ones that are listed just for the Pro-4. So if you need a stiffer spring then HPI still has it just look for HPI springs that are 25mm long.....I think the stiffest one is 33lbs.....and you wont need one any stiffer then that.

Also TC3 springs are not made very well.....so I would stay away from them.
__________________
2013 USVTA World Champion of the World
MOTIV RC presents the Midwest All-Star Carpet Series....14th year running 2016/17!!!
USVTA National Championship....check it out!!!
Im only responsible for what I say NOT what you understand.
Kevin K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2004, 11:27 AM   #6978
Tech Master
 
lazyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Franklin,WI
Posts: 1,536
Send a message via AIM to lazyboy
Default

xray springs should also work.....

just my 2cents

lazyboy
__________________
Random Guy
FT B4
Sponsored by Axiom Motors
Trackside hobbies
lazyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2004, 11:31 AM   #6979
Tech Addict
 
StewartFan20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Grrrrr!!!!
Posts: 692
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Re: Springs.

Quote:
Originally posted by brushless
I know my answer is somewhere in this post, but do the TC3 springs fit on the Pro 4? The Pro 4 doesn't seem to have a very good selection of springs.
I use the TC3 springs and they work fine. The plastic piece at the bottom of the shock is a tight fit though.
StewartFan20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2004, 12:49 PM   #6980
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 238
Send a message via AIM to galway
Default

I use TC3 springs and they work just fine. I did replace the plastic spring cup thing with the AE ones for a better fit. Stock HPI ones still work though.
galway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2004, 01:15 PM   #6981
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,461
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

without having to look through hundreds for posts...


does someone have handy the conversion to lbs/in for the HPI Springs? i thought awhile back someone posted the list...


losi springs fit also :P
__________________
{{ SPEED PASSION USA }}

<<-- WWW.SPEEDPOWERRC.COM ->>
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2004, 01:18 PM   #6982
Tech Adept
 
brushless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Alabaster, AL
Posts: 131
Default

Description gF/mm lb/in Part # Color
14x25x1.4mm 6 Coils 273 15.3 6542 Blue
14x25x1.5mm 6.5 Coils 302 16.9 6543 Silver stock rear springs
320 18.0 6548 Pink
14x25x1.5mm 6 Coils 340 19.0 6544 Gold stock front springs
14x25x1.5mm 5.75 Coils 363 20.3 6545 White
14x24x1.5mm 5.5 Coils 388 21.7 6546 Yellow
14x25x1.5mm 5.25 Coils 400 22.4 6547 Red
brushless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2004, 01:49 PM   #6983
Tech Adept
 
Erik Shauver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Go Nicky!
Posts: 197
Default HPI Spring Info

Spring Chart

25mm springs will fit as it is the standard spring size for the Pro4. The 23mm will likely work. Anything longer than 25mm is very unlikely to fit and be able to obtain ride height.

-E
Erik Shauver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2004, 03:50 PM   #6984
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,037
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Springs.

Quote:
Originally posted by brushless
Have you used the TC3 springs on your car or have you just heard that they will work?
I use my NTC3 springs set for my pro 4, and ran great (and fits), but of course, I don't know much about elect TC, as long as my car is ON RAIL..........I called it 'Perfect".....and my PRO 4 is indeed 'on rail"....just lack of some motor power.
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2004, 03:58 PM   #6985
Tech Adept
 
brushless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Alabaster, AL
Posts: 131
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Springs.

Quote:
Originally posted by Rookie Solara
I use my NTC3 springs set for my pro 4, and ran great (and fits), but of course, I don't know much about elect TC, as long as my car is ON RAIL..........I called it 'Perfect".....and my PRO 4 is indeed 'on rail"....just lack of some motor power.

Hey Rookie, what country are you from?
brushless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2004, 04:06 PM   #6986
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

I just got a set of the Schumacher Ball Grippa's and it came with a set of 8. If I plan on replacing each ballcup with the new ones, which ones are most important? Since I only have 8 and there are obviously 10 ballcups on the car.
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2004, 04:18 PM   #6987
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DOMOisCOOL
I just got a set of the Schumacher Ball Grippa's and it came with a set of 8. If I plan on replacing each ballcup with the new ones, which ones are most important? Since I only have 8 and there are obviously 10 ballcups on the car.
do everything except for the servo link...since it's a single turnbuckle and not a L/R pair.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2004, 04:24 PM   #6988
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

RC Zombies:

Thanks, but I only have 8 of them, which is only enough to do 4 complete pairs of links. I was told that the camber ones are most important?
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2004, 04:27 PM   #6989
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DOMOisCOOL
RC Zombies:

Thanks, but I only have 8 of them, which is only enough to do 4 complete pairs of links. I was told that the camber ones are most important?
OIC...yea..the camber links would make more sence. and do the steering and servo linkage at a later date.

and don't forget to drill a hole on top of the ball cups. it helps access the 2mm hex for easier access and adjustments.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2004, 05:19 PM   #6990
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

I just installed the ball cups. Nice and tight fit. However, the rear ballcups are still rubbing the rear wheel. Did I do something wrong?
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:40 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0