R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-15-2004, 05:01 AM   #5536
Tech Fanatic
 
Entropy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 965
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JDM_DOHC_SiR
I See
Actually we LOVE everyone... even blue boys...
Entropy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 05:37 AM   #5537
Tech Elite
 
VenomWorldOrder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: www.RCunderground.net
Posts: 4,063
Default rEAR SHIMMING

ay pro4 dudes i'm running a hacker 6t with a comp esc and i'm experiencing rear crown gear strippage. i know it requires correct shimming so all mod drivers (8 turners and less i guess) can you tell me how/were and how many shims you run on your rear case bearings. please pm and post the answer as i don't often check the pro4 thread anymore.....i'm out racing.

so far i am running 4 shims in total. 2 infront of the shim closest to the spur gear and then another 2 straight after the bearing spacer on the case.

PLEASE PM ANSWER.
VenomWorldOrder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 06:47 AM   #5538
Tech Elite
 
kewdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sneederville, USA
Posts: 3,272
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Re: rEAR SHIMMING

Quote:
Originally posted by VenomWorldOrder
ay pro4 dudes i'm running a hacker 6t with a comp esc and i'm experiencing rear crown gear strippage. i know it requires correct shimming so all mod drivers (8 turners and less i guess) can you tell me how/were and how many shims you run on your rear case bearings. please pm and post the answer as i don't often check the pro4 thread anymore.....i'm out racing.

so far i am running 4 shims in total. 2 infront of the shim closest to the spur gear and then another 2 straight after the bearing spacer on the case.

PLEASE PM ANSWER.
Shim according to the manual and you'll be good to go. Also, the manual setting keeps the drivetrain "free".
__________________
Quinn Moon

Trinity / Epic / Revtech / VBC Racing USA / Mugen Seiki / Hot Race Tyres / SkyRocket Racing / SUPAFAST RC
kewdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 06:55 PM   #5539
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,549
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Default

Any news on arms and hubs becoming available in the "U.S."??
RBLove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 07:14 PM   #5540
Tech Adept
 
S15Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Knob Noster MO
Posts: 130
Default

Hey guys I'm in a bit of a predicament here. The kit comes in tomorrow, and I dont have a tap. I looked all over the place today and no one around here has a stupid 3mm tap! I found 4mm taps, 5mm, 40 peice sets with a 3mm, but not just an individual 3mm. My question is, well actually I have 2. First of all, do I really need a tap? If I just put some muscle behind it could I manage without one? And second, is there a standard sized equivelent that I could use instead? Cause I do have access to a set of standard sized taps that might work, but Im not positive.
S15Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 07:17 PM   #5541
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 992
Default

never use standard on metric.

Tower Hobbies have 3mm tap.
Aku-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 07:18 PM   #5542
Tech Elite
 
coastaltony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 2,585
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by
S15Racer

Hey guys I'm in a bit of a
predicament here. The kit comes in
tomorrow, and I dont have a tap. I
looked all over the place today and no
one around here has a stupid 3mm tap!
I found 4mm taps, 5mm, 40 peice sets
with a 3mm, but not just an individual
3mm. My question is, well actually I
have 2. First of all, do I
really need a tap? If I just
put some muscle behind it could I
manage without one? And second, is
there a standard sized equivelent that
I could use instead? Cause I do have
access to a set of standard sized taps
that might work, but Im not positive.
Be VERY careful with a 3mm tap, IF you find one. The droop screws will be sloppy, you want them TIGHT.
__________________
Meucci pool cue collector
coastaltony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 07:23 PM   #5543
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via Yahoo to Doug Gaut
Default

You dont need a tap. In the directions it says to use the supplied grease (red cap) on the screws to help in installation. It worked as described. Have fun building!
Doug Gaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 07:30 PM   #5544
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 248
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RBLove
Any news on arms and hubs becoming available in the "U.S."??
Just order them from rainbowten by EMS and they're at your door in 5 days. If you order enough parts it's cheaper. And they have all the hopups out so far.
Downforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 07:45 PM   #5545
Tech Adept
 
S15Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Knob Noster MO
Posts: 130
Default

I guess I 'll put the standard set away and just go with the grease then, thanks for the advice guys.

btw doug, where were you last saturday?
S15Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 07:48 PM   #5546
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 992
Default

Quote:
I guess I 'll put the standard set away and just go with the grease then, thanks for the advice guys.
Make sure you wear glove because your hand is going to hurt.
Aku-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 07:56 PM   #5547
Tech Adept
 
S15Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Knob Noster MO
Posts: 130
Default

thanks...
S15Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 08:10 PM   #5548
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 121
Default

does anybody know if there are aluminum diff halves available yet?
SCHMACHER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 08:21 PM   #5549
Tech Addict
 
rc_square24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 674
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

is the foam setup for the gate in the back of the manual a good starting point for most carpet tracks?

Thanks
rc_square24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 09:12 PM   #5550
Tech Champion
 
Kevin K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a land of mini-mighty mental giants
Posts: 8,754
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Kevin K Send a message via Yahoo to Kevin K
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rc_square24
is the foam setup for the gate in the back of the manual a good starting point for most carpet tracks?

Thanks
I have had good luck with it as a base line setup so I would start with that one.
__________________
2013 USVTA World Champion of the World
MOTIV RC presents the Midwest All-Star Carpet Series....14th year running 2016/17!!!
USVTA National Championship....check it out!!!
Im only responsible for what I say NOT what you understand.
Kevin K is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:19 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0