R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-25-2004, 03:20 PM   #1801
Tech Master
 
lazyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Franklin,WI
Posts: 1,536
Send a message via AIM to lazyboy
Default

troy the car did look good on the track and i have to say you looked alot faster maybe its because of the shaft but who know and to make your car look even cooler was that awsome mazda 6 body

lazy
__________________
Random Guy
FT B4
Sponsored by Axiom Motors
Trackside hobbies
lazyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 04:17 PM   #1802
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 46
Default

OK,

So here is my question with ride height. As you can see in this picture, the wheels are slightly 'out' of the wheelwells. I'm using the factory default settings, droop=6, second hold on the tower in the front. My shock springs are in the most relaxed position near the top (pre-load collars are at the top). All of the electronics are onboard, yet there is absolutely no compression of the shocks at this lightest setting.

If you read the manual, the ride height should be ~4.5mm in the front, yet mine is around 11mm as pictured. I don't know how to get it down to 4.5mm without increasing droop, since the shocks don't compress at all at stasis from the weight of the electronics. Am I missing something here? At the very least, something doesn't add up with HPI's recommendations in the manual - the only way I can get down to 4.5mm ride height is with a droop of around 8. They also refer to ride height adjustment as adjusting the shock pre-load collars, but mine are as loose as they get. That is, they don't seem to have an effect on ride height.

I don't know anything about chassis setup, any suggestions?

jleibund
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pro4 pics 039.jpg (56.6 KB, 260 views)
jleibund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 04:20 PM   #1803
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 70
Default

Hi

I`m almost done buliding my pro4. My arms hurt after all the screwing But one big problem came up. It seems to me that I can`t use pinion gears lower than 32 or something. Anyone else with that problem. If that is so, I don`t think you can use it on smalltrack with a mod engine. With final drive ratio with 8 and higher....

please help
sturla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 04:21 PM   #1804
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

adjust ride height by the shock collars...not the droop screws.
what springs, oil are you using?
lets see a front/rear view of the shocks without the body.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 04:23 PM   #1805
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sturla
Hi

I`m almost done buliding my pro4. My arms hurt after all the screwing But one big problem came up. It seems to me that I can`t use pinion gears lower than 32 or something. Anyone else with that problem. If that is so, I don`t think you can use it on smalltrack with a mod engine. With final drive ratio with 8 and higher....

please help
You should have used a power screwdriver...when it gets to the head of the screw..you stop and hand tighten it...

are you using the stock 96t spur gear? I've got a 34t in right now and still have plenty of space to move the motor in...
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 04:24 PM   #1806
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: MICHIGAN
Posts: 241
Default

you should take a close picture of the tower and shock mounting with the body off so we can see whats going on
J FAST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 04:32 PM   #1807
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 46
Default

I'm using the shock oil that came with the kit and the copper-colored springs that came with the kit, specified for the frontend. I'd like to be able to adjust with the collars, but its not having any effect on ride height. Here is a close-up without the body.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pro4-2 001.jpg (91.7 KB, 235 views)
jleibund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 04:42 PM   #1808
Tech Master
 
RCBuddha's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,836
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

its hard to tell from the pics, but did you put the correct amount of spacers under the arm mounts?
RCBuddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 04:44 PM   #1809
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 46
Default

Another shot
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pro4-5 001.jpg (81.3 KB, 219 views)
jleibund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 04:44 PM   #1810
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jleibund
I'm using the shock oil that came with the kit and the copper-colored springs that came with the kit, specified for the frontend. I'd like to be able to adjust with the collars, but its not having any effect on ride height. Here is a close-up without the body.
Who's spring cups are you using....they don't look like the black stock pieces....

I'm using the HPI purple spring cups...and I'm able to get 5mm ride height with no problems.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 04:44 PM   #1811
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 46
Default

One last one...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pro4-5 002.jpg (85.3 KB, 224 views)
jleibund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 04:46 PM   #1812
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 46
Default

Yeah, I used the 2mm spacers in front per the instructions.
jleibund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 04:46 PM   #1813
Tech Master
 
lazyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Franklin,WI
Posts: 1,536
Send a message via AIM to lazyboy
Default

or did u ever think that the wheel wells are a lil big so that the tire can move freely with out rubbing and or the body is a lil bit high, and also can make a body look like that
__________________
Random Guy
FT B4
Sponsored by Axiom Motors
Trackside hobbies
lazyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 04:47 PM   #1814
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 46
Default

Yeah, I'm using the same purple HPI option parts you are. They have about the same amount of space as the factory black ones... I measured them.
jleibund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 04:49 PM   #1815
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 46
Default

My only conclusion with the body is that it may not fit the pro 4 well. I have it seated so that it touches the top of the front shock towers, it won't go down any further. Still though, my ride height is 11mm and others have gotten theirs down to 5. It doesn't answer that issue.
jleibund is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:30 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0