R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-20-2004, 10:02 PM   #2566
Tech Master
 
forty6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TSR6
Uhhhhh - Got Balance?
Golf tees....very ingenius...dime a dozen compared to the expensive Hudy version.

p.s.
A few more grams to the right...LOL..j/k
forty6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2004, 10:05 PM   #2567
Tech Master
 
forty6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Super Steve
I dunno man, yours is tilting...

http://www.rctech.net/forum/attachme...&postid=676809
rc-zombie's look really balanced (but for all we know, he could be cheating )
Well, we can't see rc-zombies' front axles. Because he was holding it for the camera. Just kidding rc-z.

Last edited by forty6; 03-20-2004 at 10:24 PM.
forty6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2004, 10:07 PM   #2568
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,939
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

LOL, it's actually just a touch electronics side heavy in the pics, but when it stops teetering, its just about there. I need to cut just a sliver off one of the weights instead of tossing on a whole 1/4oz ( causing the slight tilt. )

I don't think I'm going to run it with the extra weight. It's a touch overweight as is. Too bad GP cells are so heavy, If I were still running HV cells, I would bet the car would almost be at roar minimums as is. I don't have a scale here, so I'm just guessing off of how much I had to add for the USTC ( had to add 1.75oz to get the car RIGHT on Roar min. I thought I was going to have to run a spare body clip, but once the scale settled...heh... it was good )

I took a better pic:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pro4balance2.jpg (45.8 KB, 478 views)
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.

Last edited by TSR6; 03-20-2004 at 10:12 PM.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2004, 10:21 PM   #2569
Tech Master
 
Super Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,177
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Super Steve
Default

hmmm...

Now with body and fake transponder.... j/k
Super Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2004, 10:24 PM   #2570
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,939
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Super Steve
hmmm...

Now with body and fake transponder.... j/k
I run a Personal Transponder, It's mounted in the center of the chassis, via the two steering post screws.

http://www.rctech.net/forum/attachme...?postid=731288
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2004, 10:28 PM   #2571
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 13
Default Chassis Tweak Issue Fixed (maybe)

I think I have found a fix for the chassis tweak issue that happens with every bump. My testing has shown good results, but I thought I should see what you guys think and let you test it. Looks like I will be implementing it on all of our chassis kits (doubt if I will still do a Pro4, though).

I put a heli-coil (small threaded insert) into the upper deck graphite part. This prevents any play that can exist in the screw hole. HPI counter sunk the holes to try and get the same effect, but it does not seem to be working. This also means that you will need to get a new upper deck that is not counter sunk from any one of the many designers that are coming out with a chassis kit for the pro4, and use button head screws instead of the original flat head screws. Just make sure you get one of very good quality, as a misaligned hole will cause the chassis to become tweaked.

I hoped I adequately explained this modification. Let me know how it worked for you.


Thank You,
Louis
BallisticHobbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2004, 10:47 PM   #2572
Tech Master
 
RCBuddha's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,835
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TSR6


I don't think I'm going to run it with the extra weight. It's a touch overweight as is. Too bad GP cells are so heavy, If I were still running HV cells, I would bet the car would almost be at roar minimums as is. I don't have a scale here, so I'm just guessing off of how much I had to add for the USTC ( had to add 1.75oz to get the car RIGHT on Roar min. I thought I was going to have to run a spare body clip, but once the scale settled...heh... it was good )

What is ROAR's minimum weight requirement? In other words: what is the minimum weight our cars have to meet?
RCBuddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2004, 11:04 PM   #2573
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,939
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RCBuddha
What is ROAR's minimum weight requirement? In other words: what is the minimum weight our cars have to meet?
EDIT - 50 oz for foams and rubber 53 oz. - can someone confirm this for me? It sounds right, but I did not pull this from the rule book.

I just know I had to add 1.75oz to make rubber tire weight at the USTC, and don't remember what measurment the scale used ( wasnt oz, but it had the number we needed written on it )

It took 2.25 to balance it, so it's .5oz overweight when balanced. The car really isnt setup as light as it could be though. Tape is doubled up on the batts, my heaviest pack, along with wires that can be shortened and I have a battery brace on the side.

To make a long story short, I'm home on spring break, there was a birthday party for my little brother tonight at my house. The whole family was here, including 5 of my little cousins, all under age 10 running around and screaming. Curious mind while being bored, hidden in my room for a little "quiet time"
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.

Last edited by TSR6; 03-20-2004 at 11:14 PM.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2004, 11:33 PM   #2574
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by forty6
Well, we can't see rc-zombies' front axles. Because he was holding it for the camera. Just kidding rc-z.
no electornics was installed yet... my post was to inform everyone that the xray balancing tool will work with the car... a tool left over after selling the EVO2.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2004, 12:12 AM   #2575
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3 racer sc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: lancaster sc near charlotte nc
Posts: 921
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TSR6
LOL, it's actually just a touch electronics side heavy in the pics, but when it stops teetering, its just about there. I need to cut just a sliver off one of the weights instead of tossing on a whole 1/4oz ( causing the slight tilt. )

I don't think I'm going to run it with the extra weight. It's a touch overweight as is. Too bad GP cells are so heavy, If I were still running HV cells, I would bet the car would almost be at roar minimums as is. I don't have a scale here, so I'm just guessing off of how much I had to add for the USTC ( had to add 1.75oz to get the car RIGHT on Roar min. I thought I was going to have to run a spare body clip, but once the scale settled...heh... it was good )

I took a better pic:
hey i see the ccx post under ur car i drive for cse in charlotte and race too just got my pro4 still keeping the tc3
tc3 racer sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2004, 07:23 AM   #2576
Super Moderator
 
Tony Rivas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kissimmee, Fl
Posts: 2,269
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default pucho

hey its build and ready the sand paper u gave me to get worked.drive tran is very free.thanks for the spring set up i will do that when i go over there.when is rpm racing again? i will be racing at ft raceway on 28/03 thats going to be my first race thanks
__________________
The "Dominican Assassin"
Sorry for the Spelling but you know what I mean.
Tony Rivas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2004, 01:23 PM   #2577
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,828
Send a message via AIM to True R/C Racing
Default Re: pucho

Quote:
Originally posted by trcmaddness
hey its build and ready the sand paper u gave me to get worked.drive tran is very free.thanks for the spring set up i will do that when i go over there.when is rpm racing again? i will be racing at ft raceway on 28/03 thats going to be my first race thanks
they race thursday. Cmon hit the carpet, asphalt=no good
True R/C Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2004, 01:58 PM   #2578
Super Moderator
 
Tony Rivas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kissimmee, Fl
Posts: 2,269
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: pucho

sorry but i like to race eveywhere
__________________
The "Dominican Assassin"
Sorry for the Spelling but you know what I mean.
Tony Rivas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2004, 06:06 PM   #2579
Tech Master
 
RandyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Columbus OH.
Posts: 1,158
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

pucho which hara set up are you refering to? you are running on asphault right? Just asking cause i think if I remeber correctly our set ups were close to the same when we were bith running xrays
good thing i kept my 80 dollars worth of xray springs
RandyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2004, 07:40 PM   #2580
Tech Master
 
Super Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,177
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Super Steve
Default

Wow...
80 dollors worth of springs...
how many springs is that?
Super Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:45 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0