R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-04-2004, 08:54 PM   #5986
Tech Elite
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,584
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

just jokes man..

Seriously to drift you dont require anything more then poor tires and improper suspension. Ill handling race cars will make great drift cars.

The yok drift is simply a car with no oil in the shocks and supper slippery tires.
__________________
"Without Rules its just Backyard Bashing!"
www.rcottawa.com
Joel Lagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 09:00 PM   #5987
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rc_square24
i think they came out iwth tires....u can see it on the jp site..

but the mag saids that therel be an article for hpis new gp drifter
A nitro drifter will be intresting. Seeing GP's do not have that "instant" throttle control. Say goodbye to the clutch
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 09:02 PM   #5988
Tech Fanatic
 
Entropy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 965
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Joel Lagace
just jokes man..

Seriously to drift you dont require anything more then poor tires and improper suspension. Ill handling race cars will make great drift cars.

The yok drift is simply a car with no oil in the shocks and supper slippery tires.
Have you done controlled drifts??

Best not to make sweeping statements for something you haven't tried before.

While you can simply put a car on the track and drift, it isn't going to be anymore than aimless sliding around till you set up the car for it.

Perhaps you haven't see the RC drift videos...

Either way, peace
Entropy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 09:07 PM   #5989
Tech Elite
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,584
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

yes i have seen the rc and the 1:1 drifters, its like cars dancing very kool looking and im sure takes loads of skills to do something other then donuts.

peace
__________________
"Without Rules its just Backyard Bashing!"
www.rcottawa.com
Joel Lagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 09:12 PM   #5990
Tech Fanatic
 
Entropy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 965
Default

Just for those who don't know yet.. Xenon Racing has released their purple strapping tape...

http://www.xenon.ne.jp/new-2004-05.html

scroll down...
Entropy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 09:13 PM   #5991
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

I don't mean to sound like a newbie, but is strapping tape better than using the battery bar?

Is it reusable and how easy is it to swap out packs?
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 09:20 PM   #5992
Tech Fanatic
 
Entropy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 965
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DOMOisCOOL
I don't mean to sound like a newbie, but is strapping tape better than using the battery bar?

Is it reusable and how easy is it to swap out packs?
Its slower to change batteries. Thats about the only drawback I see.

However, it holds the battery down better, the stickyness also prevents the batteries from rocking too much, its much lighter (less batt posts, bar, screws/clips). neater if you have matching colours and well organized wires.

I've never had a battery fall out during a main before.

I've also used the xenon tape for up to 3 bashing/race days before having to install a new strip. Its the most durable tape I've come across.

Here are my cars with the tape, use you imagination Hoping to get the purple tape for myself soon, as the blue doesn't seem to go with a pro4 :P

Entropy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 09:40 PM   #5993
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Thanx for the explaination
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 10:13 PM   #5994
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 431
Default

where can you buy the tape from. Looks cool.

Cheers,

Mossie
Mossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 10:16 PM   #5995
Tech Addict
 
rc_square24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 674
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

just a tip if ure gonna go with tape.

i have had the tape broken in the mains where it was cut by the tape slots in a hard crash.

round the bottom and top part of the slots with a file and reinfoce it with a small peice of tape on the part where it goes through the slots.

hope this helps
rc_square24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 10:32 PM   #5996
Tech Master
 
RCBuddha's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,835
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default Diff issue revisited

I think i found the part necessary to solve this diff issue....(this is assuming your using the AE diff Screw, nut and spring already)

For a few nights, i was trying to assemble my diff with the screw head and thrust bearing on one side, and the diff spring and nut on the other. The problem has been that the diff nut needed to be in a longer housing to fit into the long diff halve...

While randomly at the hobby shop, i found AE # 2330; "NTC3 ATD Diff-T Nut" which seems to be the right length to allow the diff to be built in the "Correct" manner.

The only problem? I was unable to pick up the part, and I'm unable to work on my R/C stuff for a while! Anyone wanna spend a few bucks and let us know how it works??? Here's how the diff should build:

http://download.teamassociated.com/p...rawing_tc3.pdf

Anyone else got the time and spare diff to try this out? Zombies? JDM?

My only fear is that it may interfere with the dog bone, but if it works....

Last edited by RCBuddha; 07-04-2004 at 11:05 PM.
RCBuddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 10:40 PM   #5997
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,320
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

It's just an opinion,and yes I've done "drifting" and found it to be quite boring..and not that hard to do..well not as hard as some make it out to be..
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 10:55 PM   #5998
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 992
Default

Quote:
Diff issue revisited
I think that nut is too long, if assemble like tc3. Isn't Associated Part#6575 would be better?

Last edited by Aku-Man; 07-04-2004 at 11:04 PM.
Aku-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 11:08 PM   #5999
Tech Master
 
RCBuddha's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,835
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Aku-Man
I think that nut is too long, if assemble like tc3. Isn't Associated Part#6575 would be better?
#6575 is what I tried originally, I found the nut housing was too short to be assembled like I have in the diagram of my above post. That is why I "Think" this new part may work better.
RCBuddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 11:13 PM   #6000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 992
Default

Quote:
#6575 is what I tried originally, I found the nut housing was too short to be assembled like I have in the diagram of my above post. That is why I "Think" this new part may work better.
I see. BTW, do you know is this part same size as Part#73501c page 14?

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...3&I=LXBME6&P=K
Aku-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:45 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0