R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-03-2004, 07:13 PM   #4291
Tech Master
 
lazyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Franklin,WI
Posts: 1,536
Send a message via AIM to lazyboy
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NVisible
losi and its crap? what kinda crap? (thinking of going pro4 myself)
like the internal shock limiters and stuff when running stk foam etc.

lazy
__________________
Random Guy
FT B4
Sponsored by Axiom Motors
Trackside hobbies
lazyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2004, 07:37 PM   #4292
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sportracer

pops have you tried a different set of crystals how fresh is your motor had the cap go bad on one of mine and that gave me problems.
3 different sets of crystals. The original set seemed to work the best.

The MS was freshly rebuilt (and broken in). This EXACT same Motor came out of my Pro-3 and was working perfectly before the transplant.
I have seen other peoples boards with bad caps and the caps usually look discolored to me. Mine look normal.

Guys;

I re-mounted everything with 2 pieces of servo tape, put the RX on it's side, right next to the servo.

Also picked up the GT-7 harness, as it was only a few bucks. I'll try it if the other mods don't help.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2004, 07:55 PM   #4293
Tech Master
 
Super Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,177
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Super Steve
Default

I think popsracer has alot of bad luck when it comes to pro 4...
Super Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2004, 08:02 PM   #4294
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via Yahoo to Doug Gaut
Default

Popsracer, I have 4 monsters and three of them do the same thing. GLITCH and at the same spots on the track. I have moved my electronics all over the car, even put the receiver on top of the servo. With the three older ones I still get a glitch. With the new one the car is fine as well as no glitches with any of the mods I have ran from 9t to 12t motors. The only thing I have not tried is pulling the internal caps and putting external caps on the motors. I am running a GT7 along with both small and large diodes on the motor. I have ran a V10R also and had no glitches so it has something to do with the monsters for some reason.
Doug Gaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2004, 08:03 PM   #4295
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 20,904
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

I think the Pro3 even if a graphite version (tub type composite chassis) is a little different than the Pro4 with the woven graphite. The Pro 3 is less likely to glitch for that reason. Composite chassis's seem to glitch a little less than the a non composite chassis like the Pro4.

I know when I ran all my Shumacher touring cars if they had the stock non carbon chassis on I never gltiched but as soon as I went to all carbon fiber chassis setup I would glitch.

That might by why you gltich with the Pro4.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005)
Bumps & Jumps RC (One of the best racing facilities around)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC) Great aluminum upgrades for many brands.
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around). Too many titles to list
Shout out to: Sticky Kicks, CR Graphics and Race Ready Products
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2004, 08:05 PM   #4296
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 20,904
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Monster motors are known to glitch and the internal capacitor setups do go bad. Have had alot of that alos at our track.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005)
Bumps & Jumps RC (One of the best racing facilities around)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC) Great aluminum upgrades for many brands.
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around). Too many titles to list
Shout out to: Sticky Kicks, CR Graphics and Race Ready Products
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2004, 10:31 PM   #4297
Tech Master
 
cHckbOY5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 1,033
Send a message via AIM to cHckbOY5
Default

im building the servo saver, is the spring suppose to be that hard, i feel like its not gonna save the servo
cHckbOY5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2004, 10:37 PM   #4298
Tech Master
 
RCBuddha's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,835
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by S15Racer
I've got three of those bad boys -awesome packs!

RCBuddha: that pack in the pic there costs $49.99, its the same level as the ones I have, how much were your batts?
I won't quote prices here in the forum, but just click on the fukuyama link in my signature....ask for Dan, and tell him Buddha sent ya. They have free shipping for orders over 100 bucks....a very good deal...
RCBuddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2004, 10:37 PM   #4299
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 182
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

the springs supposed to slide up into the plastic thing above it if it hasnt seated properly it would make it feel like its not going to do much
syntex1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2004, 10:43 PM   #4300
Tech Master
 
RCBuddha's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,835
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default Hara's battery configuration

Looking at Hara's car, he has the same wiring configuration that I do, with the positive tab towards the rear. Looking closer at the picture, he is also using the same discharge tray that I use as well. Very interesting...

Raving-Monkey,

it makes no real difference whether your battery is configured like mine or the other way. as long as it works with your discharge tray, it should be fine.
RCBuddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2004, 11:43 PM   #4301
Tech Elite
 
eeyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: California
Posts: 3,944
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to eeyan Send a message via Yahoo to eeyan
Default Re: Hara's battery configuration

Quote:
Originally posted by RCBuddha
Looking at Hara's car, he has the same wiring configuration that I do, with the positive tab towards the rear. Looking closer at the picture, he is also using the same discharge tray that I use as well. Very interesting...
I have a feeling you'll be winning the next race you enter too much like HARA... GOOD LUCK!
__________________
TAOB Racing Team (1999 - 2011)
eeyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2004, 01:09 AM   #4302
Tech Rookie
 
NKriptD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8
Default

I think I either want a Pro4 or an Xray FK. Okay all you HPI guys tell me why I should get the Pro4!
NKriptD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2004, 02:44 AM   #4303
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 431
Default Screw Set

Hi does anyone know a sight where I can buy a screw set for a Pro4, titanium or other except rcmodel.

On another matter does anyone know where I can buy sorex tires from?

Cheers,

Mossie
Mossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2004, 02:51 AM   #4304
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 431
Default

Has anyone run a monstor stock pro in the Pro4 on a large ashpalt track. What 48P pinion/spur combination did you use?

Cheers,

Mossie
Mossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2004, 07:41 AM   #4305
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 182
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

i run a monster in pro 4 on a farily open track i gear from around 6.1 to 6.33 i switched to 64 pitch but i think in 48 dp 75 and 29 would be close
syntex1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:45 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0