R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-21-2004, 10:07 AM   #3781
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,939
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RC Driver Gary
If a hack like troy can keep his drivetraine together, it should be just fine for the rest of us "non-hammers" out there.
At least I can build a car without breaking diff cases.

....and rubbin is racin'

__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 11:12 AM   #3782
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Actually, Walter did it...Or Erich..when reassembling the car after taking it apart for photos

Yeah, rubbing is racing, but that means you rubbing another car, not the boards.
__________________
Site Content Specialist- Surface
HorizonHobby.Com

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
http://www.youtube.com/HorizonRCdotCom
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 12:44 PM   #3783
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via Yahoo to Doug Gaut
Default

THANKS TURBO JOE!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Doug Gaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 12:51 PM   #3784
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,939
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RC Driver Gary
Actually, Walter did it...Or Erich..when reassembling the car after taking it apart for photos
.
Thats not what Erich told me...
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 12:54 PM   #3785
X2
Tech Regular
 
X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England
Posts: 340
Default Tweak

Hey Cartmen,
I have sorta solved this problem, I found that it was my rear diffcase. I got some sand paper, put it on a flat surface and sanded down the top diffcase where it makes contact with the bottom one (If u get what i mean?) untill it was perfectly flat, ull be suprised at how 'warped' these are.
Then, seing as the diffcase now clamps down on the bearings harder, i dremelled off the little lip in the bearing holes.
It has made my chassis flat but my car still seems very easy to tweak, the slightest twist in any direction an there u go --> Tweak

Does anybody else have this problem? I think ill try some new diffcases.
X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 01:05 PM   #3786
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

I noticed that my front diff case was quite warped and did not go together very well...the rear one seems to be OK but for sure the mouldings on them aren't too good. Even with this distortion my car seems to tweak out ok when screwing the screws down with pressure on the car.
Skill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 01:06 PM   #3787
Tech Fanatic
 
cartmen34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Re: Tweak

Quote:
Originally posted by X2
Hey Cartmen,
I have sorta solved this problem, I found that it was my rear diffcase. I got some sand paper, put it on a flat surface and sanded down the top diffcase where it makes contact with the bottom one (If u get what i mean?) untill it was perfectly flat, ull be suprised at how 'warped' these are.
Then, seing as the diffcase now clamps down on the bearings harder, i dremelled off the little lip in the bearing holes.
It has made my chassis flat but my car still seems very easy to tweak, the slightest twist in any direction an there u go --> Tweak

Does anybody else have this problem? I think ill try some new diffcases.
Interesting....very interesting....

and to answer your question, no, my car does not re-tweak at the slightest twist. It stays tweaked no matter how much twisting I do!
cartmen34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 01:07 PM   #3788
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 20,904
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

I have the BMI 3mm top and bottom plates and it is very stiff. It ialmost impossible to twist in my hands. A ton stiffer than the stock setup. I had a huge wreck this week that ripped a few parts off my car. Good thing is the car is not tweaked. Now to just find some spare parts.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005)
Bumps & Jumps RC (One of the best racing facilities around)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC) Great aluminum upgrades for many brands.
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around). Too many titles to list
Shout out to: Sticky Kicks, CR Graphics and Race Ready Products
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 01:09 PM   #3789
Tech Fanatic
 
cartmen34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wyd
I have the BMI 3mm top and bottom plates and it is very stiff. It ialmost impossible to twist in my hands. A ton stiffer than the stock setup. I had a huge wreck this week that ripped a few parts off my car. Good thing is the car is not tweaked. Now to just find some spare parts.
Interesting....very interesting....

It's starting to make me wonder a little though about this car... $280 + for a car that immediately needs $100 worth of new chassis plates to resist tweaking?
cartmen34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 01:17 PM   #3790
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 20,904
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Alot of cars that cost that much seem to have this problem. The Pro 4 is not and prpbably won't be the last one with this problem. I think it is part of having a double deck chassis though. My Yoke did it and a bunch of the Schumacher cars I have had (98 SST, 99SST, Axis, Axis2, and my Mission to name a few. Also my Pro2 and my TC3 when the chassis got too hot one too many times and tweaked a little. I know the Xrays do as well because my buddy has ran them for over a year and if he takes a big shot or hits the wall hard it is tweaked a little.

Good thing is it seems to be easily fixed by loosening the topdeck screws and twisting it back.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005)
Bumps & Jumps RC (One of the best racing facilities around)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC) Great aluminum upgrades for many brands.
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around). Too many titles to list
Shout out to: Sticky Kicks, CR Graphics and Race Ready Products
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 02:27 PM   #3791
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via Yahoo to Doug Gaut
Default

wyd, Ultimate Hobbies still had a few arms left when I called an hour ago.
Doug Gaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 02:33 PM   #3792
Tech Master
 
RCBuddha's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,835
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cartmen34
Interesting....very interesting....

It's starting to make me wonder a little though about this car... $280 + for a car that immediately needs $100 worth of new chassis plates to resist tweaking?
In all honesty, having a 3mm chassis isn't necessarily going to solve the tweaking issue. WYD has it correct, every car develops a tweak of some sort. NO car is totally immune. I'm sure neither BMI or PRP would be willing to guarrantee that their chassis will be "tweak proof".

Last edited by RCBuddha; 04-21-2004 at 02:45 PM.
RCBuddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 02:37 PM   #3793
Tech Fanatic
 
cartmen34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wyd
Alot of cars that cost that much seem to have this problem. The Pro 4 is not and prpbably won't be the last one with this problem. I think it is part of having a double deck chassis though. My Yoke did it and a bunch of the Schumacher cars I have had (98 SST, 99SST, Axis, Axis2, and my Mission to name a few. Also my Pro2 and my TC3 when the chassis got too hot one too many times and tweaked a little. I know the Xrays do as well because my buddy has ran them for over a year and if he takes a big shot or hits the wall hard it is tweaked a little.

Good thing is it seems to be easily fixed by loosening the topdeck screws and twisting it back.
So...I can't help but notice you gots' yoself' one of those fancy schmancy BMI chassis for the Pro4. IYO, would you say this drastically helps the tweak issues on the pro4? As much as I hate spending this much on one car, I'll do it because this car has so many other great features.

Also...does anybody know if BMI is selling them to the general public yet?
cartmen34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 02:39 PM   #3794
Tech Fanatic
 
cartmen34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

oops, buddha answered my ? before I got a chance to ask it!
cartmen34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 03:13 PM   #3795
Tech Adept
 
Beeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Thornton, CO
Posts: 136
Send a message via AIM to Beeb
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cartmen34
Interesting....very interesting....

It's starting to make me wonder a little though about this car... $280 + for a car that immediately needs $100 worth of new chassis plates to resist tweaking?
My car doesn't need a new $100 chasis.

I'd just like to thank the powers that be for giving me one of the few kits out there that's perfect straight from the box.

(And if you can't tell, I'm being sarcastic)
Beeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:20 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0