R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-07-2004, 02:36 PM   #4411
Tech Elite
 
OSherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: o0O In the FishBowl O0o
Posts: 3,151
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rc_square24
sorry guys...the motor mount i was talkin about
i am guessing it is to prevent the chance of chassis weak...
__________________
•KO Propo America
•EXOTEK
OSherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2004, 02:40 PM   #4412
Tech Elite
 
rtypec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,957
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

The Evo3 has a similar motor mount. I was told that it helps prevent/limit torque steer from the motor.
rtypec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2004, 05:26 PM   #4413
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,820
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by OSherman
i am guessing it is to prevent the chance of chassis weak...
yes but more things fixed to the chassis...wont that in a way make the chassis stiffer as it cant flex as much in different ways.
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2004, 06:45 PM   #4414
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,320
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

So does the Pro4 still blow chunks..of ring & pinion gears if you hit anything with a oneway installed or has someone found a fix for this "little" problem..
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2004, 08:08 PM   #4415
Tech Addict
 
rc_square24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 674
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Team PRP makes a brace that goes on top of the bevel gear in the front, heard that no more gears broke after having installed. preordered mine
other then that, definately recommend this car to you, one of the best you can get.
rc_square24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2004, 08:15 PM   #4416
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,320
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Have 2 of them already,they tried that with the evo III and it did not really work,I was hoping for something like what the cuda uses..a well designed oneway.I like the rest of the car(well not the chassis tweak problems)but other than hard to get parts it's been a ..car..
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2004, 08:29 PM   #4417
Tech Regular
 
morosis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 315
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default Which Rims to Run

I've been racing the Pro 4 for a few weeks and just love this car. My only problem is my HPI (dish)or Take-off rims seem to rub on the shock ends and camber linkage ball cups. What does everyone one else run for rims. Or should I bite the bullet and just move the ball cups in like I did with the shocks.
__________________
Scott W.
morosis@msn.com
Kyosho - Associated - Checkpoint - Spectrum - Cruzan - Patron
morosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2004, 08:42 PM   #4418
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tri-cities, wa.
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to willdp
Default

morosis shave the cups off thats what i did it seems to be working.
will
willdp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2004, 08:52 PM   #4419
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tri-cities, wa.
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to willdp
Default

i talked to hara at the worlds warm up race he told me that hpi is working on a new chassis that is tweek free. the man freekin drive .
later will
willdp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2004, 08:53 PM   #4420
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,939
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by xxxkat
Have 2 of them already,they tried that with the evo III and it did not really work
I've seen Penquin's Evo gear brace, and it's just a graphite plate. The PRP brace is machined from AL, and fits the whole profile of the gear all the way out to the edge. This removes flex from the gear, and I still have not chipped a single tooth after running with it for a long time now. Sure, It's probably still possible to toast a gear - as with any car, but for a majority of the hits, I really feel the PRP brace will work. I've had enough hard on-power hits to convince me!

I've also had a couple Tamiya guys at my track say that their gear problem isn't entirely the issue, and something with the shaft also is. I don't have the car, so I really don't know.

morosis - The only time I saw a problem with running the shock in the outer bottom hole would be if the Take Off wheel was slightly bent. A new set didn't rub for me, but I moved it to the middle hole anyways.

For the top ball cup, I just shaved it down with a dremel, just enough for clearance. You could also remove some material from the Take off wheels, I did that with one set, just rounded the corner off which also gave it clearance for the shock & ballcup.
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2004, 08:54 PM   #4421
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Michal101
Pops,

I had the same problems, so I mounted my receiver on top of my servo and the problem vanished. Since the receiver is so small it did not have an ill effects.

Mike
I hated to resort to mounting on top of the servo with so much room for everything on the Chassis.
Hopefully with the re-arranging of the electronics, it will be better this weekend.

Thanks,
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2004, 09:12 PM   #4422
Tech Addict
 
chappi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 516
Trader Rating: 17 (95%+)
question on Spur gear changing

I want to know how many screws need to remove from the chassis for me to take out the spur gear and change it?

and can anyone please tell me what is the procdure of doing it?
chappi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2004, 10:04 PM   #4423
Tech Master
 
lazyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Franklin,WI
Posts: 1,536
Send a message via AIM to lazyboy
Default Re: question on Spur gear changing

Quote:
Originally posted by chappi
I want to know how many screws need to remove from the chassis for me to take out the spur gear and change it?

and can anyone please tell me what is the procdure of doing it?
just go to HPI web page and DL it from them. it takes like two seconds and it makes it easier on us so that we dont have to explain it

lazy
__________________
Random Guy
FT B4
Sponsored by Axiom Motors
Trackside hobbies
lazyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2004, 10:26 PM   #4424
Tech Addict
 
chappi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 516
Trader Rating: 17 (95%+)
Default

Quote:
just go to HPI web page and DL it from them. it takes like two seconds and it makes it easier on us so that we dont have to explain it
I have DL and read the manuel. But on Page 16, step 16, the diagram show that we need to use the screw Z355 to screw through 73511(plastic parts) and then screw on the upper level of the gear case.

then the diagram shown, we put the upper-level case on top of the bottom-level gear case. So I am wondering does the screw Z355 actually screw on both the upper & bottom gear case, or just only the upper gear case!?
chappi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2004, 10:36 PM   #4425
Tech Elite
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by chappi
I have DL and read the manuel. But on Page 16, step 16, the diagram show that we need to use the screw Z355 to screw through 73511(plastic parts) and then screw on the upper level of the gear case.

then the diagram shown, we put the upper-level case on top of the bottom-level gear case. So I am wondering does the screw Z355 actually screw on both the upper & bottom gear case, or just only the upper gear case!?
you reading the right manual??? there is no step 16 on page 16, at least when you download page 16 of the pro 4 manual from hpiracing.com.
JusBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:28 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0