R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-27-2004, 03:53 AM   #6436
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Herts/Essex UK
Posts: 44
Default Gearing a 19t V2 in pro4

As above suggestions please.
I run on a very small and tight indoor carpet track.

I would use the suggested gearing in the manual but whenever I do that regardless of what motor I run they always come off stupidly hot. I guess thats because the track is so small.
Rich_p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2004, 08:21 AM   #6437
Tech Elite
 
kewdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sneederville, USA
Posts: 3,272
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Re: Gearing a 19t V2 in pro4

Quote:
Originally posted by Rich_p
As above suggestions please.
I run on a very small and tight indoor carpet track.

I would use the suggested gearing in the manual but whenever I do that regardless of what motor I run they always come off stupidly hot. I guess thats because the track is so small.
I found, when you using foam tires which are generally run smaller than rubber tires, you would gear closer to the lower end of the range for each turn of motor (for example: 10t motor / 8.00 - 8.75 , you'd need to gear closer to 8.00 using foam tires).
__________________
Quinn Moon

Trinity / Epic / Revtech / VBC Racing USA / Mugen Seiki / Hot Race Tyres / SkyRocket Racing / SUPAFAST RC
kewdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2004, 08:30 AM   #6438
Tech Elite
 
kewdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sneederville, USA
Posts: 3,272
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Gearing a 19t V2 in pro4

Quote:
Originally posted by kewdawg
I found, when you using foam tires which are generally run smaller than rubber tires, you would gear closer to the lower end of the range for each turn of motor (for example: 10t motor / 8.00 - 8.75 , you'd need to gear closer to 8.00 using foam tires).
In fact, you should gear a 19t like your would a stocker - except gear up a couple of teeth on the pinion. Hope this helps.
__________________
Quinn Moon

Trinity / Epic / Revtech / VBC Racing USA / Mugen Seiki / Hot Race Tyres / SkyRocket Racing / SUPAFAST RC
kewdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2004, 08:36 AM   #6439
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Herts/Essex UK
Posts: 44
Default

Should add I will be on rubber tyres
Rich_p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2004, 09:02 AM   #6440
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trinity2
Thanks zombies. I have a lots of those old gears. I just wonder when Rc Model get those new gear set ver 1.1? I send email to them... and i`ll wait answer.

Why? Reason is, at i have a good relationship with Rc Model and make all my orders from them
me too... I make majority of my orders through RcModel..
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2004, 09:09 AM   #6441
Tech Adept
 
brushless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Alabaster, AL
Posts: 131
Default Glitching problems

I had some major glitching problems. My whole problem was I had a shorter antenna tube on my Pro 4 and there would be around 6 inches of antenna wire coming out the top of the antenna tube. I had been using an antenna cap and just folding the extra antenna wire down after putting the cap on. This was my whole problem. I just put a full length antenna tube on my car and the antenna wire only hung out about 1/2 inch. This solved all my glitching problems.
brushless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2004, 09:18 AM   #6442
Tech Elite
 
kewdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sneederville, USA
Posts: 3,272
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rich_p
Should add I will be on rubber tyres
Yeah, you should be gearing towards the higher end of the ratio (smaller pinion / more acceleration).
__________________
Quinn Moon

Trinity / Epic / Revtech / VBC Racing USA / Mugen Seiki / Hot Race Tyres / SkyRocket Racing / SUPAFAST RC
kewdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2004, 09:37 AM   #6443
Tech Addict
 
StewartFan20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Grrrrr!!!!
Posts: 692
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Re: Glitching problems

Quote:
Originally posted by brushless
I had some major glitching problems. My whole problem was I had a shorter antenna tube on my Pro 4 and there would be around 6 inches of antenna wire coming out the top of the antenna tube. I had been using an antenna cap and just folding the extra antenna wire down after putting the cap on. This was my whole problem. I just put a full length antenna tube on my car and the antenna wire only hung out about 1/2 inch. This solved all my glitching problems.

Did you have any slack at the bottom of the antenna tube, inside the car, by the receiver? If so, what did you do with it? What radio do you use?

I am also having glitching issues and I already use the long antenna tube mounted on the upper deck. But, I have a couple of inches anging out of the top.
StewartFan20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2004, 09:47 AM   #6444
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Caster blocks...

I made the switch from the stock setup to the 2degree caster blocks because I broke one of the original ones. To my surprise, I found that the car handle much, much better entering and exiting the turns with these blocks on!

I guess this was one occasion when breaking wasn't so bad!
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2004, 09:52 AM   #6445
Tech Adept
 
brushless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Alabaster, AL
Posts: 131
Default Re: Re: Glitching problems

Quote:
Originally posted by StewartFan20
Did you have any slack at the bottom of the antenna tube, inside the car, by the receiver? If so, what did you do with it? What radio do you use?

I am also having glitching issues and I already use the long antenna tube mounted on the upper deck. But, I have a couple of inches anging out of the top.

I have my receiver mounted on the top graphite place and there is only about 1/2" of slack between the receiver and the antenna tube. It is not close to the graphite plate. I am using the Airtronics MX-3. Just don't use an antenna cap. Let the extra antenna wire just hang out. Put the receiver as close to the antenna as you can.
brushless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2004, 09:53 AM   #6446
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 69
Default

That was the degree castor blocks that were standard on my car in the kit, I changed to 4 degree after the first run, more turn in I thought. I have just spent loads of money, but now I fancy the Hara twister and the Hara/orion 12*1 V2 motor, It will look cool!!! I'm gonna have to get a job. Jonathan
jonny69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2004, 09:59 AM   #6447
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jonny69
That was the degree castor blocks that were standard on my car in the kit, I changed to 4 degree after the first run, more turn in I thought. I have just spent loads of money, but now I fancy the Hara twister and the Hara/orion 12*1 V2 motor, It will look cool!!! I'm gonna have to get a job. Jonathan
the std kit set-up is 4deg.. 2 & 6 degree caster blocks are included in the kit...

and yes..the Hara Twister looks great on the car...I've got one on mine...and one of the best I've used so far....
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2004, 10:04 AM   #6448
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 69
Default

Quote:
To my surprise, I found that the car handle much, much better entering and exiting the turns with these blocks on!
What do you mean, did the car have more, or less steering also did it change direction quicker. Thanks. Jonathan
jonny69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2004, 10:38 AM   #6449
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jonny69
What do you mean, did the car have more, or less steering also did it change direction quicker. Thanks. Jonathan
I guess the best way to say it is that the car was more aggressive entering the turns while at the same time staying smooth while exiting.. It changed direction instantly while not losing the rear end in the process. It reminded me of the way my HPI R40 steers. Kinda like that camara commercial says..."just point and shoot"!

I was consistently able to place the car right where I needed it and get then inside line on passes even when the person I was passing didn't thing there was enough room. Then upon exit, I could pin the throttle down without worrying about drifting out and making contact with the car I just passed.

It never did that before with the stock blocks...not for me atleast on our local track.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2004, 11:55 AM   #6450
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Oh yeah. Congrats on winning the BMI chassis RC-Zombies.
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:16 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0