R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-02-2004, 07:57 AM   #1966
Tech Fanatic
 
pucho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Central, FL
Posts: 804
Send a message via AIM to pucho
Default

I finally got my Pro4 I have to say that So far so good, but they miss-packaged two front towers and no rear, I calles HPI and I have to first return the aditional front one before they will shipp me the rear one. Im kind of upset becase I won't see that tower for a while.
pucho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 07:58 AM   #1967
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,735
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by xxxkat
Bigdog,Matt was slaming your Pro 4.. Told all it was not a good outting for the Pro 4..whats up..
well.....it wasn't a good showing. We found out the problem later on that night and when bigdog went back out for practice the next day it was much better. We give everyone (close friends) crap all of the time......take a look at me....I'm the fastest guy to never win a race at speedworld but I can win everywhere else. BUT this year will be different. The stock set up seems to work pretty well but you know that bigdog will get a killer set up down by the time you come out this way.
__________________
REMEMBER THE GOOD OLE DAYS..........THEY'RE NEVER COMING BACK SO WE'RE STUCK WITH THE MESS IN FRONT OF US!!!!
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 09:03 AM   #1968
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by STLNLST
well.....it wasn't a good showing. We found out the problem later on that night and when bigdog went back out for practice the next day it was much better. We give everyone (close friends) crap all of the time......take a look at me....I'm the fastest guy to never win a race at speedworld but I can win everywhere else. BUT this year will be different. The stock set up seems to work pretty well but you know that bigdog will get a killer set up down by the time you come out this way.
STLNLST... we you get a set-up please post... I'll be racing at SWR a few time this year...thanks.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 09:42 AM   #1969
Tech Elite
 
coastaltony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 2,585
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

ditto
coastaltony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 09:46 AM   #1970
Tech Regular
 
snoopy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Oz
Posts: 449
Default

Anyone had their diff nut slip in the moulding under heavy braking.....makes a crunching noise similar to gears crunching????
snoopy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 09:54 AM   #1971
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,320
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

I would have to say no,the only "crunching" I have heard was the broken teeth on the ring and pinion gears up front.. you might want to check your gears out first..
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 10:00 AM   #1972
Tech Regular
 
snoopy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Oz
Posts: 449
Default

Nothing wrong with my gears.....all perfect. checked the shims, the mesh.....all good.
it's only under extreme braking, my friends evo III does it also, he says it's his is his locknut slipping on mould.....just wondering if anyone else has encountered this?
I have tightened my diff a little and that seems to help
We run modified on carpet....med-high traction..
snoopy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 11:13 AM   #1973
Tech Elite
 
The Teacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 4,657
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Snoopy, you got any good setups for carpet???
The Teacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 01:05 PM   #1974
Tech Apprentice
 
chr15tophe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 75
Default slipping diffs

stripped my diff down tonight couldnt see anything obviously wrong, however as a preventitive measure ive flipped the locking nut over so the plastic locking part is further down the thread rather than at the end, wont be able to tell until sunday but it seems i dont have to tighten it as much as when the nut was on the correct way,

Pro4 carpet setups, see the europe hpi site as Haras is on there along with 2 drivers from the UK who have been racing on carpet, doing v well. I used pretty much there setup and did allright with my pro4 on cartpet
chr15tophe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 01:13 PM   #1975
Tech Elite
 
The Teacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 4,657
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

chr15tophe, they actually give you Hara's setup for carpet in the manual and that's what I started with. It worked well, I was just trying to see if anybody had come up with anything else. Thanks for the tip I will check the HPI Europe site...
The Teacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 01:20 PM   #1976
Tech Apprentice
 
chr15tophe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 75
Default slipping diffs

stripped my diff down tonight couldnt see anything obviously wrong, however as a preventitive measure ive flipped the locking nut over so the plastic locking part is further down the thread rather than at the end, wont be able to tell until sunday but it seems i dont have to tighten it as much as when the nut was on the correct way,

Pro4 carpet setups, see the europe hpi site as Haras is on there along with 2 drivers from the UK who have been racing on carpet, doing v well. I used pretty much there setup and did allright with my pro4 on cartpet
chr15tophe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 01:20 PM   #1977
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The Teacher
chr15tophe, they actually give you Hara's setup for carpet in the manual and that's what I started with. It worked well, I was just trying to see if anybody had come up with anything else. Thanks for the tip I will check the HPI Europe site...
check the HPI Japan site...plenty of set-up there...
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 03:25 PM   #1978
Tech Elite
 
coastaltony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 2,585
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Does the kit come with a pinion gear?
Anyone ran the car with a high rpm motor like a Monster Stock?
coastaltony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 03:28 PM   #1979
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by coastaltony
Does the kit come with a pinion gear?
Anyone ran the car with a high rpm motor like a Monster Stock?
no pinion gear included...
Monster Stock is pretty much the motor to use nowadays...
with the stock spur... you'll need a 34 - 35T 64P pinion.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 03:30 PM   #1980
Tech Addict
 
racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: ADVAN Le Mans Project
Posts: 707
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by coastaltony
Does the kit come with a pinion gear?
Anyone ran the car with a high rpm motor like a Monster Stock?
as for the kits from Japan they do not include a pinion gear.
anyone who purchased a kit from the US get a pinion gear?
racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:48 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0