R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-17-2004, 02:07 PM   #2461
Tech Apprentice
 
chr15tophe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 75
Default

in the instructions it definetly shows to use a nut as appossed to a locking nut and in the begining of the instructions where it lists parts (page 6) to use, it just says m2 nut, below they refer to an m3 locking nut, theres a clear distinction between nuts, bizarre...
chr15tophe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 02:12 PM   #2462
Tech Elite
 
coastaltony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 2,585
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

DITTO!
coastaltony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 02:12 PM   #2463
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by chr15tophe
in the instructions it definetly shows to use a nut as appossed to a locking nut and in the begining of the instructions where it lists parts (page 6) to use, it just says m2 nut, below they refer to an m3 locking nut, theres a clear distinction between nuts, bizarre...
On both the US and Japan manuals...page 14..the illustration shows a nylon lock nut...

if that's the case apply some of the MIP thread lock on it...and it will stay put...
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 02:31 PM   #2464
Tech Apprentice
 
chr15tophe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 75
Default

trust us british to be different heheheh
chr15tophe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 02:54 PM   #2465
Tech Elite
 
OSherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: o0O In the FishBowl O0o
Posts: 3,151
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by chr15tophe
trust us british to be different heheheh
lol

__________________
•KO Propo America
•EXOTEK
OSherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 03:12 PM   #2466
Tech Champion
 
black-knight's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Out to lunch
Posts: 5,959
Default Re: diffs again sorry

Quote:
Originally posted by chr15tophe
Ok ive been suffereing from diffs loosing ever since ive got this car, tonight i cracked it, the problem being the nut that goes on the thrust screw is only a nut not a nylon lock nut, which can be found in tc3 and yokomo cars, am surprised no one else has this problem because a normal nut will come loose, will now have to find such a lock nut or use 2 nuts per diff.

Will send a note to Harry hara !!

I put my diff nut on backwards and use a little thread lock. I have had no issues since doing this. Was a real pain at first!!!
__________________
Black-Knight - None shall pass!
www.nbhc.com.au - www.facebook.com/smaracing
black-knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 06:40 PM   #2467
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Hpi Pro 4

Guys;

Found a little time to start working on the Car today.

The Countersinking on the bottom side of the Chassis is definitely too shallow for the screw heads.

Having a Drill press and proper countersink bit, I made all of them a little deeper until the heads were flush with the bottom of the Chassis. Not sure why this wasn't done at the factory.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 08:03 PM   #2468
Tech Master
 
rod_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Covina CA
Posts: 1,033
Send a message via AIM to rod_b
Default

Does anyone use tape on their chassis to protect it from scrapes? What kind is it and where can I get some? Thanks
rod_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 08:07 PM   #2469
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,828
Send a message via AIM to True R/C Racing
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rod_b
Does anyone use tape on their chassis to protect it from scrapes? What kind is it and where can I get some? Thanks
its a Chassis Protector. yes its very good, helps chassis stay in good condition. YOu can get from LHS its like $12 (not sure)
True R/C Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 08:13 PM   #2470
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rod_b

Does anyone use tape on their chassis to protect it from scrapes? What kind is it and where can I get some? Thanks
Associated Chassis Protector Tape.

Been several years since I've bought some, but any well stocked shop should carry it.

Rod, See you at the track.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 08:59 PM   #2471
Tech Master
 
forty6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
Default Re: Hpi Pro 4

Quote:
Originally posted by popsracer
Guys;
.....
The Countersinking on the bottom side of the Chassis is definitely too shallow for the screw heads.
..............
Is this a widespread problem? I know someone brought it up a while back when the car was first released. Was it just a bad batch early in the production cycle? Thanks.
forty6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 09:02 PM   #2472
Tech Master
 
forty6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
Default

Here was the post back in January (page 33 of this thread).

Quote:
Originally posted by Kenneth Tan
Anyone noticed that the screws are protruding from the bottom of the main chassis, i.e. the countersunk holes are not deep enough? Thanks.
forty6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 10:52 PM   #2473
Tech Elite
 
OSherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: o0O In the FishBowl O0o
Posts: 3,151
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
interchangable parts?...

just got done assembling my CVDs... dropped one set screw, so i decide to go to my old pro3 stash... found a set screw... while there in stash, compared the PRO3 axle to the PRO4 axle... appears to be the same...

Eric, Thad, Frank?... is this really so??... would be good to know some of 'us' alredy have spares...
__________________
•KO Propo America
•EXOTEK
OSherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2004, 02:33 AM   #2474
Tech Fanatic
 
Frank McKinney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: A Yank in England
Posts: 755
Default

I think the bearing sizes are the same in the hubs from Pro 3 to Pro 4, I'm not sure about the axle length, but I think the TC pivot circular thingies are the same on all the MIP CVDs but I can't be sure. I don't want to say yeah they fit because I'll be in trouble if they don't.

The surest test (apart from Erik saying yeah they fit) is - do they fit?
__________________
Minimal signature to save screen space! Big sigs suX0r
Frank McKinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2004, 05:06 AM   #2475
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 8
Default

Frank,

Thanks for your very detailed and informative reply.
RC Donkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:51 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0