R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-16-2003, 02:51 AM   #196
Tech Addict
 
Erik R.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 618
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Can the car be pre-ordered in the US yet. Also do you guys from HPI have any estimates on the price yet?
Erik R. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2003, 08:45 AM   #197
Tech Elite
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,584
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

DOTMAN:
Come on! You have to be joking. What cars do you own that needed 1000$ worth of hop-ups? Thats just bs. There is not a car on the market sold under the "PRO" or "RACER" status that needs 1000$ worth of hop ups. Man i have been very competative with my TC3 RACER and Back in the day when 90% of my club ran PRO2's there was rarely a guy running hop-ups certainly not 1000$ worth. I hardly think there are a 1000$ worht of hop ups that will get u into the winners cirlce. Practice practice practice. Dont look to buying success.


POPSRACER:
As i mentioned above our club was running 90% HPI sedans at one point be it the PRO or the PRO2. I dont recall cronic glithing ever. We raced in various indoor and outdoor locations as well. Of course the odd guys running cheap AM radios might have had issues from time to time.
This PAST winter there was a guy here claiming that the X-RAY chassis was giving him glitching on his M8/NOVAK switch radio system. All i know is that any glitching i have ever had in my 15years in this hobby was solveable. Never have i got rid of a chassis to fix the problem.

FYI i have run my 3PJ radio system on the following cars without glitches:
-RS4 PRO
-PRO2
-PRO3
-LOSI NXT
-LOSI XXCR
-XRAY T1
-SERPENT impulse
-TRAXXAS 4TECPRO
-NTC3
-YOKOMO SD
-CARPET KNIFE
-RC10L3 Plus OVAL
__________________
"Without Rules its just Backyard Bashing!"
www.rcottawa.com
Joel Lagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2003, 10:35 AM   #198
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Pro-2 Glitching

Joel Lagace;

Futaba 3PD-FM and Receiver (My primary radio)
Hitec Lynx FM (Swapped in for test)
Hitex DCX Receiver
Tekin FM Receiver
Airtronics Blazer AM (borrowed for test)
Novack Cyclone ESC
Tekin G-9 ESC (in my Pro-3)
Trinity Paradox Motor (Still have)
Reedy Rage Motor
Tamiya 'Silver Can' Motor (for testing)

The Car wouldn't even pass an Antenna down, range check with ANY of these Radio systems and/or equipment. (Tried ALL of the Glitch fixing tricks too)

Finally at the suggestion of Futaba C.S., I put all of my stuff in my Kids Tamiya TL01 (all Plastic Chassis) and everything was fine. So I KNOW it was a CAR problem and NOT a Radio problem.

I've spoken to enough Pro-2 owners over the years to know that the problem was not solely mine. (ALOT of People have owned Pro-2's at one time or another) Didn't stop me from buying a Pro-3, but has certantly soured me towards any totally woven graphite chassis cars. Will it stop me from buying a Pro-4?, probably not, if the performance is there.

ANYWAYS, I should have kept my mouth shut. I didn't intend to start a debate, just to voice some concerns.

Thanks,
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2003, 10:58 AM   #199
Super Moderator
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,274
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

I have found over the years from racing oval cars that I needed to put a piece of fuel tubing on the antenna from where it leaves the receiver and makes its way to the antenna mount.

Erik, we are just waiting on the price from the distributors to put it on the website.
__________________
There is great need for a sarcasm font.

You never know when it will strike, but there comes a moment at work when you know that you just aren't going to do anything productive for the rest of the day.

Sometimes I post just to look at my avatar.
Kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2003, 11:19 AM   #200
Tech Addict
 
Erik R.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 618
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Cool! I'm looking forward to trying the car out.
Erik R. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2003, 04:11 PM   #201
Tech Elite
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,584
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

POPSRACER:

No problem man. I guess you just where that 1-2% range that could not solve the problem. Graphite has always been a consern for glitching for any car...

U have heard all the tips im sure so i wont repeat the 100s of suggestions that you have already heard.

On my pro2 i mounted my futaba receiver on its side on the upper deck. And was glitch free for the years i ran the car..

Oh well wish you and all the best for the PRO4
__________________
"Without Rules its just Backyard Bashing!"
www.rcottawa.com
Joel Lagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2003, 11:15 AM   #202
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Glitching on the Pro-2

Guys;

What I FINALLY did as a partial solution, was to put Chassis protector tape on all of the topside surfaces. This helped considerably, but didn't eliminate the Glitching.

Had a very successful run with my Pro-3 last night, but more and more I am noticing the accelleration advantage of Shaft Drive. Guess I'll just HAVE to get a Pro-4 now.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2003, 08:19 PM   #203
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,730
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I want my two dollars.....
__________________
REMEMBER THE GOOD OLE DAYS..........THEY'RE NEVER COMING BACK SO WE'RE STUCK WITH THE MESS IN FRONT OF US!!!!
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2003, 08:49 AM   #204
Tech Elite
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The Pro4 can be preordered at my LHS for something like US$320.
I'm not currently steady enough to preorder one
it looks more impressive than a TB Evo III,that's at least.
Hoping that the non-carbon fibre parts are graphite(fingers crossed) bcos on the EvoIII,the soft plastics they use for gearboxes and knuckles are absolutely crap.
lee82gx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2003, 09:05 AM   #205
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

All the hubs etc. are carbon composites...or at least that's what it says in the specs.
Skill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2003, 01:40 PM   #206
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 443
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

This car looks better and better the more I look at it. The front and rear towers looks identical except for the body mounts on the rear.
elnitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2003, 11:36 AM   #207
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default HARA AND THE PRO4

Finally some pics of Hara and the Pro4 action.





__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2003, 11:58 AM   #208
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 443
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Is that 1284 gr. fully loaded? Nice...
elnitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2003, 12:01 PM   #209
Tech Master
 
cHckbOY5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 1,033
Send a message via AIM to cHckbOY5
Default

dats pretty light, but it also uses 2.5mm carbon fiber?
cHckbOY5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2003, 12:02 PM   #210
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by elnitro
Is that 1284 gr. fully loaded? Nice...
add another 50gr for the body.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:04 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0