R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-28-2004, 09:41 PM   #1921
R/C Tech Founder
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Del Mar, CA, USA
Posts: 7,063
Default

Troy, why aren't you telling the story of how you're now the proud owner of *two* Pro 4s... haha
__________________
Visit my store: www.ampdraw.com
futureal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2004, 09:42 PM   #1922
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,939
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by futureal
Troy, why aren't you telling the story of how you're now the proud owner of *two* Pro 4s... haha
haha, I don't need to tell the world, but it is true, lol..
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2004, 09:59 PM   #1923
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: MICHIGAN
Posts: 241
Default

dang now i will have to be twice as jelous i want a pro 4 hopefully the xray sells
J FAST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2004, 11:26 PM   #1924
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TSR6
haha, I don't need to tell the world, but it is true, lol..
man...I'm jealous now...
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2004, 11:48 PM   #1925
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 992
Default

I having problem with the c hub and the steering blocks. They are tight and hard to turn with out screw them.
Aku-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2004, 06:09 AM   #1926
Tech Adept
 
Trinity2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 148
Post

My Pro4 is ready to drive now Only thing what i was wonder is why those diff outdrive rings (75135) are too big, they don`t fit properly

I cook my bevel gears as well, with maggie cubes and they were tasty
Trinity2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2004, 07:14 AM   #1927
Tech Regular
 
snoopy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Oz
Posts: 449
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trinity2
My Pro4 is ready to drive now Only thing what i was wonder is why those diff outdrive rings (75135) are too big, they don`t fit properly

I cook my bevel gears as well, with maggie cubes and they were tasty
The outdrive rings are meant to just sit loosely, they prevent your outdrives from deforming under load.

What flavour bevel gears......chicken??
snoopy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2004, 08:30 AM   #1928
Tech Elite
 
kewdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sneederville, USA
Posts: 3,272
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Correct me, if i'm wrong, but isn't that what the "zero" blocks in a droop gauge set are for? Pardon my intrusion, I'm a future(one week away) Pro 4 owner and thought I would benefit by following this thread.
__________________
Quinn Moon

Trinity / Epic / Revtech / VBC Racing USA / Mugen Seiki / Hot Race Tyres / SkyRocket Racing / SUPAFAST RC
kewdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2004, 08:55 AM   #1929
Tech Regular
 
snoopy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Oz
Posts: 449
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kewdawg
Correct me, if i'm wrong, but isn't that what the "zero" blocks in a droop gauge set are for? Pardon my intrusion, I'm a future(one week away) Pro 4 owner and thought I would benefit by following this thread.
Your droop gauge gives you droop in reference to your chassis, not in reference to your ride height.
They are 2 different things, especially for people running foam tyres.
snoopy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2004, 09:29 AM   #1930
Tech Adept
 
Trinity2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 148
Smile

Quote:
Originally posted by snoopy
The outdrive rings are meant to just sit loosely, they prevent your outdrives from deforming under load.

What flavour bevel gears......chicken??
Thanks snoopy. Now i understand that, at they work under load.



Chicken bevel gears
Trinity2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2004, 10:42 AM   #1931
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Houston,Tx
Posts: 213
Default Re: Re: Tire size and Droop

Quote:
Originally posted by EAMotorsports
If you use a droop guage then you wont see it. But if you measure your droop using a ride height guage and measuring up travel then you will see the difference. I think most pro drivers have stopped using droop guages and are using ride height guages now.

ea

So, would you recommend doing above mentioned method to set droop then? For example: stock kit settings is 5 front and 6 rear or viceversa(need to check) and using the ride height gauge method instead of droop gauge? Can you use that method for both foam and rubber tires?
racingdc9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2004, 03:09 PM   #1932
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 8,863
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

When you ask someone else what droop they are running be sure to ask which way they measure it to make sure you are doing it the same way.

With rubber tires I just use a guage because all rubber tires are the same height and dont change enough to notice. But with foam tires I will set all 4 corners the same on a guage and then put the car on the table with battery and motor installed and check ride height and get it set where I want it. Then i will measure droop by holding the tires down and lifting up on the chassis and taking a second measurement under the chassis. The reason you do it this way with foams is because the tires wear every run and your actual droop will change every run. So you need to keep it the same.

Hope this helps and doesnt confuse anyone!!

ea
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | Apex RC | ProSpec America | Killer Concepts | AVID | Futaba.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2004, 03:45 PM   #1933
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,939
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Hey Guys,

Just got back from trackside. The Pro4 did well for me today, I had a blast for as tired as I have been over the last couple of days.

In the last round of quals, I ended up bumping up to 6'th, which was by far my best run, better than the two runs I had made with my x-s. I finished 2nd, and should have / could have at least caught 1st place, but I made a few mistakes, just small taps. We were close in times, so although I know I could have caught him, I'm not sure I would have been able to make a good pass. Either way, my car shutdown on the last lap, and coasted across the line. I don't know if it was a hung brush, or what happened, as it started working again once I got past the transponder loop.

The two other Pro4's ended up finishing 5th and then one finished 1'st in the B-main.

edit - checked the results post.
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.

Last edited by TSR6; 02-29-2004 at 04:25 PM.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2004, 05:44 PM   #1934
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 248
Thumbs up

TQ and a win at Larry's in Detroit today. WOOHOO!!
Downforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2004, 05:54 PM   #1935
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,541
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Default

Question:

I have a question about the boiling gears in water dealio. How long are you doing this for? Are you doing it on any other plastic parts on the car? I do not run a Pro 4, but am interested in trying something on my current car. Thanks.
RBLove is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:30 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0