R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-23-2004, 02:23 PM   #4891
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,820
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default Re: Re: motor mount

Quote:
Originally posted by AWOLsoldier
I bought my pro 4 second hand and the guy that owned it before me chopped the ends off to open up the motor mounts so you can just slide the motor on with the screws attatched. Doesn't look real slick but it works.
i use a ball ended allen key and the motor goes in really easy, no probs with not getting the screw in straight.

raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 02:37 PM   #4892
Tech Master
 
rod_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Covina CA
Posts: 1,033
Send a message via AIM to rod_b
Default Re: Re: motor mount

Quote:
Originally posted by AWOLsoldier
I bought my pro 4 second hand and the guy that owned it before me chopped the ends off to open up the motor mounts so you can just slide the motor on with the screws attatched. Doesn't look real slick but it works.
I'm actually suprised that they didn't originally make the mounts like this...with the ends open so you could just slide the motor in. I guess it could get tweaked if it was that way.
rod_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 02:46 PM   #4893
Tech Master
 
Super Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,177
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Super Steve
Default

I also use a ball end drive for the motor and it works like a charm!
Super Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 02:49 PM   #4894
Tech Elite
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Re: motor mount

Quote:
Originally posted by rod_b
I'm actually suprised that they didn't originally make the mounts like this...with the ends open so you could just slide the motor in. I guess it could get tweaked if it was that way.
tweaked? I don't see how unless you had a massive crash to force that kind of extreme leverage on the mounts. I think HPI has a new heatsink style mount out anyway, i'll probably just replace it with that.
JusBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 02:56 PM   #4895
Tech Master
 
onnetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,727
Default

I just ran my pro 4 for the first time. and I can say I dont care too much for the one way. I have a reedy ti 10x3 for a motor and couldnt even come close to putting the power down and stay under control. I ran it with the setup from the manual on dusty asphalt. it was slip and slide everywhere.
after a couple minutes it got real twitchy and I thought it was just me, but the servo saver was loose allowing play in the steering. got that sorted out but any suggestions to help with putting the breaks on and not throwing the rear end around?
I do have an lrp 7.1 so I can adjust the break to be a little softer.
onnetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 03:25 PM   #4896
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 20,906
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

You might like it better with a front diff on the dusty track or maybe use a spool in the front so you can get most of the advantages of the one way but have brakes
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005)
Bumps & Jumps RC (One of the best racing facilities around)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC) Great aluminum upgrades for many brands.
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around). Too many titles to list
Shout out to: Sticky Kicks, CR Graphics and Race Ready Products
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 03:44 PM   #4897
Tech Elite
 
JDXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,802
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to JDXray
Default

My pro 4 is kinda twitchy, i need some help on correcting that. I have an M8 radio which might be the reason, can someone tell me there setup on there M8 (if you have one) to make it stop.

Thanks

Jon
JDXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 03:50 PM   #4898
Tech Master
 
Super Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,177
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Super Steve
Default

You can change the EXP so when you are close to neutral, steering input is very little and you get alot of high end control...

Anyways,
I found some springs.
Can anyone let me know if they are any good?

They certainly look shorter
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXXG75&P=0
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXCYC0&P=0


Dual springs set ups but I dunno where to get the middle part
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXPU90&P=0
Super Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 03:53 PM   #4899
Tech Elite
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Aku-Man
I still have 3 more package coming.
where did you order from?
JusBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 04:00 PM   #4900
Tech Elite
 
JDXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,802
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to JDXray
Default

Super Steve- Dont those springs look kinda short.
JDXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 04:00 PM   #4901
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,820
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AWOLsoldier
where did you order from?
maybe a shop that sells the....just a thought
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 04:03 PM   #4902
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 992
Default

I order overseas from Champ, Precisionrc, RC Model, and etc..... Whoever have them in stock.
Aku-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 04:39 PM   #4903
Tech Master
 
onnetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,727
Default

any recommendations for a front diff?
or just go with the same as in the rear.
onnetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 04:46 PM   #4904
Tech Elite
 
JDXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,802
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to JDXray
Default

as long as you are not running a big track stick with a regular diff, if you are on big track get a one-way.
JDXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 05:00 PM   #4905
Tech Master
 
onnetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,727
Default

thanks.. I will go with the regular diff then.
unfortunately there are no tracks around here for about a hundred miles, so I'm banished to parking lot racing..
its a shame to have such a sweet tc and not have a place to really run it.
I'd love to try it out on carpet.
onnetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:28 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0