R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-02-2004, 01:09 PM   #5941
Tech Fanatic
 
Frank McKinney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: A Yank in England
Posts: 755
Default Re: Re: RE: Shimming

Quote:
Originally posted by Pit-racer
How do we know if we got a new version or an old?
The new ring gears have a very thick outer edge on the side opposite the teeth (I think there are pictures on this forum for them), plus the newest kits include the aluminum backing plate.
__________________
Minimal signature to save screen space! Big sigs suX0r
Frank McKinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 04:45 PM   #5942
Tech Champion
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,019
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Re: RE: Shimming

Quote:
Originally posted by Frank McKinney
The new ring gears have a very thick outer edge on the side opposite the teeth (I think there are pictures on this forum for them), plus the newest kits include the aluminum backing plate.

Here ya go

-Dave
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ver 1[1].1 and regular gear.jpg (191.9 KB, 241 views)
__________________
Ȼ4.5 Centro+α ◊ ȻT4.5 Centro+α ◊ TRF 501ӽ ◊ TRF 502ӽs ◊ TRF 503 ◊ TRF 511 ◊ TRF 201ӽr ◊ TRF 211ӽ
B5m ◊ T5m ◊ B64d
Speedway PAL ◊ SDRC ◊ Shop UFO ◊ SMC
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 04:56 PM   #5943
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Does anyone have any setups for a tight/technical asphalt and low traction track?
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 05:42 PM   #5944
Tech Elite
 
Pit-racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cali/Texas
Posts: 2,241
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: RE: Shimming

Quote:
Originally posted by JDM_DOHC_SiR
Here ya go

-Dave
So the new one is on the right.
__________________
www.igthobbies.com / Serpent Cobra GT / 748 TQ / Serpent Eryx 3.0 / Desoto Racing / Veytrex.com / JZRacing / Flo-Control
Pit-racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 05:50 PM   #5945
Tech Champion
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,019
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: RE: Shimming

Quote:
Originally posted by Pit-racer
So the new one is on the right.
Nope new ones are on the left and old ones on the right
__________________
Ȼ4.5 Centro+α ◊ ȻT4.5 Centro+α ◊ TRF 501ӽ ◊ TRF 502ӽs ◊ TRF 503 ◊ TRF 511 ◊ TRF 201ӽr ◊ TRF 211ӽ
B5m ◊ T5m ◊ B64d
Speedway PAL ◊ SDRC ◊ Shop UFO ◊ SMC
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 08:01 PM   #5946
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 992
Default

Pro 4 modification for avoiding chassis tweak. See pic. What is that orange color? O-ring?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg euro04tc-pro4-mod.jpg (25.6 KB, 221 views)
Aku-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 10:55 PM   #5947
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,320
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

DOMO..It's called "the stock" set up.. No really,the stock set up works very well on the type of track your asking about,dont run the sway bars,try it,I run this set up and it works great..Aku Man..Does not look like that to me,the O rings are just on the steering posts,I dont think it would have much to do on the tweak "problem"..

Last edited by xxxkat; 07-03-2004 at 11:20 PM.
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 10:56 PM   #5948
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by xxxkat
DOMO..It's called "the stock" set up.. No really,the stock set up works very well on the type of track your asking about,dont run the sway bars,try it,
Is it the "instruction manual" setup?
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 11:18 PM   #5949
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,320
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Yes it is,I run this set up on a parking lot track,my car is so hooked up..I dont run the sway bars,I do run the oneway(I just have a hard time running a diff)But the car works,In fact the car works better than I can drive.. I'm just glad that no one else runs one at my local track..if they did I dont think I would win to much.. I would try the stock set up and make adjustments off of the base set up,The way I look at it is the sway bars take away rear traction(rear sway bar)and take away front steering(front sway bar) On a loose track some body roll(aka:weight transfer)is not a bad thing,you can also change how much droop you are running without messing with ride height or anything else,and you can can pick up some traction this way..as in running more droop,to get the car to transfer more weight,side to side..harder to explain..I'm not to sure if I'm explaining this..
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 11:23 PM   #5950
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Thanks for the explaination

I'll try this setup on Tuesday night and will let you know how it runs.

By the way, the Pro4 I bought from tomdav comes with a PRP 'Backplate'. I heard that an HPI version is coming out and should be more sturdier than the PRP one? Is the PRP one good enough to prevent breakage?

Thanx
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 11:59 PM   #5951
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

The PRP backing plate covers more of the gear and is much better than the HPI on version 1 gears. However, HPI have brought out some stronger gears called version 1.1, the PRP brace does not fit on these gears so you need the HPI for version 1.1 gears.
Skill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 12:12 AM   #5952
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Which one will be better in the long run?
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 12:28 AM   #5953
Tech Master
 
azenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 1,478
Default foam setup and 3mm chassis

Hi guys
I just bought a 2nd hand pro4 with bmi3mm chassis, apparantly this is designed for funning foam tyres.
Can anyone tell me if this will be any good for rubber tyres as well?
If not, why is it so?
Sorry, a bit of a newbie question, but I have never run foam tyres OR had a carbon fibre chassis before so I dont know.
Thanks
__________________
Nige
===========================================================
X-Ray T4 '14 | 3Racing Sakura D3 CS | Durango DEX410v4 | HPI Blitz | Tamiya WR-02 VW Bus
azenis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 12:33 AM   #5954
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Any car can be adapted to run foam/rubber tires.

For example, the Yokomo SD CGM. A lot of people run it on carpet, yet some guys ran it at the Reedy Race (asphalt).
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 12:42 AM   #5955
Tech Master
 
azenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 1,478
Default

I realise that but what i wanted to know is why is the 3mm thick chassis better suited to foam, as opposed to a 2mm chassis or the standard 2.5mm (isnt it?)
And If I ran the rubber tyres on the thicker chassis, will it not perform as well?
__________________
Nige
===========================================================
X-Ray T4 '14 | 3Racing Sakura D3 CS | Durango DEX410v4 | HPI Blitz | Tamiya WR-02 VW Bus
azenis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:10 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0