R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-19-2004, 06:35 AM   #3691
Tech Master
 
Super Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,177
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Super Steve
Default

Wow...
I'd better not buy aluminum tobee input shafts if steel ones can be broke like that!

I think when he hit you he must have hit your front end pretty hard which locked up that side of the oneway and sent a shock through the drive terrain. Then ended up stripping the gear and snapping the shaft.

That is pretty harsh though...
snapping an inout shaft...

I'd check if the aluminum cvd or the main shaft is not twisted
Super Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 09:04 AM   #3692
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via Yahoo to Doug Gaut
Default

Proteus, what are you using for battery retention? I noticed with the stock brace that the battery could slide around a bit and possibly hit the drive shaft. I wonder if the battery got hit which put pressure on the drive shaft at the rear and snaped it? That would also take out the pinion gear at the front from the angle once the drive shaft dropped.
Doug Gaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 09:04 AM   #3693
Tech Master
 
clinttredway's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,291
Trader Rating: 3 (80%+)
Send a message via MSN to clinttredway
Default

Hey guys... have any of you gone to the Pro 4 from a XXX-s?

If so, what are your thoughts between the 2?

Thanks...
__________________
Do or Do Not, There Is No Try
clinttredway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 09:54 AM   #3694
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,939
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by clinttredway
Hey guys... have any of you gone to the Pro 4 from a XXX-s?

If so, what are your thoughts between the 2?

Thanks...
I did, I've been much faster with my Pro4.

To me at least, I felt as if I had to drive balls to the wall with the XXX-S, where the Pro4 I can just sit in, relax, and still be faster.
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 09:58 AM   #3695
Tech Master
 
clinttredway's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,291
Trader Rating: 3 (80%+)
Send a message via MSN to clinttredway
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TSR6
I did, I've been much faster with my Pro4.

To me at least, I felt as if I had to drive balls to the wall with the XXX-S, where the Pro4 I can just sit in, relax, and still be faster.
Are you running the stock chassis or a BMI?
__________________
Do or Do Not, There Is No Try
clinttredway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 09:59 AM   #3696
Tech Master
 
rod_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Covina CA
Posts: 1,033
Send a message via AIM to rod_b
Default Pro4 vs XXX-S

XXX-S is smooth. Almost too smooth. It doesn't seem like it's going fast but it is. The only thing is in Stock, I wasn't able to drive it as aggressively as a shaft drive car. It just seemed like it wasn't the kind of car you could dive into a turn, late brake on another guy, swing the back end around and punch it. Shaft drive cars have an advantage in that scenario.
rod_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 10:07 AM   #3697
Tech Master
 
clinttredway's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,291
Trader Rating: 3 (80%+)
Send a message via MSN to clinttredway
Default

The car is smooth.... Thanks for the input... I wish I could drive one before I buy one.. no one here runs one yet... everyone is driving xrays..
__________________
Do or Do Not, There Is No Try
clinttredway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 10:15 AM   #3698
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,939
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by clinttredway
Are you running the stock chassis or a BMI?
Stock chassis, although If I put together a foam car, I would definately be getting the PRP chassis.
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 10:17 AM   #3699
Tech Master
 
clinttredway's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,291
Trader Rating: 3 (80%+)
Send a message via MSN to clinttredway
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TSR6
Stock chassis, although If I put together a foam car, I would definately be getting the PRP chassis.
Foam is what I am racing and what I will be racing for a long while...
__________________
Do or Do Not, There Is No Try
clinttredway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 10:17 AM   #3700
Tech Regular
 
2Fast4U2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 460
Default

DGaut - your so smart.


Buddy, Pal, Cool guy.
2Fast4U2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 10:21 AM   #3701
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,939
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by clinttredway
Foam is what I am racing and what I will be racing for a long while...
I ran rubber with both my xxx-s and my pro4. I ran some limited foam with my xxx-s, but ended up going back to rubber.

I want to have my second pro4 setup for foam by next fall though.
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 10:37 AM   #3702
Tech Elite
 
OSherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: o0O In the FishBowl O0o
Posts: 3,151
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Thumbs up Shakedown.. stage 1 ... LaMirada

Finally got a chance to run the PRO4 over the weekend.. First run on the track in practice was unbelievable.. Very easy to drive and i was able to adapt to its handling characteristics very quick... almost as if i had been running the car for several race days already... throughtout the day making minor tweaks to setup lead to an A-main win in 19t.. the day went surprisngly well for its first outing...


the major advantage i see with the PRO4 (compared to the other cars in my garage) is the mid-corner steering... on the high-speed sweepers and large key-holes, the car can hold a good predictable line...

looking forward to more tracktime with this car..
__________________
•KO Propo America
•EXOTEK
OSherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 11:22 AM   #3703
Tech Master
 
cHckbOY5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 1,033
Send a message via AIM to cHckbOY5
Default

good job
cHckbOY5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 11:37 AM   #3704
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 756
Send a message via AIM to Proteus
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Doug Gaut
Proteus, what are you using for battery retention? I noticed with the stock brace that the battery could slide around a bit and possibly hit the drive shaft. I wonder if the battery got hit which put pressure on the drive shaft at the rear and snaped it? That would also take out the pinion gear at the front from the angle once the drive shaft dropped.
I'm using the battery brace. I used to use tape but since I didn't file down the slots, the tape would come apart in a hard hit.
After checking the battery, I don't see any evidence that the battery had shifted.
Proteus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 11:41 AM   #3705
Tech Master
 
cHckbOY5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 1,033
Send a message via AIM to cHckbOY5
Default

u didnt even file the slots for the batts?
cHckbOY5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:59 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0