R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-19-2008, 03:44 AM   #1066
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,265
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OleC View Post
Jilles, thank you for taking time to answer my questions regarding the 416 at the DHI cup! It was great watching the finals!

I use the standard setup for the 416, but with the spool. White/Blue springs. Tamiya green damper oil (500cps i belive).
Any suggestions to make the car a little less agressive? (a little less turn-in, but without sacrificing steering at mid/end of corner)
I was thinking about having less spacers at the ball studs at the center steering bracket (that would be less ackermann, right?)

Suggestions anyone?
Also try widening the front track... if you want to keep the mid corner, keep some arm sweep, so D/C or C/B.

Personally, I would have thought the anti dive will make the car more aggresive, and take away mid corner... as it also has an affect on castor (IIRC, 0.5mm under the rear block results in about 0.8 less castor)... As I understand, less castor = more agressive turn-in, and less mid-corner.
Maybe some kick-up (shim under front blocks) would be a better option with the kit (B/A) blocks?

HiH
Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 05:30 AM   #1067
Tech Adept
 
fadzli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Posts: 222
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default tweak

still about chasis tweak, i found that the chasis is not tweak originally. only after full assembly of the car i found that the lower chasis doesnot flat on setting board. what make it tweak is after i install the upper chasis(/deck?).

if i install the upper chasis the last i found that it does not fit. the space is smaller to fit the upper chasis. that s why if i push it hard it did fit but make the lower chasis [email protected] flat. my question should i modified the upper chasis? maybe do something at the edge to make it fit freely.
__________________
Do Not Follow Where The Path May Lead. Go Instead Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail.
fadzli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 06:48 AM   #1068
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,265
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fadzli View Post
still about chasis tweak, i found that the chasis is not tweak originally. only after full assembly of the car i found that the lower chasis doesnot flat on setting board. what make it tweak is after i install the upper chasis(/deck?).

if i install the upper chasis the last i found that it does not fit. the space is smaller to fit the upper chasis. that s why if i push it hard it did fit but make the lower chasis [email protected] flat. my question should i modified the upper chasis? maybe do something at the edge to make it fit freely.
Yup, just shave a little material off either end until it fits easily into the car. A number of people on hear have had the same issue... did you superglue around the edges of the top deck? The tolerances are very tight in that area, so I had to remove all the glue I put on.

HiH
Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 06:51 AM   #1069
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mclean, VA
Posts: 3,940
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Anti-dive is used alot in foam tire racing on the front end when traction is high. It makes the car feel less aggressive under braking and really launch out of the middle of the turn. This setting is used more in mod racing since braking is needed. It seems to allow the driver to brake later and get on the throttle earlier with the front end pulling the car out of the turn. It also seems to make the car stay flatter in the turn. All I can say is give it a try and see if it works for you.

I think you can really see this working on Viktor's car on the DHI videos. In the 180's before the straight you can see Viktor's car really round the turn very tight and then snap out of the turn nicely.
Apex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 09:17 AM   #1070
Tech Adept
 
fadzli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Posts: 222
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default anti dive

i dont understand anti dive. can explain? which part? what and how to set?
__________________
Do Not Follow Where The Path May Lead. Go Instead Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail.
fadzli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 09:55 AM   #1071
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mclean, VA
Posts: 3,940
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fadzli View Post
i dont understand anti dive. can explain? which part? what and how to set?
http://www.circletrack.com/techartic...ers/index.html
Apex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 09:59 AM   #1072
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,265
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apex View Post
Anti-dive is used alot in foam tire racing on the front end when traction is high. It makes the car feel less aggressive under braking and really launch out of the middle of the turn. This setting is used more in mod racing since braking is needed. It seems to allow the driver to brake later and get on the throttle earlier with the front end pulling the car out of the turn. It also seems to make the car stay flatter in the turn. All I can say is give it a try and see if it works for you.

I think you can really see this working on Viktor's car on the DHI videos. In the 180's before the straight you can see Viktor's car really round the turn very tight and then snap out of the turn nicely.
I'm not disagring on the affect of Anti-Dive... I'm just saying you also need to consider that when adjusting it the way we do on the tamiyas, you also need to realise that the castor is being adjusted too.

I personally have had good results from running anti-dive with a spool, so I know it works...

Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 10:08 AM   #1073
Tech Master
 
Dan the Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Perth, W.A
Posts: 1,983
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default I'm a bad driver...

So, what breaks on the 416? Looking to buy one later on in the year, and I'm wondering what breaks easily, so I can buy the spares when I get the kit
__________________
|--|Hot Bodies Pro 5|-●-|The "F109X"|--|Xray X12 2015|--|

If you don't have clean bearings, good transmission and a perfect car, trust me when I say this...someone else does.
Dan the Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 11:54 AM   #1074
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,440
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Caster Blocks!
__________________
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Tamiya TB03
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 11:55 AM   #1075
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mclean, VA
Posts: 3,940
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
I'm not disagring on the affect of Anti-Dive... I'm just saying you also need to consider that when adjusting it the way we do on the tamiyas, you also need to realise that the castor is being adjusted too.

I personally have had good results from running anti-dive with a spool, so I know it works...

Ed
Ed - Understood...I'm not trying argue either. Just trying to explain what I've experienced when using anti-dive in the past. I no longer run foam on carpet so rubber tires on carpet is a whole new learning experience. Cheers, Greg
Apex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 11:59 AM   #1076
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 177
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-car-net View Post
where can we get a spool for the 416 ?

I tested the JP 416 spool today. http://www.racingfactory.fi/shop2/ca...ils.php?p=1765
Perfect fit, supernice finish and high quality delrin outdrives. With this spool the pulley is perfectly aligned with the axle centerline as opposed to the MR spool with the pulley flipped over.
moonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 12:02 PM   #1077
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,110
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Yea, the chubs break easily. Where's some aluminum ones?
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 12:05 PM   #1078
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,110
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

That's a nice looking spool! I'm going to need one in a few months, hopefully there are some options in the pipeline. I'm guessing spool is the way to go on smallish parking lot tracks while using a 10.5?

I've actually never really messed with a spool. What kind of parts should I stock up on and expect to replace? Anything special I should know?
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 05:13 PM   #1079
Tech Regular
 
bigbutstupid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Asia
Posts: 454
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan the Man View Post
So, what breaks on the 416? Looking to buy one later on in the year, and I'm wondering what breaks easily, so I can buy the spares when I get the kit
The few parts you must get are...

front upright knuckles (breaks easy if you knock as much as me)
Rear upright
Front C hubs (breaks easy)
you may want to stock up 1 or 2 or the flanged tubes as well that goes on the bottom of the c hub and front upright, because when they break, you will very likely loose them
rear diff screw (they bend rather easily)
1 or 2 set of suspension arms

and its also good but not must to have a spare front and rear belt.

regarding the spool, will it be suitable for foam tires, medium-high traction medium size track? i've never runned one before and wonder if its worth getting one to try it on..
bigbutstupid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 05:15 PM   #1080
Tech Regular
 
bigbutstupid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Asia
Posts: 454
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan the Man View Post
So, what breaks on the 416? Looking to buy one later on in the year, and I'm wondering what breaks easily, so I can buy the spares when I get the kit
The few parts you must get are...

front upright knuckles (breaks easy if you knock as much as me)
Rear upright
Front C hubs (breaks easy)
you may want to stock up 1 or 2 or the flanged tubes as well that goes on the bottom of the c hub and front upright, because when they break, you will very likely loose them
rear diff screw (they bend rather easily)
1 or 2 set of suspension arms

and its also good but not must to have a spare front and rear belt.

regarding the spool, will it be suitable for foam tires, medium-high traction medium size track? i've never runned one before and wonder if its worth getting one to try it on..
bigbutstupid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TRF416 sim600 Malaysian R/C Racers 15 01-09-2010 11:08 AM
TRF416 speedart Electric On-Road 26 06-27-2007 04:28 AM
new joke cyber3d Chat Lounge 5 08-02-2006 02:52 PM
another joke, OH no! corvettecrazy Chat Lounge 0 01-10-2004 09:11 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:59 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net