R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-17-2004, 10:04 AM   #2446
Tech Regular
 
snoopy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Oz
Posts: 449
Default

I bought the alloy front hubs as a backup since my tc3 used to have a problem with these striping out.....However the Pro4 seems to be alot stronger and has'nt had this problem, so stick to the plastic ones.
Could'nt be happier with my pro4........well done Eric..
snoopy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 10:12 AM   #2447
Tech Elite
 
coastaltony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 2,585
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

For you racers running on smooth asphalt, what shock oil weights are working the best? Also what spring ft/lbs?
coastaltony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 10:13 AM   #2448
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by coastaltony
For you racers running on smooth asphalt, what shock oil weights are working the best? Also what spring ft/lbs?
Oil: 40F / 30R... stock springs and set-up seems to work in most cases...
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 10:18 AM   #2449
Tech Elite
 
coastaltony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 2,585
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Thanks man!
Hope the weather holds out.
Will run it tonight.
coastaltony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 11:03 AM   #2450
Tech Master
 
RCBuddha's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,837
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by coastaltony
For you racers running on smooth asphalt, what shock oil weights are working the best? Also what spring ft/lbs?
tony, I've had good success with #3 piston/50wt all around. I've been using the stock springs, but you can try ae blue springs in front and silver in rear. Or if the track has a lot of traction, try AE Red in front and Blue in rear.

Last edited by RCBuddha; 03-17-2004 at 11:49 AM.
RCBuddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 11:44 AM   #2451
Tech Master
 
RandyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Columbus OH.
Posts: 1,158
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Cant wait for the wheather to break so I can rolll this bad boy on some tarmac
RandyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 11:53 AM   #2452
Tech Elite
 
OSherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: o0O In the FishBowl O0o
Posts: 3,151
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Thumbs up Re: Re: Hpi Pro 4

Quote:
Originally posted by RCBuddha
...I think you'll like the way it builds, and how it runs on the track.

Buddha
Yup!!.. just started building mine... and it pieces together like a puzzle... very nice!! can't wait to get it on the track...
__________________
•KO Propo America
•EXOTEK
OSherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 12:50 PM   #2453
Tech Elite
 
coastaltony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 2,585
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Cool, I just about gave a kid at the track all my TC3 springs.
I was planning on the maiden voyage this afternoon. Then the brown Santa shows up with the aluminum input shafts. Back to the bench.
coastaltony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 01:17 PM   #2454
Tech Elite
 
coastaltony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 2,585
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

First snag!
The Tobee aluminum input shafts have 4 washers/spacers in the pack. Do I need them?
coastaltony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 01:27 PM   #2455
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by coastaltony
First snag!
The Tobee aluminum input shafts have 4 washers/spacers in the pack. Do I need them?
I got the Square Ti input shafts...and it was a direct replacement no spacers needed... Tobee spacers the same as the HPI spacers?
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 01:40 PM   #2456
Tech Elite
 
coastaltony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 2,585
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I sure like the ease of ripping the
diff's apart. Not like my Mission
Carbons.
HPI uses 3 x Z877, and 3 X Z852.
3 x Z877 = .63 mm
1 x Tobee = .52 mm
coastaltony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 01:43 PM   #2457
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by coastaltony
I sure like the ease of ripping the
diff's apart. Not like my Mission
Carbons.
HPI uses 3 x Z877, and 3 X Z852.
3 x Z877 = .63 mm
1 x Tobee = .52 mm
yea the diffs are a pain to get to...but can't complain too much..the car is awesome..

don't know about those tobee spacers... if the Tobee shafts are the same as stock...you may not need them and use the stock spacers...
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 01:49 PM   #2458
Tech Elite
 
coastaltony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 2,585
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Rear shaft appears to be direct fit.
I will use HPI spacers, as in stock set-up.
coastaltony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 02:01 PM   #2459
Tech Apprentice
 
chr15tophe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 75
Default diffs again sorry

Ok ive been suffereing from diffs loosing ever since ive got this car, tonight i cracked it, the problem being the nut that goes on the thrust screw is only a nut not a nylon lock nut, which can be found in tc3 and yokomo cars, am surprised no one else has this problem because a normal nut will come loose, will now have to find such a lock nut or use 2 nuts per diff.

Will send a note to Harry hara !!
chr15tophe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 02:03 PM   #2460
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Re: diffs again sorry

Quote:
Originally posted by chr15tophe
Ok ive been suffereing from diffs loosing ever since ive got this car, tonight i cracked it, the problem being the nut that goes on the thrust screw is only a nut not a nylon lock nut, which can be found in tc3 and yokomo cars, am surprised no one else has this problem because a normal nut will come loose, will now have to find such a lock nut or use 2 nuts per diff.

Will send a note to Harry hara !!
that's odd mine came with the nylon lock nut.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:21 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0