R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-13-2004, 01:02 AM   #6886
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by galway
Skill what is up with your car? You have all kinds of funky stuff going on. What is the in line tamiya plug for? Is that padded brace next to the batteries to brevent lateral ejection? If so it seems rather large and over engineeered. Is that an old plastic shock tower attached to it? What about the antenna tube running along the other side.

Sorry for all the questions, but it just looks really weird.
The Tamiya connector is for my lights (see attachment). The brace on the batteries is to stop the batteries coming out and it works really well...I had to do something to stop them coming out and that was the solution....I used a Pro 3 rear body mount. On the electronics side it isn't an antenna tube, it's a rod of graphite off one of the parts trees, just to try and protect the electronics a little bit. Don't worry...all this will be removed when I get my PRP chassis . I race in quite a small indoor carpet track and you can get a lot of collisions, they're purely for protection.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 11.jpg (123.3 KB, 233 views)
Skill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 01:45 AM   #6887
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Aku-Man,

The mod looks great. So basically, you just drill the hole bigger (enough to fit the screw head), and screw the screws in all the way?

I don't really get how this helps. Can anyone explain? Thanks
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 04:28 AM   #6888
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

Hey guys, look what I made! One of my mates gave me some 3mm carbon fibre/fibreglass sheeting, took me about 2 hours!!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg carbonbumperbrace.jpg (84.9 KB, 219 views)
Skill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 07:58 AM   #6889
Tech Addict
 
acutts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 505
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Skill
Hey guys, look what I made! One of my mates gave me some 3mm carbon fibre/fibreglass sheeting, took me about 2 hours!!
Nice job ... but the following part for the Nitro3 is a perfect fit for the Pro4 and it comes with cool Purple Ally posts and washer heads.

HB61131 - Hot Bodies NITRO 3 CARBON BUMPER SUPPORT
Attached Images
File Type: jpg hb61131.jpg (10.2 KB, 192 views)
acutts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 08:23 AM   #6890
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

Ooo...nice, I had no idea that fit, only problem with that one is that I like mounting my transponder in the front bumper as it makes it very secure (I had a period where my transponder kept on coming out) and it doesn't have a hole in it like my custom made one.
Skill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 09:06 AM   #6891
Tech Elite
 
kewdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sneederville, USA
Posts: 3,272
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

My version 1.1 gear set came in, yesterday! Great job Hpi!!! The customer service is definitely the best in the business!
__________________
Quinn Moon

Trinity / Epic / Revtech / VBC Racing USA / Mugen Seiki / Hot Race Tyres / SkyRocket Racing / SUPAFAST RC
kewdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 09:09 AM   #6892
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 238
Send a message via AIM to galway
Default

My solution to any transponder falling out ptoblems is buying a personal and screwing it to the deck
galway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 09:44 AM   #6893
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 992
Default

Quote:
Aku-Man,

The mod looks great. So basically, you just drill the hole bigger (enough to fit the screw head), and screw the screws in all the way?

I don't really get how this helps. Can anyone explain? Thanks

Drill 4 inner holes (front/rear) all the way bigger than botton head. Those screws are no longer secure upper deck.
Aku-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 10:27 AM   #6894
Tech Adept
 
big_G's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NE England
Posts: 139
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Aku-Man
Drill 4 inner holes (front/rear) all the way bigger than botton head. Those screws are no longer secure upper deck.
Do you have to use a shorter length screw??
big_G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 10:34 AM   #6895
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by big_G
Do you have to use a shorter length screw??
yes... 2-3mm shorter screws. 'coz the upperdeck is 2mm thick
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 10:34 AM   #6896
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 992
Default

I use same length.
Aku-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 10:58 AM   #6897
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,473
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

just wondering like others...

in theory how does this or would this mod reduce tweaking the car?

or is it more just for quicker acces...
__________________
Speed Passion * Fantom Racing * Windy City Raceway
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 11:03 AM   #6898
Tech Master
 
Super Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,177
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Super Steve
Default

i think it is suppose to reduce the chance of the upperdeck holding a tweak
Super Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 11:09 AM   #6899
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Super Steve
i think it is suppose to reduce the chance of the upperdeck holding a tweak
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 11:52 AM   #6900
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,042
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Is this a correct theory about racing OUTDOOR and INDOOR?

Racing outdoor (tracking always lower then indoor carpet), using the stock 2mm chassis and upper deck is good enough (no need to use optional 3mm chassis), and TWEAK is a good thing to have, so the 4 screws MOD is a good thing to have as well....

Racing indoor carpet (tracking always higher then outdoor asphelt), using the optional 3mm chassis with option upper deck and made the chassis more rigid, and TWEAK is NOT a good thing to have, so the 4 screws MOD is NOT required....

Correct me if I am wrong.....
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:51 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0