R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-01-2004, 07:34 PM   #5911
Tech Elite
 
Pit-racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cali/Texas
Posts: 2,241
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

75t 48p thanks. u running stock or mod? Also do you guys put a piece of tape or something to cover the bottom of the chassis, under the spur?
__________________
www.igthobbies.com / Serpent Cobra GT / 748 TQ / Serpent Eryx 3.0 / Desoto Racing / Veytrex.com / JZRacing / Flo-Control
Pit-racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 07:35 PM   #5912
Tech Elite
 
coastaltony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 2,585
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

M., good to see you on this thread!
__________________
Meucci pool cue collector
coastaltony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 07:40 PM   #5913
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 431
Default

I race stock but primarily 540 motors. I usually run a 72T spur.

I dont cover the bottom. Ive never had a need to and i'd think air flow in that areas is a good thing not a bad thing.

Cheers,

Mossie
Mossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 07:41 PM   #5914
Tech Master
 
azenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 1,478
Default

What is the standard spur gear type? I will need to get some tomorrow morning as my car should be here early next week. What size spur and pinion should I run with a stock motor, a 540, a sport tuned tamiya and a 14x2 does anyone know?
__________________
Nige
===========================================================
X-Ray T4 '14 | 3Racing Sakura D3 CS | Durango DEX410v4 | HPI Blitz | Tamiya WR-02 VW Bus
azenis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 07:46 PM   #5915
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 431
Default

540 - 70T spur 44 rollout
Stock - 72T spur 28 rollout

ohers i dont know.

You can calculate pinion sizes from www.rollout.com

These are just estimates and will change depending on tracks.

Im pretty sure all spurs fit.

Hope this helps.

cheers,

Mossie
Mossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 07:52 PM   #5916
Tech Master
 
azenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 1,478
Default

Thanks Mossie
I havent got the Pro4 yet, and i dont know if i will get any pinions with it. I only have the .06 module ones for my TA04S tamiya, so i want to go get a few for the Pro4 tomorrow, but I dont know what pitch to get either, what is the pitch of the standard spur?
__________________
Nige
===========================================================
X-Ray T4 '14 | 3Racing Sakura D3 CS | Durango DEX410v4 | HPI Blitz | Tamiya WR-02 VW Bus
azenis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 07:53 PM   #5917
Tech Elite
 
Pit-racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cali/Texas
Posts: 2,241
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

That site seems not to work for me.
__________________
www.igthobbies.com / Serpent Cobra GT / 748 TQ / Serpent Eryx 3.0 / Desoto Racing / Veytrex.com / JZRacing / Flo-Control
Pit-racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 07:59 PM   #5918
Tech Master
 
azenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 1,478
Default

it says the domain name is for sale?
__________________
Nige
===========================================================
X-Ray T4 '14 | 3Racing Sakura D3 CS | Durango DEX410v4 | HPI Blitz | Tamiya WR-02 VW Bus
azenis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 08:01 PM   #5919
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 431
Default

standard spur is 64P. The Pro4 doesnt come with any pinions. I swapped to 64P cos I was forever stripping spurs. Where I race its a little bit bumpy so 48P is more efficient.

Sorry Pit racer my apologies I gave the wrong address www.gearchart.com

Cheers,

Mossie
Mossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 01:25 AM   #5920
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,939
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rc-zombies
Don't know..here's the specs to the Twister..
http://www.hotbodiesonline.net/04reedyrace.html

I've had very bad experience with the quantums...mine went up in smoke after 2 runs... will never buy one again. I've had my twister since the Pro4 was released...and not a single problem. I also have the handheld setting adapter as well as the PC adapter... you can program different frequencies in 32 steps.
ditto...

mine poofed out of the package, then after being rebuilt, it poofed again after a couple runs - it would poof smoke out proportional to the amount of throttle given.

I paid $30+ to have it fixed the second time, the first time I sent it back with Mike Reedy after the Novak race. It works now, thus far.
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 01:56 AM   #5921
Tech Fanatic
 
Entropy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 965
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by X-Garage
RC-Zombies

Does this Twister Speed Control has the same spec. as Quantum 2?
The Twister is a KO VFS.
Entropy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 02:37 AM   #5922
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Herts/Essex UK
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pro4_chris
hi Rich_p: have you got the newer copper shims

Z891 WASHER 10x12x0.1mm (COPPER/10pcs)

No I hadnt seen those, do they make a differance?

Are they any think or are they just less likely to kink like the standard ones can do?
Rich_p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 03:06 AM   #5923
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 992
Default

Quote:
No I hadnt seen those, do they make a differance?

Are they any think or are they just less likely to kink like the standard ones can do?
Newer kit come with updated manual and that new copper shim.
Aku-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 03:20 AM   #5924
Tech Fanatic
 
Frank McKinney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: A Yank in England
Posts: 755
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Aku-Man
Newer kit come with updated manual and that new copper shim.
And the new gears and the aluminum backing plate IIRC.
__________________
Minimal signature to save screen space! Big sigs suX0r
Frank McKinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 03:24 AM   #5925
Tech Initiate
 
pro4_chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: England
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
No I hadnt seen those, do they make a differance? Are they any think or are they just less likely to kink like the standard ones can do?
hi Rich_p : yeah they do make a slight difference as they are slightly thinner than the std ones allowing more fine tuning of the backlash of the diff. and if anything because they are thinner they kink easier than the std ones.
pro4_chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:04 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0