R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-12-2004, 02:44 PM   #3406
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: RhineValley, Germany
Posts: 14
Default

...anybody have an idea of what GT-Body or Pro10 Body might fit on the Pro4???
Ollymann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2004, 02:46 PM   #3407
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ollymann
...anybody have an idea of what GT-Body or Pro10 Body might fit on the Pro4???
none... the front shock towers are too high...
I tried to fit the new HPI NSX GT... no can do....
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2004, 03:08 PM   #3408
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 289
Send a message via AIM to Dougnuts55
Default

What hop ups does the pro 4 need? Or is a stock one fine.
Im thinking instead of getting a bmi chassis for my tc3 might just get a pro4 but dont want to get one if i have to buy hop ups.



Doug
Dougnuts55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2004, 03:10 PM   #3409
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,828
Send a message via AIM to True R/C Racing
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dougnuts55
What hop ups does the pro 4 need? Or is a stock one fine.
Im thinking instead of getting a bmi chassis for my tc3 might just get a pro4 but dont want to get one if i have to buy hop ups.



Doug
Pro 4 Doesnt need hop-ups Really. A Hop-up thats sometimes good is a Aftermarket Chassis. BMI has good Feedback on theer pro4 Chassis.(Correct me if im wrong )
True R/C Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2004, 03:14 PM   #3410
Tech Adept
 
noline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 227
Default

I've just recently piked up a HPI Pro 4. Everything went well together but one problem, the drive train is all binding up can anyone tell me how to fix it so my drivetrain can run more free.Any help would be greatly appreciated.
noline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2004, 03:29 PM   #3411
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,820
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default

mine was similar but after a couple of runs it all frees up. it just needs running in thats all.
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2004, 03:40 PM   #3412
Tech Champion
 
rayhuang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Posts: 6,511
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rayhuang
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by noline
I've just recently piked up a HPI Pro 4. Everything went well together but one problem, the drive train is all binding up can anyone tell me how to fix it so my drivetrain can run more free.Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Mine is free as can be. Put three shims on the rear input shaft and make sure youve got them in the right place per the manual and not crunched by the diff cases.

Also-on the large shims on the outdrives-for a diff-I put two on the same side to pushl the diff AWAy from the crown gear. Hope that helps.

Ray
rayhuang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2004, 03:52 PM   #3413
Tech Master
 
Super Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,177
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Super Steve
Default

thats odd...

my was super free from the very begining
Super Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2004, 04:02 PM   #3414
Tech Elite
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default Doesn't somebody make...

Quote:
Originally posted by rc-zombies
none... the front shock towers are too high...
I tried to fit the new HPI NSX GT... no can do....
...a low-profile front shock tower? I could swear I just saw one the other day.

Here it is...would this work?

Low-profile tower for Pro-4

Scroll down...it's about half-way.
Turbo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2004, 04:09 PM   #3415
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Re: Doesn't somebody make...

Quote:
Originally posted by Turbo Joe
...a low-profile front shock tower? I could swear I just saw one the other day.

Here it is...would this work?

Low-profile tower for Pro-4

Scroll down...it's about half-way.
2MM lower is not enough... the shock towers are approx 10-15mm too high for any NSX GT body to fit. Pro10 bodies will definately not fit no matter what shock tower you have in there...

the rear shock towers are too high as well....

why do you need a GT or Pro10 body anyways?
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2004, 06:13 PM   #3416
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Binding Drive train

Guys;

Just wanted to add that even with my Tweak problem, my Drive-train is silky smooth even with everything tightened down.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2004, 06:38 PM   #3417
Tech Fanatic
 
cartmen34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rayhuang
Mine is free as can be. Put three shims on the rear input shaft and make sure youve got them in the right place per the manual and not crunched by the diff cases.

Also-on the large shims on the outdrives-for a diff-I put two on the same side to pushl the diff AWAy from the crown gear. Hope that helps.

Ray
This is the exact same way I built mine. 2 shims spacing the gear away from the shaft gear. I found that trying to shim the diff with 3 shims made the drivetrain bind up when competely assembled.

Like ray's....it's free...like a bird.
cartmen34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2004, 09:42 PM   #3418
Tech Master
 
cHckbOY5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 1,033
Send a message via AIM to cHckbOY5
Default

is there a lot of room for electronics? or do i have to use the short servo?
cHckbOY5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2004, 10:09 PM   #3419
Tech Champion
 
Kevin K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a land of mini-mighty mental giants
Posts: 8,754
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Kevin K Send a message via Yahoo to Kevin K
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cHckbOY5
is there a lot of room for electronics? or do i have to use the short servo?
It depends on the size of the electronics used. I have a shorty servo in my car but Im using a GT7 and I just wanted a little extra room. I will post some pictures of it later tonight or in the morning when I have time. But I would say that you should not have a problem with most electronics fitting....the GT7 is the biggest racing ESC out there I think and it would fit with a normal servo and receiver no problem.
__________________
2013 USVTA World Champion of the World
MOTIV RC presents the Midwest All-Star Carpet Series....14th year running 2016/17!!!
USVTA National Championship....check it out!!!
Im only responsible for what I say NOT what you understand.
Kevin K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2004, 10:22 PM   #3420
Tech Elite
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cHckbOY5
is there a lot of room for electronics? or do i have to use the short servo?
didn't you sell your cuda because you didn't have time or money for it? now you're getting a pro 4?
JusBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:15 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0