R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-25-2011, 08:02 AM   #10201
Tech Adept
 
Fabricio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 210
Send a message via MSN to Fabricio Send a message via Skype™ to Fabricio
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Markus View Post
I have to believe Tamiya released the 416x Lipo chassis and then discontinued it to boost the sale of the new 417. (everyone would just get the upgrade chassis.)

I have the Tamiya lipo chassis and it balances perfectly on balance dots without any additional weights. I have added two 7gram weights to the sides of the steering rack to make our legal weight (1380). mine weights in at 1384 race ready.
Markus, that is what I believe too, but you know, I bought the car last year when it was released, the day it went into sales at rcmodel I placed the order and I really don't want to go for the 417 just because of that.
I am looking now at getting the Exotek or the Smokem, doesn't make me happy because I like to use original stuff on my cars but seems that it is the only way to go now.

If someone knows or want to sell this upgrade kit PM me.
__________________
ARC R10 - ORCA - SANWA - EPIC
Fabricio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 08:04 AM   #10202
Tech Elite
 
jonest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Johor, Malaysia
Posts: 3,135
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COLD AS ICE View Post
this may sound like a stupid question but why does the 416 seem to shred rear belts so much in modified touring?
ru using gear diff or ball diff? If it's gear diff, u need to set the belt tighter than the ball diff. Otherwise, replace worn pulleys as worn pulleys would wear belt faster. And do check the pulleys shimming (left / right)

Hope this helps.
jonest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 12:45 PM   #10203
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 1,699
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

I run a ball dif and the pulleys don't seem to be worn out next to check is spacing. Are you saying that my center layshaft should be centered in the car?
__________________
★Randy Banks★
COLD AS ICE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 04:24 AM   #10204
Tech Adept
 
Fabricio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 210
Send a message via MSN to Fabricio Send a message via Skype™ to Fabricio
Default Lipo chassis upgrade

Well seems that I am not going to be able to get hold of a Tamiya Lipo Upgrade Kit.
Tried in all stores and all were out of stock, sent emails for a couple of them but all of them have returned to me saying they do not have a precise information if they are going to have it back in stock, shame.

Now my 2 options:
- Exotek
- Smokem.

I would like to have some opinions about those 2 brands and if someone have tried them post your comments about the performance.

I am really interested on the Exotek one, as it comes with those metal weights so you don't need to add too much lead and it also helps the lipo to stay in place.

Let me know your thoughts.
__________________
ARC R10 - ORCA - SANWA - EPIC
Fabricio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 07:01 AM   #10205
Tech Adept
 
5tylez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 133
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

does anyone know of the 416x Lipo chassis & the 417 chassis have the same screw hole positions?

I want to try 417 chassis on a 416x.
5tylez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 07:06 AM   #10206
Tech Master
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PitNamedGordie Send a message via Yahoo to PitNamedGordie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5tylez View Post
does anyone know of the 416x Lipo chassis & the 417 chassis have the same screw hole positions?

I want to try 417 chassis on a 416x.
No the 417 chassis is different.
__________________
☆ The Track @ Harbor Hobbies ☆ www.harbor-hobby.net ☆
PitNamedGordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 07:43 AM   #10207
Tech Apprentice
 
H.N.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 76
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PitNamedGordie View Post
No the 417 chassis is different.
Is this confirmed? I have a buddy that has both 417 and 416 swears that it will fit and all the holes lines up.
H.N. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 07:55 AM   #10208
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lynnwood, Washington
Posts: 776
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by H.N. View Post
Is this confirmed? I have a buddy that has both 417 and 416 swears that it will fit and all the holes lines up.
I had both the exotek and the 417 and no the screw holes don't line up.

Regarding the exotek chassis. I thought it was really nice. Not sure why people dislike the graphite servo arm. It holds the servo in place just fine and sits high enough where there's no chance of rubbing. I personally prefer the servo arm over the little bump that's on the smokem and tamiya chassis. I've been tempted to grind off the bump and use a servo tape + inner servo mount combo.
malkiy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 08:32 AM   #10209
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,265
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by H.N. View Post
Is this confirmed? I have a buddy that has both 417 and 416 swears that it will fit and all the holes lines up.
Your buddy needs to look again.. no hope in hell of the screws lining up!
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 05:11 PM   #10210
Tech Regular
 
guinnes.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 341
Default

what is the difference between the original 416 and the 416x?
thanx
guinnes.s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 05:11 PM   #10211
Tech Regular
 
guinnes.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 341
Default

what is the difference between the original 416 and the 416x?
can i convert my 416 to 416x????
thanx
guinnes.s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 06:01 PM   #10212
Tech Elite
 
Ray k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,989
Trader Rating: 46 (98%+)
Default

The first three cars are , and major highlights

416 ,the start


416we, improved top deck and chassis with battery position change, improved front motor mount foot,but motor position the same the 416


416x, narrower front track width ,motor mount position 1mm inward, redesign lower bulk head to change rear flex, rear diff moved back 1.8 mm
Ray k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 09:36 PM   #10213
Tech Regular
 
Blueman Austria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 418
Default

Hy!

Dose anyone know if the 415 spool cups (white ones) also fit the 416, or the 416 black ones the 415? Of course with the matching sleeves.

greetings Blueman.
__________________
_______________________________________________________________________
TT01, F104, TRF415MSXXMRE07, TB Evo5 Exoten, TB Evo6, TRF417v7, TRF 418........
Blueman Austria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 03:37 AM   #10214
Tech Regular
 
guinnes.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 341
Default

need some explanations regarding droop.
i m looking at this setup http://www.petitrc.com/reglages/tami...buryNOWRd3.pdfand if i have 6.5mm on the front of droop no way i can get 5mm on the ride height,the max i can go is 3.5mm.
what mi missing??
thanx
guinnes.s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 07:33 AM   #10215
Tech Master
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PitNamedGordie Send a message via Yahoo to PitNamedGordie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by guinnes.s View Post
need some explanations regarding droop.
i m looking at this setup http://www.petitrc.com/reglages/tami...buryNOWRd3.pdfand if i have 6.5mm on the front of droop no way i can get 5mm on the ride height,the max i can go is 3.5mm.
what mi missing??
thanx
I assume you are using a droop gauge? If you are, where are you measuring your droop?
__________________
☆ The Track @ Harbor Hobbies ☆ www.harbor-hobby.net ☆
PitNamedGordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TRF416 sim600 Malaysian R/C Racers 15 01-09-2010 11:08 AM
TRF416 speedart Electric On-Road 26 06-27-2007 04:28 AM
new joke cyber3d Chat Lounge 5 08-02-2006 02:52 PM
another joke, OH no! corvettecrazy Chat Lounge 0 01-10-2004 09:11 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:18 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net