R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-02-2004, 07:38 AM   #3016
Tech Champion
 
rayhuang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Posts: 6,511
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rayhuang
Default

RandyB-YGPM!!!
rayhuang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 07:55 AM   #3017
Tech Master
 
RandyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Columbus OH.
Posts: 1,158
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Back at ya ray
RandyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 08:28 AM   #3018
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 238
Send a message via AIM to galway
Default

Did anyone try to order Bevel gears from TowerHobbies when they were briefly available. I had a couple on backorder, but my backorder was never filled and now they are showing that they have no idea when they will get more. Just curious if I got totally screwed or if it was a mistake on their part to even list that they were in.
galway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 08:41 AM   #3019
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RandyB
Zombies good work on those pics. I have thought about making the CF camber links too. Now I know its possible.
yea I thought about making some too....looks like I have something to do this weekend...
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 08:41 AM   #3020
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RandyB
did anybody else notice Hara is using rpm ball cups? what is everybody using for ball cups?
I'm using RPM cups with the tops drilled out...to have better access to the hex on the balls...
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 08:45 AM   #3021
Tech Master
 
RandyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Columbus OH.
Posts: 1,158
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

did you notice any play with hpi ones they just dont seem too race worthy in the long run
RandyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 08:49 AM   #3022
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RandyB
did you notice any play with hpi ones they just dont seem too race worthy in the long run
actually the stock ones were good....better than HPI previous cups... they held up very good.... like all cups...they eventually loosened up...
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 08:50 AM   #3023
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Drummondville, Quebec
Posts: 150
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

can i use the rpm ball cup on the pro4?? i don t think the ball was the same size like AE or losi??

Pace
Pace72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 08:51 AM   #3024
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Pace72
can i use the rpm ball cup on the pro4?? i don t think the ball was the same size like AE or losi??

Pace
If Hara's using them... why not?
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 08:55 AM   #3025
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Drummondville, Quebec
Posts: 150
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

it s good to know!!

thanks

Pace

p.s. just to let you know...me and my firend have buy the pro4 2 week ago...and last sunday we have race the car....and we was qualified first and second and finished first and second after 8min of racing...

i was using mine for the first time out!! the first time i put the car on the track i was really impressed on how well the car was going!! i was running on carpet!! we are using the set-up from the box but we change only the spring and the shock angle!
Pace72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 08:59 AM   #3026
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via Yahoo to Doug Gaut
Default

Need an update on the front oneway gear. How is adding the washers on the screws to hold the gear more stable working out at stopping the flex of the gear along with boiling the gears? My car is coming in this afternoon and there are no spare gears in town yet. Just wondering what all preventative steps to take ahead of time.
Doug Gaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 09:03 AM   #3027
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Well, I tried to use some spare Surikarn outdrives and parts to make a Diff/Spool, but unfortunately the center "tube" that the thrust screw passes thru is too long, making the assembly too wide. I may drill out the female end to take the longer tube and work, or I may just order the diff set.

FYI, both the LHS' in my area have been able to get the bevel gears in stock. I know someone asked awhile ago about availability. I have noticed no difference between boiling and not boiling the gears, except for when the pinion gear breaks, the ring gear has tended to stay intact.
__________________
Site Content Specialist- Surface
HorizonHobby.Com

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
http://www.youtube.com/HorizonRCdotCom
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 10:20 AM   #3028
Tech Master
 
RCBuddha's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,837
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cartmen34
I noticed that when I loosened the two outer screws that reside on the far ends of the gearboxes things got alot more free. This is obviously because now the gearboxes are now not clamped together, but clearly I cannot run the car with those two screws loose all the time.

It's not possible that I tighted the gearbox screws down TOO much....is it? I mean the plastic would strip out first, right?
Cartmen,

You can stress the parts if you tighten down them too much. I just "snug" my screws up, so that they aren't putting too much pressure on the parts. Does it bind slighty after you tighten the upperdeck on a flat surface?

You also could have a deformed gear box halves, I noticed that mine don't fit together perfectly, but when they go together, they work fine.

Hope this helps,

Buddha
RCBuddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 10:37 AM   #3029
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,939
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Doug Gaut
Need an update on the front oneway gear. How is adding the washers on the screws to hold the gear more stable working out at stopping the flex of the gear along with boiling the gears? My car is coming in this afternoon and there are no spare gears in town yet. Just wondering what all preventative steps to take ahead of time.
Doug - I just did that because I noticed that the screws were digging into the gears quite a ways when they were as tight as they needed to be, so I put the washer ( actually E-clips since you would probably need to cut part of the washer for where the gear angles out )

I'm hoping the PRP brace will fix it. We'll know soon.
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 10:48 AM   #3030
Tech Fanatic
 
cartmen34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RCBuddha
Cartmen,

You can stress the parts if you tighten down them too much. I just "snug" my screws up, so that they aren't putting too much pressure on the parts. Does it bind slighty after you tighten the upperdeck on a flat surface?

You also could have a deformed gear box halves, I noticed that mine don't fit together perfectly, but when they go together, they work fine.

Hope this helps,

Buddha
No, I've checked and triple checked my chassis after I've put the upper deck on the car. It's straight and true, no tweak at all.

I'll try just snugging the parts down tonight and see how the drive train feels.

Thanks for the tips guys, I'll give an update once I've got things town down (again!) and have found something out.
cartmen34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:37 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0