R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-04-2004, 01:09 AM   #5956
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

I believe the stock chassis is 2.5mm.

The 3mm chassis has less flex which is good for carpet racing.
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 01:24 AM   #5957
Tech Master
 
azenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 1,478
Default

OK
I race on Asphalt though...
Will this be not good?

Also whats a good collection of gears to have in 48p to run the car with a stock motor and also a mod (I have a 14x2)
__________________
Nige
===========================================================
X-Ray T4 '14 | 3Racing Sakura D3 CS | Durango DEX410v4 | HPI Blitz | Tamiya WR-02 VW Bus
azenis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 01:27 AM   #5958
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

What stock motor do you run?
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 01:28 AM   #5959
Tech Master
 
azenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 1,478
Default

I cant see how flex can be a good thing on asphalt either? Make the suspension do its job better.
__________________
Nige
===========================================================
X-Ray T4 '14 | 3Racing Sakura D3 CS | Durango DEX410v4 | HPI Blitz | Tamiya WR-02 VW Bus
azenis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 01:32 AM   #5960
Tech Master
 
azenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 1,478
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DOMOisCOOL
What stock motor do you run?
I have not got the car yet, should be bere Tuesday, and it is coming with an Orion stock motor, called a "Chrome"
That is all I know about the motor. I dont know what spurs are coming with the car and I dont know if there will be any pinions with it...
__________________
Nige
===========================================================
X-Ray T4 '14 | 3Racing Sakura D3 CS | Durango DEX410v4 | HPI Blitz | Tamiya WR-02 VW Bus
azenis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 03:21 AM   #5961
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4
Default Tweak

Quote:
Originally posted by Aku-Man
Pro 4 modification for avoiding chassis tweak. See pic. What is that orange color? O-ring?

Looks like an O-Ring!
I guess it stops the screws from pinching the top deck.

Toby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 08:48 AM   #5962
Tech Fanatic
 
Frank McKinney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: A Yank in England
Posts: 755
Default

We used to do something similar on the rear screws of the pro 2 upper deck to add flex and rear grip to the car. Not sure how much good that will do with 8 other screws holding the upper deck on the Pro 4. I can't tell if that is Andy's car or not though.
__________________
Minimal signature to save screen space! Big sigs suX0r
Frank McKinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 08:58 AM   #5963
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

Morning Frank...
__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 09:39 AM   #5964
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DOMOisCOOL
Which one will be better in the long run?
The HPI one as eventually the supply of version 1 gears will dry up and PRP's brace will become useless.
Skill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 10:28 AM   #5965
Tech Elite
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Skill
The HPI one as eventually the supply of version 1 gears will dry up and PRP's brace will become useless.
I'm sure PRP can revise their brace.
JusBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 12:32 PM   #5966
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

I'm sure they will, but as it stands now the PRP brace will not fit the version 1.1 gears.
Skill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 01:58 PM   #5967
Tech Fanatic
 
Frank McKinney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: A Yank in England
Posts: 755
Default

'evening, Harry
__________________
Minimal signature to save screen space! Big sigs suX0r
Frank McKinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 02:09 PM   #5968
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,939
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Skill
The HPI one as eventually the supply of version 1 gears will dry up and PRP's brace will become useless.
It's definately not useless if you already have the brace, or have the ver. 1 gears stockpiled.. I have yet to break a gear with the PRP brace installed. I need to check and make sure I have some spares, as I plan to keep running the PRP brace.
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 02:16 PM   #5969
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Troy, sounds like the PRP brace is working good for you!

I haven't received the Pro 4 yet, but I saw some pics and it looks like it has a lot more electronics space than other touring cars. Is this true? And this is even with a standard servo (not the Futaba S9550).

What are some necessary hopups to get besides the gear brace?

Thanx
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 02:24 PM   #5970
Tech Champion
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,404
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

"I realise that but what i wanted to know is why is the 3mm thick chassis better suited to foam, as opposed to a 2mm chassis or the standard 2.5mm (isnt it?)
And If I ran the rubber tyres on the thicker chassis, will it not perform as well?"

I race with Kevin K a lot, he did the testing for the PRP chassis, whic is also 3mm. The chassis works everywhere,, rubber or foam, asphalt or carpet. A lot of Asian drivers seem to like a lot of chassis flex. But the American cars , like the TC3 or XXXS ar both very stiff and work on asphalt.

In other words you'll be fine.
__________________
A mutually re-enforcing cascade of failure

"Failior [sic] crowns enterprise." Robert Goddard

I-Lap Scoring Systems http://www.rclapcounter.com/
robk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:00 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0