R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-03-2009, 03:13 PM   #15571
Tech Adept
 
wheruat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 192
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

koo yah im gonna mess with it tonite and take it out on thur to see how the Pro4 handles vs. Avid. The problem i have is everyone in my area just want to have the fastest ride. for me thats no fun gotta have some turns to show your skills. well ill let you know how it works out. thx for the help
wheruat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 05:16 PM   #15572
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 156
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Speeds got nothing to do with it. Besides, as the saying goes, slower is faster. And I'm learning that as my lap times are getting lower and lower every week as I stop trying to go too fast. I'm still pretty far behind all the other guys racing, but I'm getting closer and closer. Its not the car though anymore, its me. But I'm practicing and its paying off.

The best advice I can give is like I said. Set it up like hara in the back of your manual. You cant go wrong. Also, shim anything that has slop in it. Arms, c hubs, rear carriers, anything. They should move freely but not have slop.

If I get some batteries I'll try to record the races this weekend and post them. Not that watching me drive is worth much. LOL


Before things get too OT.

Do you guys prefer MIP CVDs or Universals?

And anyone out there reading. If you have a pro4 but don't run it anymore and have some spare parts. Toss me a PM. Looking for pivot blocks(0,0.5, 1, 3), front arms, knuckles, diff gear housings(tops preferred), I'm sure there's more but that is just off the top of my head.
RC-DriftNewb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 07:15 PM   #15573
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 156
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Anyone out there still running a pro4?
RC-DriftNewb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 08:53 PM   #15574
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 213
Default

The pivot blocks, arms, and caster blocks should be a direct fit from the Cyclone.
Yub, yub, cmdr! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 09:44 PM   #15575
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 156
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Yep, they are.
RC-DriftNewb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 06:25 AM   #15576
Tech Elite
 
Pit-racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cali/Texas
Posts: 2,241
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I am running a pro4. Getting back into it w/ a tekin rs pro and bl motor.
Pit-racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 12:29 PM   #15577
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 156
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I'll be making the move to BL soon hopefully. Just for the sake of not dealing with brushes and stuff...

Pro4's doing good. Really good. And it can take a beating!
RC-DriftNewb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 07:29 PM   #15578
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 29
Send a message via Yahoo to infamouse_1
Default pro4 hara edition

About last month I decided to put together my brand new pro4 that I had in the closet for almost 2 and a half years now! and I ran it over the weekend and my rear diff seems to always get loose!!,I also put a teflon nut on it and it still backing out,any help will do.
And the other problem I'm also having is I'm using the front solid spool on the front and when I'm at high speed turning left or right I can here the gears clicking on the front diff. Any help will do also on this one too.
infamouse_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 09:45 PM   #15579
Tech Master
 
Pablo Diablo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,003
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to Pablo Diablo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by infamouse_1 View Post
About last month I decided to put together my brand new pro4 that I had in the closet for almost 2 and a half years now! and I ran it over the weekend and my rear diff seems to always get loose!!,I also put a teflon nut on it and it still backing out,any help will do.
And the other problem I'm also having is I'm using the front solid spool on the front and when I'm at high speed turning left or right I can here the gears clicking on the front diff. Any help will do also on this one too.
A lot of people used to replace the diff screw and nut with one from a TC3. I think the TC4 would be the same too.

Its very important to use the shims in the gearbox to have the least possible play between the gears or they will slip!
__________________
Paul H

Losi Type R | Xray T3 | CRC Gen XL | CRC Gen X 10 ME(Messiah Edition) | Black Diamond

www.FlyingFoxRC.com | Advanced Electronics | Team CRC | Factory Messiah
Pablo Diablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 11:10 PM   #15580
Tech Elite
 
Syber Serulean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Riverside
Posts: 3,656
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Syber Serulean
Default

also, spools used with single-joint universals like CVDs tend to make a clicking sound and vibrate a little when at full swing. Xray released double jointed universals and Losi uses their own in the JRXS-R (they call them LCDs and Xray calls theirs ECS).
Syber Serulean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 04:15 AM   #15581
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 29
Send a message via Yahoo to infamouse_1
Default pro4

thanks guys for the help i guess ill change out the diff screw and nut,hopefuly it will work and as for the front solid spool ill try and shim it alittle more but if still the same ill just go back to the one way spool.
infamouse_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 09:59 AM   #15582
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 121
Default

Does anyone know which online shop have Pro4 oneway gear in-stock?
G2B Anthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 11:38 AM   #15583
Tech Adept
 
wheruat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 192
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

i think speedtech has some in stock
wheruat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 01:32 PM   #15584
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,939
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

If anyone is looking for a HARA Twister speed control to match their Pro4, let me know via Private Message!
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 01:53 PM   #15585
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 156
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hey awesome. A little traffic in the pro4 thread.

I've heard of people running AE diff screws in the ball diffs as well. I still have problems with them backing out. So I started using a little thread lock, and it working fine. I'll have to give the tc3/4 thing a try next time. I've also read though, that a worn spring will cause loosening as too.

Like Pablo said, shim it! I learned my lesson of what improperly shimmed stuff can cause.

Wheruat - You race your pro4 yet??
RC-DriftNewb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:05 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0