R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-24-2004, 12:50 PM   #2656
Tech Master
 
RandyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Columbus OH.
Posts: 1,158
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the info zombies I think I will have some new goodies soon
RandyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 02:22 PM   #2657
Tech Master
 
Super Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,177
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Super Steve
Default

My kit came in from speedtech yesterday (VERY FAST SHIPPING!) so I have been building it in my spare time...

I realize that diffs can be installed both ways... (My one way was workihng backwords)

I also could not find any droop screws like the one in the manual. some goldish set screws in other bag but they don't look long like the ones in the manual...

Can I still get these from hpi or do i have to buy some?

I also have to stop building now because my hobby shop doesn't have 2mm hex driver in stock... Now i have to wait at least 1 and half week to finish my car!!!

O well... that will give me plenty time to finish the shocktowers and upperdeck (I did main chassis esterday but it's sloppy. )

Overall, i am very impressed with this kit minus the missing of droop screws...

Last edited by Super Steve; 03-24-2004 at 02:30 PM.
Super Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 02:27 PM   #2658
Tech Elite
 
coastaltony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 2,585
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Z
OK, I put a locked down diff in the front. Put one-way in tool box.
Remember I said that I sheared off the left/upper/rear ball-stud, and had to modify the rear camber links.
After the adjustment I was having troubles on hard left turns. Thought the chassis might have been tweaked.
As I was putting the car back together, I noticed the front sway-barn brace #73511 lost the right screw and was loose. Doh!
coastaltony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 02:29 PM   #2659
Tech Master
 
Super Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,177
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Super Steve
Default

edit*oops
Super Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 02:30 PM   #2660
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Super Steve..

the kit should have come with a 2mm hex wrench.... don't let the droop screws stop you from finishing the car...it can be installed last...should have been in Bag-A...
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 02:56 PM   #2661
Tech Master
 
rod_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Covina CA
Posts: 1,033
Send a message via AIM to rod_b
Default

Can you use 3/32" diff balls in place of the 2.4mm. I have some ceramic diff balls from when I had a Losi. Are they the same size?
rod_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 03:10 PM   #2662
Tech Addict
 
acutts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 505
Default

Quote:
Remember I said that I sheared off the left/upper/rear ball-stud, and had to modify the rear camber links.
A friend of mine with a Pro4 had exactly the same issue this weekend. Ballstud, left rear shearing off .... might be a defect???
acutts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 03:14 PM   #2663
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rod_b
Can you use 3/32" diff balls in place of the 2.4mm. I have some ceramic diff balls from when I had a Losi. Are they the same size?
Yes..

3/32" = .094in.
2.4mm x .03827 = .094488in.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 03:16 PM   #2664
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by acutts
A friend of mine with a Pro4 had exactly the same issue this weekend. Ballstud, left rear shearing off .... might be a defect???
I have that problem when driving too close to the boards... with other cars as well... after switching to aluminum hubs... I break the arms instead....
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 03:35 PM   #2665
Tech Master
 
SOuthernFRIED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Olive Branch,MS
Posts: 1,235
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Well I ran my PRO4 for the first time in Pro stock this past weekend and it left me with a few questions.First, I ran the stock setup although I jacked up the ride height to keep from dragging the chassis on our indoor asphalt so I ran prolly 6mm front and 6.5 mm rear.I also ran the stock rear sway bar and no front sway bar.My times averaged 17.0 with a racer TC3 on this track.My times with the PRO4 started at 17.5 with take off 22's and dropped to 17.2's after I switched to Sorex 20's.I was having alot of trouble getting the rear to hook up.It would break loose way too easily, and was hard to keep it from doing a 180.Several times it broke loose about half way down a straight and I would have to just drift it.Needless to say it didn't come out of the corner's well at all.I could feel it backing up when I got hard on the gas.So here I am, the car drives well,very smooth ,but I need rear traction...any advice??? Like I said the setup is just like the manual except no front sway bar and the extra ride height...
__________________
James Cooper
SouthernFriedRacing
teamsfr@gmail.com
SOuthernFRIED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 03:49 PM   #2666
Tech Addict
 
CraigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kansas City MO
Posts: 503
Default

Put the front sway bar back on and take off the rear one. What droop settings you using?
CraigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 03:50 PM   #2667
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SOuthernFRIED
Well I ran my PRO4 for the first time in Pro stock this past weekend and it left me with a few questions.First, I ran the stock setup although I jacked up the ride height to keep from dragging the chassis on our indoor asphalt so I ran prolly 6mm front and 6.5 mm rear.I also ran the stock rear sway bar and no front sway bar.My times averaged 17.0 with a racer TC3 on this track.My times with the PRO4 started at 17.5 with take off 22's and dropped to 17.2's after I switched to Sorex 20's.I was having alot of trouble getting the rear to hook up.It would break loose way too easily, and was hard to keep it from doing a 180.Several times it broke loose about half way down a straight and I would have to just drift it.Needless to say it didn't come out of the corner's well at all.I could feel it backing up when I got hard on the gas.So here I am, the car drives well,very smooth ,but I need rear traction...any advice??? Like I said the setup is just like the manual except no front sway bar and the extra ride height...
keeping the rear sway bars reduces rear traction... try it with the sway bars up front and none in the rear....
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 03:52 PM   #2668
Tech Adept
 
university_dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milton Keynes, England
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SOuthernFRIED
Like I said the setup is just like the manual except no front sway bar and the extra ride height...
So why did you take the front off? A rear anti-roll bar will decrease the traction at the rear of the car and normally leads to a slightly lively rear end...
university_dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 03:52 PM   #2669
Tech Master
 
SOuthernFRIED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Olive Branch,MS
Posts: 1,235
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I am using stock droop.I lowered the droop one setting front and rear on the TC3 and it improved thinking of doing the same with my PRO4.

One area worth noting absolutely zero breakage.I was very impressed with the durability.I did mod a BRP bumper made for a TC3 to fit my 4. It was an easy mod and helps protect the front very well.

I have never run a front sway bar on anything..Monster truck,electric truck, 1/8th scale buggy,touring car,, never ever ran a front bar.It was just natural for me to skip the front, but you know live and learn.So what now?? should I try both bars? just the front bar? I have the 1.2 mm bars coming and was gonna use both next week.The stock 1.6 seems awfully big ,but I am asking for advice, so I will listen to all that is offered.Thanks again guys!!
__________________
James Cooper
SouthernFriedRacing
teamsfr@gmail.com

Last edited by SOuthernFRIED; 03-24-2004 at 03:57 PM.
SOuthernFRIED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 03:55 PM   #2670
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default having alot of trouble getting the rear to hook up.

Quote:
Originally posted by SOuthernFRIED

I also ran the stock rear sway bar and no front sway bar.
Sway Bars are a fine tuning tool, but can cause handling problems if used improperly.
In general, adding a Sway Bar will DECREASE grip at that end of the Car.
You have a Rear Bar with NO Front Bar installed, correct this situation first.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:51 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0