R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-28-2004, 05:21 AM   #6496
Tech Master
 
azenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 1,478
Default

I wouldnt mind the part numbers if anyone has them...

Quote:
Originally posted by cartmen34
Ah. Excellent. There is no need to look up the associated part numbers, I can get those from their .com.

I've already have the springs, so now I just need the diff bolt and locknut.

thank you very much for the info Doug!!
__________________
Nige
===========================================================
X-Ray T4 '14 | 3Racing Sakura D3 CS | Durango DEX410v4 | HPI Blitz | Tamiya WR-02 VW Bus
azenis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 05:39 AM   #6497
Tech Elite
 
VenomWorldOrder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: www.RCunderground.net
Posts: 4,063
Default

here is that picture again that someone posted. what are the part numbers needed?

VenomWorldOrder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 06:23 AM   #6498
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via Yahoo to Doug Gaut
Default

Azenis,

Here are the part numbers:
#6582 Diff Thrust Spring
#6575 T-Nut and Thrust Bolt

I know others have modified their outdrives to move the parts around but I have had great luck with just installing these parts and doing nothing else.
Doug Gaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 07:45 AM   #6499
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 34
Default Anti-roll bars

I'm not sure if anyone has ask this about the Pro4, but after I installed my sway bars, I tried to compress one shock to see how the other side responds, but the other side does not raise up at all. I'm using the thickest roll bar already. Am I installing it wrong?
Silvercomet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 07:53 AM   #6500
X2
Tech Regular
 
X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England
Posts: 340
Default roll bars

you could be doing the two grubscrews that go through the top diffcase to tight. Just get them so that they take up the play in the rollbar mount without clamping the rollbar.
X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 08:06 AM   #6501
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 34
Default

X2,

Doesn't seem to work, the bar slides sideways when the screws aren't tight enough, and when I take away the play by holding, the bar still seems to have minimal effect.
Silvercomet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 08:08 AM   #6502
Tech Master
 
azenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 1,478
Default

Mine does the same....
__________________
Nige
===========================================================
X-Ray T4 '14 | 3Racing Sakura D3 CS | Durango DEX410v4 | HPI Blitz | Tamiya WR-02 VW Bus
azenis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 08:14 AM   #6503
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 34
Default Roll bars

At first I thought it doesn't necessarily have to raise the other side, it just has to apply an upward force to the other side when one side is compressed. But when I look at my TB Evo3, it DOES raise the other side, even with the thinnest roll bar. Anyone else has the same problem?
Silvercomet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 08:19 AM   #6504
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

When I added the Associated pieces to my diff, I didn't cut the diff slots deeper....no one mentioned it.

Seems to work fine as is though.

And the diff hasn't loosened up since!
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 09:08 AM   #6505
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Re: Anti-roll bars

Quote:
Originally posted by Silvercomet
I'm not sure if anyone has ask this about the Pro4, but after I installed my sway bars, I tried to compress one shock to see how the other side responds, but the other side does not raise up at all. I'm using the thickest roll bar already. Am I installing it wrong?
To the test properly... remove the shocks and wheels... install the stock sway bars. raise one of the arms and the other should raise close to the same height. This was how the swaybars were tested to set equal when I had my Xray.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 10:19 AM   #6506
Tech Master
 
Super Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,177
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Super Steve
Default Re: Roll bars

Quote:
Originally posted by Silvercomet
At first I thought it doesn't necessarily have to raise the other side, it just has to apply an upward force to the other side
It also put downward force to the one you are trying to compres...

Just because you can't tell, it doesn't mean it won't work. I am sure most of us can't tell which springs are harder or softer when they are in close range of each other, but on the car, it makes a difference...

That's the way i see it
Super Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 06:00 PM   #6507
Tech Champion
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,406
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

You may also want to add the little collars DuBro sells. You can slide them on the bar until they stop. Tighten the grub screw and they will stay in place, keeping the bar from going sideways when it flexes.

The collars are used to hold the wheels on rc airplanes, or to hold together 2 z bends for a servo linkage (think RC10 from 1985)
__________________
A mutually re-enforcing cascade of failure

"Failior [sic] crowns enterprise." Robert Goddard

I-Lap Scoring Systems http://www.rclapcounter.com/
robk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 06:17 PM   #6508
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,320
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

I dont use roll bars,my car works fine without them,In fact at the track I race at the car worked much better without them..asphalt,parking lot track,med grip.
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 06:29 PM   #6509
Tech Elite
 
rice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: racing is my life
Posts: 2,501
Default

same with me as long as the car performs well i dont use roll bars.
rice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 08:13 PM   #6510
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
Default

Hey guys, I just purchased my Pro4 and am in the process of assembling it. But, the front diff. doesn't seem to be operating correctly to me. Could you guys tell me if this operation seems correct?

When looking down the shaft towards the front of the car, and spinning the shaft clockwise, I can't hold one wheel. It forces the wheel I am holding to turn.

The way I expect it to work, is that it allows me to hold one wheel steady, while forcing the other wheel to rotate at a faster rate. This is my first 4-wheel drive, so maybe that's it.

Please let me know if this operation is correct. thank-you
woodward is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:29 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0