R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-31-2004, 06:24 PM   #5101
Tech Elite
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AWOLsoldier
pm me what spares you have, i might be interested.
PM sent
Turbo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 08:17 PM   #5102
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via Yahoo to Doug Gaut
Default

Any interest in a two month old B4?
Doug Gaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 09:56 PM   #5103
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3 racer sc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: lancaster sc near charlotte nc
Posts: 921
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Erik Shauver
Back to the good stuff!

Thad had an awesome setup from the Reedy ROC!!! As soon as I get back to work I'll throw it up here. It was the setup Hara ended up using to get his 23 lap run. Andy Moore was running a similar setup, and was ballistic, but had a ton of racing luck (the bad kind ).

Anyone else have a good weekend of racing?

-E
please give us the set up of hara and thads plse and also whn the a-arms going to be distributed agin none at tower and other hobbystore im redy to run full throttle it been a mth now
tc3 racer sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 10:03 PM   #5104
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3 racer sc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: lancaster sc near charlotte nc
Posts: 921
Default need a good stock setup

hi need a good stock set up on ashalpt shock, etc camber link and spacer , posted a while bck nver heard any thing
tc3 racer sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 10:46 PM   #5105
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,320
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

I have been the stock set up and I'm hooked up on med. traction asphalt,Have you tried the set up from the book??
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 10:49 PM   #5106
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3 racer sc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: lancaster sc near charlotte nc
Posts: 921
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by xxxkat
I have been the stock set up and I'm hooked up on med. traction asphalt,Have you tried the set up from the book??
that set up is for modified right
tc3 racer sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 11:24 PM   #5107
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via Yahoo to Doug Gaut
Default

The book setup is pretty dialed for stock racing.
Doug Gaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 11:28 PM   #5108
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via Yahoo to Doug Gaut
Default

What ever happened to RCBuddha? He always had great info to share!!
Doug Gaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 12:31 AM   #5109
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,803
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by Doug Gaut
What ever happened to RCBuddha? He always had great info to share!!


JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 11:24 AM   #5110
Tech Elite
 
kewdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sneederville, USA
Posts: 3,272
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Re: need a good stock setup

Quote:
Originally posted by tc3 racer sc
hi need a good stock set up on ashalpt shock, etc camber link and spacer , posted a while bck nver heard any thing
The box set-up is really good w/ foams( plaid or cyan up front and tan in the rear) on asphalt. If, you're gonna run mod - on medium to high bite asphalt, use spring weights from 17.5 - 25 lbs. (Xray Ultimate springs L. blue, Blue and D. Blue, respectively). You can use TC3 or Hpi springs to get in the ball park of the spring rates. Also, depending on traction and roughness of surface, you may want to use the lightest swaybar(copper) on the rear. Good luck!
__________________
Quinn Moon

Trinity / Epic / Revtech / VBC Racing USA / Mugen Seiki / Hot Race Tyres / SkyRocket Racing / SUPAFAST RC
kewdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 02:41 PM   #5111
Tech Master
 
RCBuddha's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,837
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Doug Gaut
What ever happened to RCBuddha? He always had great info to share!!
Still here guys....I've been super busy the last two or three months, but i still surf around on rctech.....

The box setup works well for stock, but i prefer a stiffer setup for mod. Lately, i've been playing around with no swaybars, and its been working pretty well with red/blue springs.

Knock on wood, three months without a gear strippage/breakage...

I've also been testing with a ball diff in the front, and i've found the car STILL has a healthy amount of steering. However, the one-way is still faster for me.

One new tip: Make sure you keep your bellcranks on the tighter side, it'll keep the steering more precise, and keep the car tracking straight.

Two problems though: I'm getting some serious tweak in the chassis after running the car. I've tried various things to fix it, but for the life of me, I cant keep the car going straight down the straightaway!

Second Problem: I'm now suffering from "Diff come loose" initis.....Its not terrible, but having to readjust my diff after each run is getting annoying...

@ Erik S or Thad,

Any solutions / hints?

Last edited by RCBuddha; 06-01-2004 at 02:48 PM.
RCBuddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 02:46 PM   #5112
Tech Elite
 
JDXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,802
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to JDXray
Default

Erik i have the same problem, i think the chassis was tweaked when you were building it. I think they say that it can happen when you build your kit, that the chassis is prone to tweak. i can keep my car straight, i have to play aroung with steering alot. But overall i have the same question as you, does anyone know how to fix this?
JDXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 02:52 PM   #5113
Tech Master
 
RCBuddha's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,837
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JDXray
Erik i have the same problem, i think the chassis was tweaked when you were building it. I think they say that it can happen when you build your kit, that the chassis is prone to tweak. i can keep my car straight, i have to play aroung with steering alot. But overall i have the same question as you, does anyone know how to fix this?
names not Erik, was trying to get his attention....

When I first built my kit, the chassis was fine, it had no problems with fitting the upperdeck. My thinking is that some of the screws may have worn their holes in the upper or lower decks, putting a slight tweak into it, since you have to remove the entire top portion of the car to get to the diffs....

craig (that's my real name...just like in my sig.... )
RCBuddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 03:02 PM   #5114
Tech Elite
 
JDXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,802
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to JDXray
Default

lol my bad craig i was just reading it fast, and saw Erik at the bottom.

Ya getting those diffs are a big pain, and i usually have to get to them alot.

Also my question is: My diffs keep getting loose and whenever i tighten them they just get loose again. Do i need new ones? I will go ahead an try the car right now and see if it spinning out/over spinning.
JDXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 03:08 PM   #5115
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JDXray
lol my bad craig i was just reading it fast, and saw Erik at the bottom.

Ya getting those diffs are a big pain, and i usually have to get to them alot.

Also my question is: My diffs keep getting loose and whenever i tighten them they just get loose again. Do i need new ones? I will go ahead an try the car right now and see if it spinning out/over spinning.
use the diff spring, nut and screw from the TC3...this will help eliminate the diffs from coming loose...
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:14 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0