R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-12-2004, 03:59 PM   #4561
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AWOLsoldier
Has anyone used spacers other than the ones in the kit for the pivot blocks? All I have are two silver pieces so I was thinking to use some spacers from my R2. They're large round washers in various thicknesses. I don't think it'll cause any issues but any comments on this?
as long as they fit...I don't see any problems...
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2004, 04:03 PM   #4562
Tech Master
 
RCBuddha's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,836
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AWOLsoldier
Has anyone used spacers other than the ones in the kit for the pivot blocks? All I have are two silver pieces so I was thinking to use some spacers from my R2. They're large round washers in various thicknesses. I don't think it'll cause any issues but any comments on this?
Yup, you can use spacers like the ones for the inner camber links. However, the blocks have a tendency to shift in a crash when you use these types of spacers. I used to use round spacers on my 414m2....That's probably why they used square spacers.

Last edited by RCBuddha; 05-12-2004 at 04:17 PM.
RCBuddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2004, 04:11 PM   #4563
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: peach tree
Posts: 20
Default drive shaft binds in drive cups.

i help build a pro4 for a friend last night and i noticed that the end of the shafts were binding in the drive cups. has anyone one have this problem or am i doing something? will the problem wear out after a few runs? any ideas?
peachpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2004, 04:12 PM   #4564
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Re: drive shaft binds in drive cups.

Quote:
Originally posted by peachpie
i help build a pro4 for a friend last night and i noticed that the end of the shafts were binding in the drive cups. has anyone one have this problem or am i doing something? will the problem wear out after a few runs? any ideas?
Break in the drive train and that should loosen it up... if it's still binding...double check the input shafts, shimming etc. etc.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2004, 04:38 PM   #4565
Tech Elite
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RCBuddha
Yup, you can use spacers like the ones for the inner camber links. However, the blocks have a tendency to shift in a crash when you use these types of spacers. I used to use round spacers on my 414m2....That's probably why they used square spacers.
Yah I figured it might shift a bit in a crash but that's the least of my worries if I have that big a wreck. Until I get the block set it'll have to do. On another note, where do you guys get your servo cases? Since the servo is on the other side on this new car, the wrong ears are cut off. It's a KO 2173.
JusBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2004, 04:40 PM   #4566
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,939
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AWOLsoldier
Yah I figured it might shift a bit in a crash but that's the least of my worries if I have that big a wreck. Until I get the block set it'll have to do. On another note, where do you guys get your servo cases? Since the servo is on the other side on this new car, the wrong ears are cut off. It's a KO 2173.
AWOL - I cut the wrong ear off ( got distracted while building it ). I just used a Losi xxx-s servo mount for the top screw hole on the other side of the chassis, and then cut the CORRECT ear off, and used the HPI mount on that side.

You have to cut the little nub off the bottom of the Losi mount.
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2004, 04:46 PM   #4567
Tech Master
 
RCBuddha's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,836
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

awol, try this link:

http://www.shopatron.com/product/pro....605.496.0.0.0
RCBuddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2004, 04:47 PM   #4568
Tech Master
 
Super Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,177
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Super Steve
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by coastaltony
Lets try a pic of a black Trinity TC3 bumper
Isn't that foam bumper almost the same size as the stocker?
Super Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2004, 04:54 PM   #4569
Tech Elite
 
coastaltony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 2,585
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I just got a NEW diff kit #75141, a few pairs of diff outdrive rings, pivot block spacer sets, and bevel gears.
__________________
Meucci pool cue collector
coastaltony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2004, 05:15 PM   #4570
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via Yahoo to Doug Gaut
Default

I used to use the shims that came in the trinity kinwald suspension shim kit on my Losi to adjust the roll centers. There are various thicknesses of washers and fit perfectly under the mounts. They will allow us to fine tune if needed. Thats how I was able to get the .5mm antidive till I got the shim kit from HPI.
Doug Gaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2004, 05:17 PM   #4571
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TSR6
AWOL - I cut the wrong ear off ( got distracted while building it ). ......
See what happens when you start letting girl into your dorm room...
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2004, 05:32 PM   #4572
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,939
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rc-zombies
See what happens when you start letting girl into your dorm room...
No kidding..
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2004, 06:01 PM   #4573
Tech Elite
 
JDXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,802
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to JDXray
Default Question

My question is, how do prevent the batteries from falling out when taking a big hit?
I am using the battery strap as of now. Should I use tape?
I was going to try putting a screw or something on the side of the chassis where there are holes, so they stay in. Is that a good idea?

Thanks

Jon
JDXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2004, 06:16 PM   #4574
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,939
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

First thing, make sure you have your slots filed down so it holds the cells side-to-side.

Then, if you still think you need more support, this is what I did.

The "stick pack" braces will not fit, so I took some old ball cups, chopped it so it was as tall as the battery brace ( chop the ball off ) - then cut it down the center where the turnbucle goes in. Grab an extra screw, and use the countersunk holes in the chassis.

see picture if my explaination left you totally confuesed
Attached Images
File Type: gif batterybrace.gif (3.6 KB, 172 views)
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2004, 06:23 PM   #4575
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via Yahoo to Doug Gaut
Default

Tape is easier and lighter.
Doug Gaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:25 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0